Author Topic: WDTV Software Update 1.02.08  (Read 51471 times)

June 04, 2009, 05:05:32 PM
Reply #45

pomigit

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 15
Hi All,

Just bought a WDTV due to this GREAT Forum !
It's a great media center , just lacking DTS audio ....
Does anybody knows if it's finally supported ?

PS : I believe that the MKV without sound are the ones with DTS Audio ...

Thanks all
Pol



DTS is not supported and will not be supported for this product ! See also :

http://wdtv.uservoice.com/pages/17442-general/suggestions/182946-dts-downmix-and-hdmi-pass-through

You can use a program called mediainfo to see details on media-files.
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en

Correct me if im wrong but I thought DTS was supported but only through optical audio. I have a couple of MKV blu ray rips which contain digital dts audio and whilst they dont play through HDMI or composite, they play perfectly when hooked upto an amp through optical audio.

Have I missed something?
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 05:11:50 PM by pomigit »

June 05, 2009, 02:47:38 AM
Reply #46

dextertech

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
Correct me if im wrong but I thought DTS was supported but only through optical audio. I have a couple of MKV blu ray rips which contain digital dts audio and whilst they dont play through HDMI or composite, they play perfectly when hooked upto an amp through optical audio.

Have I missed something?

The WDTV can't decode DTS thus not supported. If you hook the WDTV to an AMP, the AMP does all the work. The DTS signal is just passed over

June 05, 2009, 04:14:05 AM
Reply #47

larry sellers

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 29
The only thing the WDTV is missing is a DTS hardware decoder. dextertech is correct in that it just relays the dts signal to your amplifier, which has the DTS decoder.
Video:
wdtv (hdmi output) -> Sony KV-30HS420
xbox 360 (flash mod, hdmi output) -> Sony KV-30HS420

Audio:
wdtv (toslink output) -> Sony STR-DA3000ES -> Harman Kardon HKTS-18
xbox 360 (toslink output) -> Sony STR-DA3000ES -> Harman Kardon HKTS-18

June 07, 2009, 04:18:12 AM
Reply #48

veadtuck

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 17
why should the wdtv decode such stuff? decode dts to stereo?

sorry i can't understand this, the wdtv is mainly an HD-thing... so why decode dts to stereo? the wdtv do not have any 5.1-cinch output, so it does not make any sense.

June 07, 2009, 11:30:30 AM
Reply #49

danniee

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
Please, please, please give us ISO menue possibility!! That would make this the best thing since porn!

June 08, 2009, 07:39:57 PM
Reply #50

richex

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 24
veadtuck, in my case I have an HD TV but I don't have a DTS decoder, so stereo downmix would allow me to...listen to the movies :)

June 09, 2009, 04:52:09 AM
Reply #51

acer2k

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
Not every one, that have a HDTV Screen have an Amplifier too.


June 09, 2009, 08:58:53 AM
Reply #52

wdflex

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Hi,

Did they solve the bug that no 2 lines of subtitles would be able to be visible at the same time (in 1.02.07). I had to go back to old firmware to fix this.

cheers
Wdflex

June 09, 2009, 10:51:52 AM
Reply #53

MaxxPower

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
Hi All,

Just bought a WDTV due to this GREAT Forum !
It's a great media center , just lacking DTS audio ....
Does anybody knows if it's finally supported ?

PS : I believe that the MKV without sound are the ones with DTS Audio ...

Thanks all
Pol



DTS is not supported and will not be supported for this product ! See also :

http://wdtv.uservoice.com/pages/17442-general/suggestions/182946-dts-downmix-and-hdmi-pass-through

You can use a program called mediainfo to see details on media-files.
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en

Correct me if im wrong but I thought DTS was supported but only through optical audio. I have a couple of MKV blu ray rips which contain digital dts audio and whilst they dont play through HDMI or composite, they play perfectly when hooked upto an amp through optical audio.

Have I missed something?
DTS is bitstreamed (passed through) BOTH optical and HDMI, as long as either cable is connected to a component that contains a DTS decoder, DTS tracks play fine. If you have a receiver that has HDMI inputs there is no need for the optical connection (as long as your receiver decodes DTS, but if it has HDMI inputs it more than likely does).

June 10, 2009, 09:05:48 AM
Reply #54

veadtuck

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 17
Not every one, that have a HDTV Screen have an Amplifier too.
so... buy one... really.

this is the strangest thing i've ever heard. to have a hdtv and no soundsystem.  ???

June 11, 2009, 06:59:24 AM
Reply #55

adic95

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
it may be strange, but maybe you want to see a movie in the middle of the night and don't want to start the ht system, just watch it on tv set.

June 11, 2009, 08:41:57 AM
Reply #56

taylorw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 3
"DTS is bitstreamed (passed through) BOTH optical and HDMI, as long as either cable is connected to a component that contains a DTS decoder, DTS tracks play fine. If you have a receiver that has HDMI inputs there is no need for the optical connection (as long as your receiver decodes DTS, but if it has HDMI inputs it more than likely does)."- MaxxPower


I just bought a receiver (STR-DH500) in order to hear audio on MKV's with DTS audio tracks (which happen to be about half of my MKV's). The STR-DH500 has 3 HDMI inputs and 1 HDMI output to the TV.

So I connected the components as follows:
HDMI out on WDTV ----> HDMI input on receiver.
Receiver HDMI out -----> HDMI input on television.

But there was still no audio to be heard when playing back MKV's with DTS audio! With the WDTV output set to stereo, I was able to hear AC3 audio through the TV speakers only. No sound was heard through the speakers connected to the receiver. Then I set the WDTV audio output to Digital. With this option no sound was heard period. No audio for AC3 or DTS on the TV speakers or the receiver speakers.

So I purchased a digital optical audio cable in hopes that this would remedy the problem and lo and behold it did! AC3 and DTS work perfect. The receiver even displays whether it is playing DTS or Dolby Digital depending on which file I play!

So my question is why was I unable to get the proper digital audio from the HDMI cable?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 08:47:05 AM by taylorw »

June 11, 2009, 09:56:31 AM
Reply #57

udax

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 8


So my question is why was I unable to get the proper digital audio from the HDMI cable?


There is no mystery here.  Most low end and even a few mid-range AVRs do NOT look at any audio coming in via HDMI.  At most they pass it through.  You can get DTS through to an amp over HDMI only if the amp is capable of DECODING HDMI AUDIO.  You need use the optical connection to your amp.

June 11, 2009, 09:23:44 PM
Reply #58

bobosquishy

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 202
this is the strangest thing i've ever heard. to have a hdtv and no soundsystem.  ???

Why is that so strange?  I don't have a sound system hooked up to my HDTV either.  One of the great things about flatscreen televisions is that they save electricity.  Hooking up a sound system to it would use more energy.
I reserve the right to ignore you for any reason.

June 12, 2009, 05:52:03 AM
Reply #59

Mr Lazy

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 408
    • Mr Lazy
so... buy one... really.

this is the strangest thing i've ever heard. to have a hdtv and no soundsystem.  ???

Yeah, 'cause we all have loads of money.
Gen1, ext3-boot, Belkin AX88178 Gigabit adapter, Synology DS109 NAS

How-to setup WD TV with NFS shares