Author Topic: I don't want to compress my dvd files  (Read 5237 times)

April 06, 2010, 04:46:01 PM
Read 5237 times

jammoca

Hi all,

I'm completely brand new to WDTV Media Player, and have spent the last 10 hours reading forum chat on how to rip dvds etc, but am a bit bamboozled.

I have a 2TB external hard drive and am about to purchase another, so storage space isn't really an issue, so for that reason I'm not interested in compressing my dvds to save space before use on WDTV Media Player.

All I want to do is rip my dvds, store them on my external hard drives and play them on my tv via wdtv media player. If I can have the capacity to skip chapters while viewing, then great, but if not, no sweat.

Other than using DVD Decrypter, I don't want to confuse myself with any other things that I've read others talking about.

So ...  with this simplicity (and no file-compression in mind), what's the best series of steps to follow to get a dvd onto my external hard-drive in a format that the wdtv media player can use without loss of quality ? I'm confused whether I'm supposed to use ISO (Read) or FILE.

April 06, 2010, 11:30:05 PM
Reply #1

twisty

G'day jammoca,

Use Mode/ISO/Read to create a complete .iso with DVD Decrypter (warnings, option screens, the lot).  Use IFO mode to to copy movie only to VIDEO_TS folder (.vob with 1gig limit).  Use file to copy the lot to VIDEO_TS folder.

Try DVD Shrink.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2010, 11:35:44 PM by twisty »
42" Sony & 32" Teac. Gigabit Network + NetComm NP210 Ethernet over power.  4TB WD ShareSpace NAS.  WDLXTV 0.5.8.1.  MSheet 2.1.1.
Noob WDTV Video Conversion Basics Tutorial http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=3314.0

April 07, 2010, 04:38:11 AM
Reply #2

jammoca