Author Topic: What is the maximum MBps on the Live? I'm having a few issues.  (Read 2471 times)

January 04, 2011, 06:24:10 PM
Read 2471 times

WWWJD

Another dadnabid Live noob here.  Just installed the system a few days ago with the following configuration:  4TB USB2.0 storage on an iMac 21.5" hardwired to WRT54GS router.  Mac Mini hardwired to the router.  WDTV Live hardwired to the router.  I've made the following observations regarding speed:

Storage to iMac to Router to Live playing .iso (DVD): 2~3MBps via iStat Pro widget
Storage to iMac to Router to Live playing .mkv(BD): 5~6MBps via iStat Pro widget
Mac to Mac file transfer via Router: 10MBps solid via iStat Pro.

It appears that for .mkv files (from BD) less than 20GB don't have any issues.  Greater than 20GB catch a case of the stutters. 

I've searched a few keywords; is it correct that the live isn't capable of bandwidth greater and 10MBps?
Given the setup listed above, is there anything that I can do to improve my transfer rates?  According to both macs, the ethernet settings are full duplex at base 100 (auto detection).  I would at least expect the file transfer speed between macs to be greater than 10, seeing as how the WRT54GS is supposed to be a base 100 dealy.  Am I missing something?  Would a new switch/router improve the situation / system reliability at all?  Or do I just need to start cooking these BD files down in handbrake? (Any recommended settings for handbrake?) 

Have I asked enough questions?  ;D ???

Thanks guys
~Mark

January 04, 2011, 06:52:55 PM
Reply #1

WWWJD

Just want to add that the WD is running the latest firmware.

January 05, 2011, 12:16:55 AM
Reply #2

trevorreznik

• Duplicati
It appears that for .mkv files (from BD) less than 20GB don't have any issues.  Greater than 20GB catch a case of the stutters.