Author Topic: Anyone switched to a XBMC media player?  (Read 2821 times)

January 04, 2012, 08:45:49 AM
Read 2821 times

schnoid

Hi all, I've been using WDTV Live for many years now and have been holding out for quite awhile for new firmwares with no luck. Seems like the few times firmwares have come out, WD have managed to remove functionality that I previously enjoyed. One of the main things that I loved about my WDTV Live and that I no longer get is the ability to see my thumbnail images on my network drives if the image is not named folder.jpg. I really don't want to go through 1000+ movies and rename every single thumbnail to folder.jpg. When I first got the device I could name the image the same as the movie name and it would pick it up as the thumbnail. Once I upgraded to Windows 7 I had to upgrade my firmware and then lost this functionality. From what I hear XBMC does everything I'd like and more but my issue is that I can't seem to find a cheap set top box with xbmc on it. I guess I could get an old Apple TV but not sure how well that will handle streaming large 1080p MKV x264 files off a network drive.

The functionality I would like my new media streamer to have is:

1) stream mkv (x264), iso dvds, divx, xvid, etc flawlessly over the network (movies are all stored on external drives connected to my desktop)
2) hdmi connection (1.4 would be great, but not necessary)
3) remote (RF capability natively would be nice)
4) nice interface to display all my movies by thumbnail image. Each thumbnail named the same as the movie name (with the jpg extension)
5) nice FF/RW controls. Little to no lag.
6) can handle all kinds of audio formats (DTS, HD, etc)
7) imdb lookup would be nice
8) youtube would nice

January 04, 2012, 09:00:58 AM
Reply #1

RavRob

• DeSpammer

You are describing the WDTV with custom firmware.  As for the renaming of 1000+ thumbs to folder.jpg, bulk rename utility does that in a few clicks and in seconds.....and it is free.