Author Topic: *experimental* wireless usb support package  (Read 300165 times)

March 28, 2009, 07:35:10 PM
Reply #15

Zorander

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 36
**UPDATE**  wireless-mod 0.3 released

  • Exhaustive list of VID/PID's added to rt73
  • Exhaustive list of VID/PID's added to zd1211b
(special thanks go to rezmus--the web-lkddb was quite handy as a source of usbids, although there were still a handfull of ids in the zd1211b driver that were missing from lkddb)

Still missing:  RaLink 2x00 that are not in rt73 and are not 2870's.

Although I know that there are more devices supported by Linux 2.6.29, it would be EXTREMELY difficult to back-port them to 2.6.15 at this point.  There was a pretty big change around 2.6.24 that makes backporting difficult.  Unfortunatly, most of the soft-mac wireless drivers didn't make it into linux until after 2.6.24

The drivers in this modpack each have their own implementation of the 802.11 stack imbedded in them--that's why they are so large.  I've not been able to use the new ones from 2.6.24 or later that use the generic ieee80211 driver--the version included in 2.6.15 is basically useless (and none of the drivers included here use it).


March 28, 2009, 09:33:02 PM
Reply #16

shadow

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 33
 
    > wireless-mod 0.3 released

   Thank you Zorander and Rezmus, now it works perfectly on my D-Link DWA-110!!

   Tomorrow I'll try the WPA stuff... :)

   Thanks!!Thanks!!Thanks!!Thanks!!Thanks!! :)

March 29, 2009, 01:28:32 AM
Reply #17

peterskeetero

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 3
Hi Shadow,
I've downloaded ext3-boot-0.8.7.2 and want to update my stock
WDTV and connect my DWA-110 as well.
My network uses WPA2 - did you get that working with WDTV and your DWA-110 ?
I'm new to this as well and am dying to get ssh/ftp/samba access to my WDTV
as I've got a 2 TB USB enclosure connected and am sick of physically moving it between
TV room and computer room.
Thx,
Peter
WDTV , ext3-boot release 0.8.7.2, DWA-110 wireless usb nic, 2TB JBOD enclosure.

March 29, 2009, 02:33:18 AM
Reply #18

Jackman

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 73
HI I have a Dlink wda 140 that I try to work. this is what I have done.
I have installed the ext, copied the opt files adn added the latest wlanbin ver3 on my usb stick.
I have then edit my net config file to use statick ipå etc..
I have tried the iwconfig line without adn with encryption no luck.
ifconfig $MDEV up
iwconfig $MDEV essid HJEMME iwconfig channel 6


I can see that my wlan usb blinks when the WDTV startup..
I am also trying ot ping, telnet to the device but with no luck. I am also cheking the wlan router to see if its "connected"

Log data..

This I find it is might usefull
Driver auto reconnect to last OID_802_11_SSID setting - HJEMME, len - 6
StaCfg.WepStatus=0, while pInBss->WepStatus=1
CntlOidSsidProc():CNTL - 0 BSS of 10 BSS match the desire (6)SSID - HJEMME
CntlOidSsidProc():CNTL - No matching BSS, start a new scan

nd then it starts to scan for chanels again and again..

ANy idea what the problem solution is?

Jackman

March 29, 2009, 02:52:51 AM
Reply #19

Jackman

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 73
I now tried to add the line channel 6 in my iwconfig to set the channel...
this is what happends it repeats itself.. continusly..I think.

SYNC - BBP R4 to 20MHz.l
SwitchChannel#1(RF=1, Pwr0=7, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07c6, R3=0x98168e55, R4=0x980dd20b
SwitchChannel#2(RF=1, Pwr0=8, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07c6, R3=0x98169055, R4=0x980dd21f
SwitchChannel#3(RF=1, Pwr0=8, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07ca, R3=0x98169055, R4=0x980dd20b
SwitchChannel#4(RF=1, Pwr0=9, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07ca, R3=0x98169255, R4=0x980dd21f
SwitchChannel#5(RF=1, Pwr0=9, Pwr1=7, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07ce, R3=0x98169255, R4=0x980dd1cb
SwitchChannel#6(RF=1, Pwr0=10, Pwr1=7, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07ce, R3=0x98169455, R4=0x980dd1df
SwitchChannel#7(RF=1, Pwr0=10, Pwr1=7, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07d2, R3=0x98169455, R4=0x980dd1cb
SwitchChannel#8(RF=1, Pwr0=11, Pwr1=7, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07d2, R3=0x98169655, R4=0x980dd1df
SwitchChannel#9(RF=1, Pwr0=11, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07d6, R3=0x98169655, R4=0x980dd20b
SwitchChannel#10(RF=1, Pwr0=12, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07d6, R3=0x98169855, R4=0x980dd21f
SwitchChannel#11(RF=1, Pwr0=12, Pwr1=8, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07da, R3=0x98169855, R4=0x980dd20b
SwitchChannel#12(RF=1, Pwr0=13, Pwr1=9, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07da, R3=0x98169a55, R4=0x980dd25f
SwitchChannel#13(RF=1, Pwr0=13, Pwr1=9, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07de, R3=0x98169a55, R4=0x980dd24b
SwitchChannel#6(RF=1, Pwr0=10, Pwr1=7, 2T) to , R1=0x98402ecc, R2=0x984c07ce, R3=0x98169455, R4=0x980dd1df
SYNC - End of SCAN, restore to channel 6, Total BSS[11]
SCAN done, resume MSDU transmission ...
Driver auto reconnect to last OID_802_11_SSID setting - HJEMME, len - 6
StaCfg.WepStatus=1, while pInBss->WepStatus=0
CntlOidSsidProc():CNTL - 0 BSS of 11 BSS match the desire (6)SSID - HJEMME
CntlOidSsidProc():CNTL - No matching BSS, start a new scan
SCANNING, suspend MSDU transmission ...
SYNC - BBP R4 to 20MHz.l

Looking forward .. to fix this!!!

