Author Topic: release: WDLXTV-0.5.X  (Read 444365 times)

May 13, 2009, 08:18:33 AM
Reply #60

ferarias

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
    • Mi Blog
Thanks for your quick reply!
First of all, I agree with moustique in most of the issues: I get network connectivity always, it looks as if this part has improved!
Unfortunately I can confirm the following:

  • Problems with remote controller approx. 50% of the time
    net.config is not recognized, even if I copy it to /conf (BTW, where is this actually stored?). I always get the same 192.168.1.12 IP
    Trying to access the About screen freezes my wdtv

Best
WDTV + SMCWUSB-N + b-rad.cc's WDLXTV firmware

May 13, 2009, 08:27:43 AM
Reply #61

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
Thanks for your quick reply!
First of all, I agree with moustique in most of the issues: I get network connectivity always, it looks as if this part has improved!
Unfortunately I can confirm the following:

  • Problems with remote controller approx. 50% of the time
    net.config is not recognized, even if I copy it to /conf (BTW, where is this actually stored?). I always get the same 192.168.1.12 IP
    Trying to access the About screen freezes my wdtv

Best


my about screen works...???...thats pretty strange if you two's does not. Can you telnet in and do the following:
Code: [Select]
# cat /tmp/ip-about.asp
# cat /osd/setup_about.xml

I'll look into net.config now.

/conf is a partition on the internal flash chip.

May 13, 2009, 08:34:19 AM
Reply #62

ferarias

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
    • Mi Blog
Of course:
Code: [Select]
# cat /tmp/ip-about.asp
<?xml version="1.0"?><wrapper>
<text text="wdtv : no IP" x="355" y="335" w="543" h="32" textcolor="0xe2e2e2" align="hcenter" fontsize="30"/>
</wrapper>
# cat /osd/setup_about.xml
wdtv : 192.168.1.12
WDTV + SMCWUSB-N + b-rad.cc's WDLXTV firmware

May 13, 2009, 08:37:47 AM
Reply #63

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
Of course:
Code: [Select]
# cat /tmp/ip-about.asp
<?xml version="1.0"?><wrapper>
<text text="wdtv : no IP" x="355" y="335" w="543" h="32" textcolor="0xe2e2e2" align="hcenter" fontsize="30"/>
</wrapper>
# cat /osd/setup_about.xml
wdtv : 192.168.1.12

 :o ??? say what? your /osd/setup_about.xml really contains just:
Code: [Select]
wdtv : 192.168.1.12

May 13, 2009, 08:47:17 AM
Reply #64

ferarias

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
    • Mi Blog
From your tone I guess that's no good  :-\, but yes, that's the content!
I have re-checked
WDTV + SMCWUSB-N + b-rad.cc's WDLXTV firmware

May 13, 2009, 08:54:48 AM
Reply #65

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
From your tone I guess that's no good  :-\, but yes, that's the content!
I have re-checked

k i'm on it, could be an artifact of some osd changes i made.

May 13, 2009, 09:11:49 AM
Reply #66

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
hmmm...I did remove all the bits of suspect code already. Do you happen to be using an old theme?

May 13, 2009, 09:24:20 AM
Reply #67

ferarias

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
    • Mi Blog
I am afraid I've never installed any theme. How can I know?
FYI: I installed your fw and then I did a system reset.
The only contents in my attached drive are:
  • wdtv.bin and wdtv.ver
  • custom screen_saver.png and welcome_background_bg.jpg
  • wireless_mod-0.3-sebmod.app.bin
  • net.config
  • net.mounts
WDTV + SMCWUSB-N + b-rad.cc's WDLXTV firmware

May 13, 2009, 09:36:58 AM
Reply #68

sebastiaan15

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 38
i have the new firmware installed 1.02.07_B-RAD.CC_WDLXTV-0.5.3.2

no freezing yet all thing work 16x forward don't freeze movies so far

i do a hard reset hold the pin pushed til screen flashes then it goes back to menu
then i push the pin again hold two seconds and then it reboots
then installed original firmware
again hard reset
then put this firmware on the WDTV

i hope this one is good

thanks b-rad.cc for this firmware and hardwork

greatings from holland ::)

May 13, 2009, 09:43:16 AM
Reply #69

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
I am afraid I've never installed any theme. How can I know?
FYI: I installed your fw and then I did a system reset.
The only contents in my attached drive are:
  • wdtv.bin and wdtv.ver
  • custom screen_saver.png and welcome_background_bg.jpg
  • wireless_mod-0.3-sebmod.app.bin
  • net.config
  • net.mounts

i don't know what is contained in wirelessmod-sebmod, perhaps it uses my old trick?

May 13, 2009, 10:41:15 AM
Reply #70

ferarias

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
    • Mi Blog
Not sure, really. i think it's a modified mod to allow rt280 chipsets to work

I followed these instructions:

http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php?id=usb_wireless_dongles_table_page (see bottom of page)
WDTV + SMCWUSB-N + b-rad.cc's WDLXTV firmware

May 13, 2009, 11:04:29 AM
Reply #71

max1641

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 12
i have the new firmware installed 1.02.07_B-RAD.CC_WDLXTV-0.5.3.2

no freezing yet all thing work 16x forward don't freeze movies so far

i do a hard reset hold the pin pushed til screen flashes then it goes back to menu
then i push the pin again hold two seconds and then it reboots
then installed original firmware
again hard reset
then put this firmware on the WDTV

i hope this one is good

thanks b-rad.cc for this firmware and hardwork

greatings from holland ::)

Couple questions please:

1. Original fw: official 1.02.07?
2. What's the reason for 2-3 hard resets?

TIA

May 13, 2009, 11:31:48 AM
Reply #72

sebastiaan15

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 38
1 yes official 1.02.07

2 it's work for me
   normally i overwrite the firmware or do a soft reset i tryed everything get allways freezing problem
   but if i do this it works
 
 

May 13, 2009, 02:43:34 PM
Reply #73

max1641

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 12
1 yes official 1.02.07

2 it's work for me
   normally i overwrite the firmware or do a soft reset i tryed everything get allways freezing problem
   but if i do this it works
 
 

Interesting!! I'll try this tonight and report my findings.

Has anyone else tried this? Would you share your findings?

May 13, 2009, 03:13:51 PM
Reply #74

medicineuk

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
For whatever reason I can't seem to get the new version to install. I was using ext3-boot then I downgraded to the official firewire which worked fine. I then install this new version, installation seemed to run fine and rebooted. The problem is it then reinstalls the firewire again and I get caught in this cycle install reboot, install reboot. Any ideas I have tried removing the harddrive afterboot but then I just get stuck on the first screen with the WD Logo.