Author Topic: ext3-boot 0.9.2 release  (Read 46761 times)

April 24, 2009, 07:14:01 PM
Reply #15

disco

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 86
  • Personal Text
    WDTV:WS programmer
    • discowd
zorander i think there is some problem with the release because I cannot call any application from the webserver.app.bin outside its directory without the full path :s ..
For example, if I'm in / and want to call app 'app1' can only access it with full path /apps/webserver/bin/app1 ...
Most weird is that the /apps/webserver/bin is in the system PATH :s

Can you please take a look on it?

Best regards,
Joćo Henriques
ext3-boot, apple ethernet 10/100, webserver.app.bin
http://discowd.com

April 24, 2009, 07:21:40 PM
Reply #16

Zorander

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 36
Which webserver.app.bin are you using that I can test with?

[EDIT]

Gah, think I found the problem.


It only affects you when you telnet in, correct?

Edit your /etc/profile command so that the top of it reads as follows:
Code: [Select]
# ~/.bashrc: executed by bash(1) for non-login interactive shells.

export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/local/bin
if [ -f /tmp/sys.path ]; then
  . /tmp/sys.path
  export PATH
fi
It did say "export PATH=`cat /tmp/sys.path`" which does NOT work.

After you change that, telnet in again and it should be fixed.

To diagnose, if you type in PATH it'll probably say this:
Code: [Select]
PATH=/apps/webserver/bin:/opt/sbin:/opt/bin:/boot/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/sbin:/binThe problem is that PATH= is IN the path statement... it shouldn'b be, so it's looking for a directory named "PATH=" with an "apps" directory in it... which is wrong.  This bug's been there for a while (I wondered why my /opt/sbin directory wasn't in the path right...)
« Last Edit: April 24, 2009, 07:29:09 PM by Zorander »

April 24, 2009, 08:09:29 PM
Reply #17

disco

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 86
  • Personal Text
    WDTV:WS programmer
    • discowd
Which webserver.app.bin are you using that I can test with?

[EDIT]

Gah, think I found the problem.


It only affects you when you telnet in, correct?

Edit your /etc/profile command so that the top of it reads as follows:
Code: [Select]
# ~/.bashrc: executed by bash(1) for non-login interactive shells.

export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/local/bin
if [ -f /tmp/sys.path ]; then
  . /tmp/sys.path
  export PATH
fi
It did say "export PATH=`cat /tmp/sys.path`" which does NOT work.

After you change that, telnet in again and it should be fixed.

To diagnose, if you type in PATH it'll probably say this:
Code: [Select]
PATH=/apps/webserver/bin:/opt/sbin:/opt/bin:/boot/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/sbin:/binThe problem is that PATH= is IN the path statement... it shouldn'b be, so it's looking for a directory named "PATH=" with an "apps" directory in it... which is wrong.  This bug's been there for a while (I wondered why my /opt/sbin directory wasn't in the path right...)


Yes, only in telnet session..
That fixed the problem, thanks (:

Can I give a sugestion ??
It seems that almost everyone wants to customize the background image.
It would be a good ideia to symlink the /osd/image/[background image filename].jpg to /boot/background.jpg, move that image to the pen and distribute it with root.bin wdtv.bin, etc,...

What do you think??

Best regards,
Joćo Henriques

ext3-boot, apple ethernet 10/100, webserver.app.bin
http://discowd.com

April 25, 2009, 12:15:15 AM
Reply #18

cionci

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 106
I'll address the issue with the next wireless-mod.app.bin package.
It would be great !!! Thank you ;)
NTP doesn't seem to work for me though (using pool.ntp.org, will try other ntp servers when time permits).
Doesn't work for me too.


April 25, 2009, 02:28:46 AM
Reply #19

sdsi

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 46

NTP doesn't seem to work for me though (using pool.ntp.org, will try other ntp servers when time permits).
Doesn't work for me too.