March 29, 2009, 02:58:22 AM
Reply #20

Jackman

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 73
I google and found out this form the forum.

that I have this chipset in my usb wlan.. and Dlink support pointed to this page.
USB (RT2870/RT2770)

http://www.ralinktech.com/ralink/Home/Support/Linux.html

Can it be a firmware problem on my usb  ???


« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 03:01:27 AM by Jackman »

March 29, 2009, 06:47:47 AM
Reply #21

granjerox

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 11
It would be very nice if you get to work the rt2570 devices.

I have a Conceptronic C54RU
VID:PID -> 14B2:3C02

Officially it works with rt2570 driver but I've readed it could work with rt73.
I've tried it with ext3-boot release 0.8.7.2 and wireless-mod 0.3 but
without luck.

Thank U very much and go on with this incredible work !!

March 29, 2009, 07:22:34 AM
Reply #22

Jackman

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 73
From shadows post I understadn that we must "tell" linux that this hardware unit must use the spesific driver..
I have a Dwa-140 adn I found the following id info on this usb list.
http://www.linux-usb.org/usb.ids

07d1:3c09  DWA-140 802.11n Adapter [ralink rt2870]


Thanks for your help :D

March 29, 2009, 09:13:56 AM
Reply #23

bmwhite

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
First off, thanks to all the work you guys/gals have done. In my younger days I would have dived in with you, but now I'm taker and not a giver. :)
I have been trying to get the wireless going. I have an Airlink AWL3026NA (ZD1211B) on USB1 that works fine at the computer. Router recognizes it. However it won't recognize it with the WDTV (for testing purposes it is also in the same room as the router and PC). On USB2 I have a thumb drive with ext3-boot.0.8.7.2 and wireless-mod.app.bin 0.3. The WDTV boots up with the modded firmware fine but no IP and router says nothing there. The router is set up with WEP 64-bit, my SSID is "WHITE" and my WEP-64 ASCII passphrase is "ABCDE". (I will make security stronger once I get it working). I have some question on network.config, is this right:
Code: [Select]
HOST=wdtv
ifconfig $MDEV up
iwconfig $MDEV essid WHITE key "s:ABCDE"
DHCP=yes

I have attached the messages.txt file. Doesn't look like anything wireless is sucessful. Any thoughts on why a no-go? Thanks in advance for any help.

March 29, 2009, 10:37:35 AM
Reply #24

shadow

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 33
bmwhite

  Apparently your WDTV getting some errors when it tries to initialize your wireless dongle. The log shows:

(...) wdtv user.err kernel: usb 1-1: device descriptor read/64, error -71
(...) wdtv user.err kernel: usb 1-1: device not accepting address 4, error -71

  Have you tried to reconnect or maybe change ports, to see if it works?

March 29, 2009, 10:53:06 AM
Reply #25

waterlooscp

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 10
Hi all,

First of all, thanks for the excelent job.

I have a conceptronic c54 ru adapter. When I connect to the wdtv (ext3-boot-0.8.7.2 and wireless-mod 0.3) nothing happens, the lights are always off.

Anyone could confirm if at this time this adapter is compatible?

Device Descriptor:
bcdUSB:             0x0200
bDeviceClass:         0x00
bDeviceSubClass:      0x00
bDeviceProtocol:      0x00
bMaxPacketSize0:      0x40 (64)
idVendor:           0x14B2
idProduct:          0x3C02
bcdDevice:          0x0001
iManufacturer:        0x01
iProduct:             0x02
iSerialNumber:        0x00
bNumConfigurations:   0x01

Thanks for the help.

waterlooscp
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 10:55:42 AM by waterlooscp »

March 29, 2009, 10:56:01 AM
Reply #26

bmwhite

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
Shadow - thanks for the quick response. I have tried the dongle in USB1 and USB2 multiple times - still no-go :(. I get those error -71 messages you mention in all the log files. Maybe an unsupported dongle??

Does the network.config look okay? I wasn't sure about the order of the statements. But it sounds like it is not even getting that far, huh?

March 29, 2009, 11:22:05 AM
Reply #27

Jackman

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 73
Could someone look at my previous post and maybe help me ?
Any idea what is the problem? I seethat the wda-140 light is contstantly blinking red.


March 29, 2009, 11:28:07 AM
Reply #28

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
Ok, did the few things required to get WDLXTV compatible with this. All the modules load, although I can't seem to get my rt2500 adapter to be recognized, kernel module loads but thats it. Might dig further into it soon.

Only one thing I'd like to propose:

I'd prefer not have to modify mdev.conf, so how about checking to see if the devices already exist inside of mdev and catting them on if not, like such.
Code: [Select]
[ "`cat /etc/mdev.conf | grep rausb0`" == "" ] && cat $APATH/etc/mdev.conf >> /etc/mdev.conf

this makes mdev.conf updateable without me having to whip up a new release for a new adapter.

Still tweaking out wdlxtv for the next release, but this will be in there...as well as one new feature I hacked in that a lot of people will appreciate :D

March 29, 2009, 11:33:49 AM
Reply #29

rezmus

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 418
Could someone look at my previous post and maybe help me ?
Any idea what is the problem? I seethat the wda-140 light is contstantly blinking red.



seems your driver is working just can;t find essid, try "essid any" or make sure your ssid is broadcated.