Author Topic: WDLXTV-LIVE-0.4.X  (Read 679143 times)

February 24, 2010, 02:09:06 PM
Reply #45

netdada

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 51
I think I've found a bug
running under hardflashed minimal 0.4.0.0
and testing ext-boot 0.4.1.0 from USB-thumb
- the WDTVLive network name changes from the previous specified one in S00custom-options
- I cannot login into WDTVLive from finder under OSX
- YouTube doesn't find any content avaiable (it did with minimal 0.4.0.0 since I beforehand installed 1.01.24)
- If I uncomment any S00custom-options line after rebooting it never gets to the UI and cycles infinitely on and off.

Is this maybe just culprit of my hardflashed minimal 0.4.0.0
which doesn't play well together with ext-boot 0.4.1.0 ???
« Last Edit: February 24, 2010, 02:32:48 PM by netdada »
WDTVLive w/ 1.02.21 WDLXTV 0.4.5.3
USB1<-2GB FAT FlashDrive
Ethernet<-AirportExtreme

WDTV w/ WDLXTV 0.5.8.1
USB1<-1GB FAT FlashDrive with pure-ftpd, nfs, samba, core-extras & lilibabe.osd.bin
USB2<-AppleEthernetAdapter<-AirportExtreme

AirportExtreme<-USB Hub<-1TB+1TB+750GB+500GB HFS+HDs

February 24, 2010, 11:31:16 PM
Reply #46

mottafukka

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
Hi B-rad

I love that you want to move to 1.02.14, that will solve some network (smb especially) issues i had.

But my reason for posting is really the thought: is it possible to incoorporate the first Youtube interface wich in the earlier FW's didnt identify as a TV-unit, i would really like to have access to the content thats now restricted.

If it for any reason is not in your interrest, could it then be done by an app.bin wich would overwrite the new interface and take its place in the OSD (not knowing if romfs' makes that a problem)

Keep up the good work, its much appreciated !


February 25, 2010, 12:33:30 AM
Reply #47

NoSubstitute

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 150
    • No Substitute
I second this request.

Upgrading from 0.3.4.5 to include more restrictions isn't in the best interest of the development of a versatile mediaplayer.
Also, I'm more likely to downgrade to the offical 1.10, to get away from the out.of-sync issues with AC3.
There is No Substitute!

February 25, 2010, 12:40:21 AM
Reply #48

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
I second this request.

Upgrading from 0.3.4.5 to include more restrictions isn't in the best interest of the development of a versatile mediaplayer.
Also, I'm more likely to downgrade to the offical 1.10, to get away from the out.of-sync issues with AC3.

There are very detailed comments about the feasability of this request elsewhere on the forum. They changed from scraping to api and its no simple url switch to get hd back, it just doesnt exist.

February 25, 2010, 12:57:22 AM
Reply #49

NoSubstitute

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 150
    • No Substitute
There are very detailed comments about the feasability of this request elsewhere on the forum. They changed from scraping to api and its no simple url switch to get hd back, it just doesnt exist.

oh, that sure makes it harder if the source isn't there. But, if I understood it correctly, the source is still there, it's the WDTVL's system of accessing it that has changed (from 1.24)? I understand it will require a lot of re-writing, if you keep using post 1.24 fw to base your own hacks. Is it still the best way to continue, letting WD coding team do most of the coding and you doing edits to make it keep doing what you (and we, your followers on this forum) want it to? Or would it be a better idea to keep developing from 0.3.4.5 and instead only insert new fixes into that code, without introducing known limitations?

I can't code anything, so I can't help with any of that, I'm just airing my concern for you working yourself into a corner you can't get out of.
There is No Substitute!

February 25, 2010, 01:03:28 AM
Reply #50

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
There are very detailed comments about the feasability of this request elsewhere on the forum. They changed from scraping to api and its no simple url switch to get hd back, it just doesnt exist.

oh, that sure makes it harder if the source isn't there. But, if I understood it correctly, the source is still there, it's the WDTVL's system of accessing it that has changed (from 1.24)? I understand it will require a lot of re-writing, if you keep using post 1.24 fw to base your own hacks. Is it still the best way to continue, letting WD coding team do most of the coding and you doing edits to make it keep doing what you (and we, your followers on this forum) want it to? Or would it be a better idea to keep developing from 0.3.4.5 and instead only insert new fixes into that code, without introducing known limitations?

I can't code anything, so I can't help with any of that, I'm just airing my concern for you working yourself into a corner you can't get out of.

search the forum. what you are talking about is removing mispel assembly from one binary and inserting it into another, when who knows what else changed not to mention address offsets and everything else. Beg WD to beg youtube to give them 720p.

