Author Topic: 1080p video with stuttering over lan  (Read 1018 times)

October 04, 2011, 03:37:48 PM
Read 1018 times

jak58

Hello
I would like to state my recent experience with WDTV Live.
I just bought this great box so i'm very very fresh with it!! Have tried only a few movies, so no way i'm an expert; although i had, a few years ago ripped dvds, and some video edititng software, in a time when there werent much software around for non experts.
Ok, this said, why this post?
About a week ago, I watched AVATAR with WDTV Live, (btw, great quality) 1080p, with absolutely NO FAULT, NO STUTTER, NO FREEZE, over LAN 10/100 (no USB drive/pen).
But... when, 2 days ago i was preparing to watch Predators, 1080p, 6 channels it started to stutter, eventually doing ff or rw fixed it for a few minutes (not much indeed), but then all over again. Strangely, or maybe not, it never freezed! just stuttered.
No way to watch it like this!! So what was the problem? Checked Avatar again, 1080p and still plyaed smoothly!!
In fact, many things could cause this: LAN rates, video bitrate, video encoding... well i had to start somewhere, right? Read few threads, in forums to see if i could solve it.
1- just to be sure, i copied the file to USB pen... it played just nicely; no stutter, nothing! Thought: LAN rates! But then again, how come Avatar played smoothly over the LAN?
2- video issue? maybe. I read in numerous threads that for matters of smooth play, these mkv/mp4 files should not have over 4/5 reference frames (Reframe). Ironically: Avatar had 7 or 8 reference frames, and Predators only 5!
3- audio? -BINGO! now here was the trouble (got you!) In fact, Avatar was 1080p, 8 Reframes, but stereo audio, whereas Predator, being only 5 Reframes, 1080, had a 6 channels audio! Too much bits to come in real time over LAN (at least, my LAN).
How to solve this?
1. Extract the audio using YAMB  (very easy to find, just google 4 it)