You need "ntpclient" packet. Copy it to /bin and chmod 755

April 25, 2009, 02:30:56 AM
Reply #20

cionci

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 106
You need "ntpclient" packet. Copy it to /bin and chmod 755
But it works out of the box on 0.8.7.2 ;)

Edit:

ipkg update
ipkg install ntpclient

Now works fine ;)
« Last Edit: April 25, 2009, 02:42:45 AM by cionci »

April 25, 2009, 04:17:48 AM
Reply #21

Starstream

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 64
Excellent thanks for the new release Zorander.

April 25, 2009, 12:49:16 PM
Reply #22

Neo

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 15
when power down wdtv it broke,damage ext3 file system and must be recovered by jornal on another linux box.
ext3-boot can't recover form a jornaled ext3 partition at boot time

April 25, 2009, 02:22:30 PM
Reply #23

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
Neo:
should be able to be done ON the wdtv.
is the wdtv missing fsck?

end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

April 26, 2009, 10:08:11 PM
Reply #24

disco

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 86
  • Personal Text
    WDTV:WS programmer
    • discowd
zorander, i created a very simple (and fast) binary to include in my webserver.app to create extra loop devices, because I will need to use them in some scripts.

Like the WDTV has only default 8 loop devices, will limit for example, 8 app.bins, so, if you think it would be usefull for everyone and want to include it in the ext3-boot please tell me that I send you the binary..


EDIT:
BTW, the ntpclient file/binary/symlink is missing in the 0.9.2 release :\ The time don't gets updated!!


Bets regards,
Joćo Henriques
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 10:41:27 PM by disco »
ext3-boot, apple ethernet 10/100, webserver.app.bin
http://discowd.com

April 27, 2009, 06:14:33 AM
Reply #25

Mr Lazy

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 408
    • Mr Lazy
How comes ipkg doesn't work for me?

# ipkg
ipkg: not found


ipkg update
ipkg install ntpclient

Now works fine ;)
Gen1, ext3-boot, Belkin AX88178 Gigabit adapter, Synology DS109 NAS

How-to setup WD TV with NFS shares

April 27, 2009, 06:33:28 AM
Reply #26

cionci

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 106

April 27, 2009, 07:19:53 AM
Reply #27

Mr Lazy

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 408
    • Mr Lazy
Thanks cionci, the penny has now dropped - I hadn't realised that you could install optware for ext3-boot, I thought when people were talking about optware they were refering to WDLXTV.

How comes ipkg doesn't work for me?
Insert opt.bin (opt-ware) in boot drive: http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php?id=ext3-boot-releases
Gen1, ext3-boot, Belkin AX88178 Gigabit adapter, Synology DS109 NAS

How-to setup WD TV with NFS shares

May 04, 2009, 05:54:41 AM
Reply #28

sirish19

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
Hi, newbie here trying out ext3-boot for the first time but it doesn't seem to want to flash this firmware.  I am currently using WDLXTV-0.5.2 but I haven't been able to get it to recognize my Buffalo LinkStation NAS drive so I thought I would give this one a try. I extracted all files to the USB thumb drive but when I insert to WDTV, it doesn't do anything and I don't seem to get an "upgrade firmware" alternative.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks.
WDLXTV 0.5.3.2
wireless-mod-seb.app.bin
samba.app.bin
WDTV USB1 <- 4 port USB 2.0 Hub <-USBkey (FAT32 -f/w and apps on root)
WDTV USB2 <- Arkview USB 2.0 1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet LAN Network Adapter <-> Buffalo LinkStation LS-CL 1.0 TB NAS Drive

May 04, 2009, 06:57:12 AM
Reply #29

Grangeway

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
ext3-boot release 0.9.2

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Imported 1.02.07 changes
Added lots of missing symbolic links for busybox
Official ext3 support
You should be able to use an ext3 drive to boot now (untested)

http://www.filedropper.com/ext3-boot-092 (anyone else having problems uploading to mediafire tonight?)



Hi, this link seems to be dead. Please can someone post a live link. Many thanks