February 25, 2010, 06:30:33 AM
Reply #51

steom

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 11
any planning of implement httpfs to mount a http url as a file just like the existing FUSE-based "file system" sshfs and ftpfs? PS: no chance to mount them also in Network Shares instead of local directory? any tricks?

February 25, 2010, 07:33:31 AM
Reply #52

w_pepper

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 11
I used

config_tool -c ETH_UP_ACTION00='usb.power.on && sleep 5 && resume'
config_tool -c ETH_DOWN_ACTION9999='suspend && sleep 2 && usb.power.off'

It is working fine. When I put wdtvlive to sleep, disk is unmounted and powered off. When I press power on remote again, wdtvlive wakes up and disk is mounted again (NTFS).


Yes, It is working fine for me... but...how can I go back this setting without a reset of the device?

February 25, 2010, 09:45:51 AM
Reply #53

NoSubstitute

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 150
    • No Substitute
...
 Beg WD to beg youtube to give them 720p.

Actually, I couldn't care less about Youtube, HD or no HD. I rarely ever use it on my computer and never on the WDTVLive. (youporn, on the other hand ;D j/k). I just don't like the concept of restrictions being forced on me if I upgrade.

I'm more interested in learning when the out-of-sync-AC3 will be fixed. If I've understood it correctly, the OOS was introduced with fw 1.11, which I also seem to remember, as I don't think I ever had any OOS incidents on 1.10.
There is No Substitute!

February 25, 2010, 01:17:21 PM
Reply #54

alpha_jet

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 10
Bernie: thx, didn't know it was a prerelease...

Bugreport: WDLXTV 0.4.1 with EXT3boot for 0.4.1 on the left USB (sda1) locks up on boot - if there's an USB-hub attached. As soon as I remove the ext3-boot-stick, it boots just fine (but I cannot use UMSP, since that requires EXT3-boot - Argl! why is optical drive support such a mess?). Also boots fine from the ext3-stick as soon as i remove the hub....

why do you keep saying UMSP requires ext3-boot? Miyagi has included it in the webend.app.bin pretty much since it was available.

And if you want optical drive support better, then best get coding as I don't have an external optical anymore ;)

It's funny. Miyagi has included v.0.1.1 of UMSP. It is not included optical drive.

PS The cyrillic issue still exists. :(
« Last Edit: February 25, 2010, 01:56:32 PM by alpha_jet »

February 25, 2010, 01:45:12 PM
Reply #55

dih

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
Is it possible with the minimal fw to use the space saved to "install" custom apps. Where would I put those app-bins and how would I tell the wd to start them when it's turned on?
Thanks a lot!

February 26, 2010, 12:06:03 PM
Reply #56

vagelisv

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 5
I confirm the youtube "no content" bug on 0.4.1 even after factory defaults.

I like your job. thank you very much.

February 26, 2010, 12:09:00 PM
Reply #57

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
I confirm the youtube "no content" bug on 0.4.1 even after factory defaults.

I like your job. thank you very much.

I've investigated this and there is some sort of security/other 'feature' preventing youtube keys from being generated from inside wdlxtv-live. If you reset and then go into youtube your keys are set to NULL instead of a long string of characters. If you install official fw 1.01.24 and factory reset, then make sure youtube works it'll work in wdlxtv-live until the next time you factory reset.

I am going to include functionality to save the youtube keys and re-include them in the case they disappear after wdlxtv-live reset in next version.

February 26, 2010, 01:43:07 PM
Reply #58

Neoone

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 24
hi,

since i've upgraded to 0.4.1, all my apps doesn't work anymore

if i try to list /apps directories i 've got errors like this:

ls: ./ppmtosixel: Input/output error
ls: ./ppmdither: Input/output error
ls: ./pnmenlarge: Input/output error
ls: ./xwdtopnm: Input/output error
ls: ./ppmtoleaf: Input/output error
ls: ./pbmclean: Input/output error
ls: ./pbmtext: Input/output error
ls: ./pbmtoepson: Input/output error
ls: ./xbmtopbm: Input/output error
ls: ./gemtopnm: Input/output error
ls: ./pbmpscale: Input/output error
ls: ./pamdice: Input/output error
ls: ./pnmhistmap: Input/output error
ls: ./ppmtoicr: Input/output error
ls: ./pnmtoplainpnm: Input/output error


any advice on this problem ?

February 26, 2010, 11:55:24 PM
Reply #59

hRoost

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
Hi,

I have a problem with Ext3-boot 0.4.1.0: from Windows I can't see any longer the drives attached to the WDTV live.

The windows shares (both samba and NFS) are mounted correctly on the WDTV.

From windows I can access the WDTV via telnet or ftp, but the box does not show in the network neighborhood.

Went back toext3-boot 0.4.0.0 and everything works fine