Author Topic: X264 - Encoding profiles  (Read 16634 times)

May 17, 2009, 03:19:40 AM
Read 16634 times

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
I will add some information to WIKI
about encoding and options with x264

http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php?id=wdtv_x264_encoding_page
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 03:28:53 AM by 3dxr »

May 17, 2009, 05:13:14 AM
Reply #1

buzzqw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
    • Mpeg4U
Hi

don't want to spam or seems "teacher", but x264 profiles could be optimized easily

here some profile i created for HDConvertToX (mutuated from my automkv and ripbot/megui)

Code: [Select]
X264;1;Ultra Fast;--keyint 250 --bframes 1 --trellis 0 --ref 1 --filter 0,0 --subme 2 --direct spatial --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me hex --no-ssim --merange 8 --b-adapt 0 --no-chroma-me --aud

X264;2;Very Fast;--keyint 250 --bframes 2 --trellis 0 --ref 2 --filter 0,0 --subme 3 --direct spatial --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me hex --no-ssim --merange 10 --b-adapt 0 --no-chroma-me --aud

X264;3;Fast;--keyint 250 --bframes 3 --trellis 0 --ref 3 --filter -1,-1 --subme 4 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me hex --no-ssim --merange 12 --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions p8x8,i8x8 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.0:0.0

X264;4;High Performance;--keyint 250 --bframes 3 --trellis 0 --ref 3 --filter -1,-1 --subme 5 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me dia --no-ssim --merange 14 --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions p8x8,i8x8 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.0:0.0

X264;5;Balanced;--keyint 250 --bframes 3 --trellis 0 --ref 3 --filter -1,-1 --subme 5 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me dia --no-ssim --weightb --b-adapt 1 --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i8x8 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 0 --aq-strength 0

X264;6;Better Quality;--keyint 250 --bframes 5 --mixed-refs --trellis 1 --ref 4 --filter -1,-1 --subme 6 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me umh --no-ssim --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i8x8 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.0:0.0

X264;7;Extreme Quality;--keyint 250 --bframes 4 --mixed-refs --trellis 0 --ref 4 --filter -1,-1 --subme 9 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me umh --no-ssim --weightb --b-adapt 2 --no-chroma-me --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.1:0.0

X264;8;Insane Quality;--keyint 250 --bframes 6 --mixed-refs --trellis 2 --ref 6 --filter -1,-1 --subme 7 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me umh --no-ssim --merange 20 --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.0:1.0

X264;9;Slug;--keyint 250 --bframes 8 --mixed-refs --trellis 2 --ref 8 --filter -2,-1 --subme 8 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me esa --no-ssim --merange 24 --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8,p4x4 --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.1:1.0

X264;10;Infinite Time;--keyint 250 --bframes 16 --mixed-refs --trellis 2 --ref 16 --filter -2,-1 --subme 9 --direct auto --vbv-bufsize 14000 --vbv-maxrate 25000 --me tesa --no-ssim --merange 32 --weightb --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --partitions all --8x8dct --aud --aq-mode 1 --aq-strength 1 --psy-rd 1.1:1.0

these are the basis, then.. when i encode for NMT i will change:
max ref to 3
b-pyramid is out, since it raise the total vbv
max b-frames to 6

some more notes:
b-adapt and merange are the most cpu intensive when encoding, expecially when using an high number of b-frames
partitions give very small advantage, and this advantage in quality decrease with increase of resolution
subme is the best quality/speed key. Since with high subme the quality rise more then speed decrease
8x8dct is a must
trellis isn't very valuable

all it imho (and information is gathered from varius forum/irc)

best regards

BHH
HDConvertToX, AutoMKV, AutoMen developer
Source: PS3 , HTPC, WDTV
HTPC> Case: Antec Fusion Remote Black , Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H (Nvidia mGPU 9400), Cpu: e8400@3ghz , Scythe Ninja Mini, Ram: 2*2gb@800mhz, Gpu: NVIDIA 9500GT, HD: WD 640gb, OS: Vista 32bit
Ampli: Yamaha 663 , Plasma: TX-P46G10

July 30, 2009, 03:20:51 PM
Reply #2

RaggedDog

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 31
You might want to give media encoder a go ... I have a Nvidia 8600gt and recently tried it and if you use the cuda based encoder it is massively faster than CPU based encoding. I think on my system it worked out at 5x faster, but it still lacks the final 10% or so in quality. I have no connec with author (freeware@present).
If this is the sort of speed increase we can expect, then for a first try this is pretty impressive.
I don't normally encode to x264 (FU2.0) as it simply takes too long, but this is a massive improvement.

July 30, 2009, 04:40:27 PM
Reply #3

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
RaggedDog
give us a link to
Quote
media encoder
please ;)
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

August 10, 2009, 01:13:44 AM
Reply #4

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
he mean probably latest mediacoder + cuda support

August 10, 2009, 07:15:43 AM
Reply #5

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
3dxr:
i thought so.
i tried it out
its a good app but not fantastic.
definitly faster
but hit and miss on audio
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

August 17, 2009, 07:19:57 PM
Reply #6

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
I think faster depends on what computer you have. And damn that badaboom interface is ugly.
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

December 05, 2009, 06:12:14 PM
Reply #7

ecolavy09

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
The new language which encoding have? it must have utf-8 that is the encoding that you used in the previous 4.6.1 release