Author Topic: New Prerelase firmware v1.03.22  (Read 42157 times)

June 09, 2010, 02:05:04 PM
Read 42157 times

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
There is a new prerelease available Beta v1.03.22


What's new:

    * DVD navigation support.
    * Mediafly network service.
    * .mov chapter support.
    * Wireless adaptor support for ASUS USB-N13.
    * Security when mounting a network share on password protected local drives.

Resolved issues:

    * File share group name – Network names must now match.
    * Aspect ratio issues.
    * Subtitle encoding for Big 5.
    * Resume remembering previous audio selection.
    * IDX +_SUB positioning issue causing video freeze.
    * PGS subtitle becoming frozen while using the delay function.
    * Network share intermittent detection issue.
    * Undetectable 4 TB My Book®.
    * Large capacity video file (.ts) unable to play.
    * DVR-MS video stop when fast forward at 6x.
    * Buffalo G300N not enumerating.


And Guy from WD suggests that USB keyboards partly works, though is not completely mapped.
Confirmed to work with at least some wireless keyboards as well.

http://www.wdc.com/wdtvlive_prerelease/

New Issues:
    * MediaFly allows channels in channels(*1) but WDTV Live doesn't - it only supports one level.
    * Plays everything in 1080p60 8bit(no 1080p23, no 1080p24, no 12bit)! http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=6399.15  (rokr)
    * Apparently won't play DVD menus if there is no VIDEO_TS.VOB in the set (not a required file)
    * Menu navigation slowdown for some?

Remaining Issues:

    * Double thumbnails via network shares
    * Can't play some mp4 files correctly (like hdnations hd onces)




My issues:
    * Searching in a file is still bad
    * Much of the interface has too small fonts, and you can't adjust it



(*1 Like so
Sports/Football
Sports/Tennis
Sports/Golf/Pro
Sports/Golf/PickupTricks
)

« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 09:26:28 AM by Whoheart »
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:07:16 PM
Reply #1

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756


Well, let me start by reporting that:

Now I suddenly can't see my own shares anymore?!

I've seen others complain about this previously, but I didn't have this problem - but finally I do!

I no longer have to feel left out.

I'm so touched.

Oh, and Mediafly service is a bit flakey, having just tested it for a few minutes it has already reported the server doesn't respond a few times.


And what is mCode?
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:08:55 PM
Reply #2

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45
DVD navigation works, brilliant !

The menu navigation is faster as well it seems

June 09, 2010, 02:11:35 PM
Reply #3

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
The menu navigation is faster as well it seems

Funny you think that, I was just thinking it seemed slower.

 (Perhaps its using a lot of processing power trying to find my network! )
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:15:30 PM
Reply #4

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45
(Perhaps its using a lot of processing power trying to find my network! )

At first sight it seems network share detection is slower, takes around 30-60 seconds now ?

June 09, 2010, 02:17:32 PM
Reply #5

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
(Perhaps its using a lot of processing power trying to find my network! )

At first sight it seems network share detection is slower, takes around 30-60 seconds now ?

Well its been sitting there for 5 minutes now and found nothing.

I wonder what they changed.
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:20:03 PM
Reply #6

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45
(Perhaps its using a lot of processing power trying to find my network! )

At first sight it seems network share detection is slower, takes around 30-60 seconds now ?

Well its been sitting there for 5 minutes now and found nothing.

I wonder what they changed.

does your server see the WDTV ? Type from your command prompt:
net view

and see if it lists the wdtv

June 09, 2010, 02:23:38 PM
Reply #7

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
does your server see the WDTV ? Type from your command prompt:
net view

and see if it lists the wdtv

Nope, it lists nothing (except itself) - however I can ping the IP.
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:26:02 PM
Reply #8

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45
does your server see the WDTV ? Type from your command prompt:
net view

and see if it lists the wdtv

Nope, it lists nothing (except itself) - however I can ping the IP.


If you type:

nbtstat -a <your server's name>

does it then show 'MSBROWSE' somewhere ?

June 09, 2010, 02:32:02 PM
Reply #9

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756


Yes it does, however I may have determined the problem (or perhaps enough time passed and they found each other).

But the workgroup names weren't the same - this has never matterd before, but when i edited the name the WDTV Live they found each other, if this is because it matters now or because it restarted its network code I don't know.

Well see in the next few days :)
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 02:32:43 PM
Reply #10

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45


Yes it does, however I may have determined the problem (or perhaps enough time passed and they found each other).

But the workgroup names weren't the same - this has never matterd before, but when i edited the name the WDTV Live they found each other, if this is because it matters now or because it restarted its network code I don't know.

Well see in the next few days :)

Gotcha.

June 09, 2010, 03:00:02 PM
Reply #11

veda2810

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
-NO VOLUME CONTROL ADDED

-NO GRAPHIC EQUALIZER ADDED

-NO BRIGHTNESS-CONTRAST-SATURATION setting ADDED

 

these features were ...really needed ....other players like Patriot Box office have 'em

WD TV LIVE ....must definitly have them....do implement ..these features ..!!

and Please do take notice i have only mentioned those FEATURES which have been duly Acknowledged by the WD TV ..team ..in the IDEAS LAB ......

June 09, 2010, 03:19:42 PM
Reply #12

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756


Either,

The number of WDTV Live users is huge and they are totally hosing the MediaFly servers,

OR the MediaFly servers are just generally rubbish

OR the WDTV Live's code is buggy

Because damn, if I try to play stuff from my channel most of the time contact with the MediaFly server seems to time out, and the website is very slow as well.

Oh well :)
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

June 09, 2010, 03:23:56 PM
Reply #13

Flexuor

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 10
The first two DVD menu rips I tried worked as expected.  Love it!

Now I have to reconsider re-ripping about another 25 dvd's that are chapter-oriented.

June 09, 2010, 04:01:37 PM
Reply #14

PulseJet

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
-NO VOLUME CONTROL ADDED

-NO GRAPHIC EQUALIZER ADDED

-NO BRIGHTNESS-CONTRAST-SATURATION setting ADDED

 

these features were ...really needed ....other players like Patriot Box office have 'em

WD TV LIVE ....must definitly have them....do implement ..these features ..!!

and Please do take notice i have only mentioned those FEATURES which have been duly Acknowledged by the WD TV ..team ..in the IDEAS LAB ......

Dude don't overuse punctuation like that. It makes me read it in a William Shatner voice  ;D
"Love is what separates us from animals "
"No, Lister. What separates us from animals is that we don't use our tongues to clean our own genitals. "

      - Lister & Rimmer