Author Topic: (First post) Mounting NFS share w/o USB drive plugged in (and other Qs ..:))  (Read 1454 times)

January 17, 2010, 09:50:59 AM
Read 1454 times

FlorianO

Hello all,

First and foremost a bit of disclaimer: While I've been using Linux for longer than I care to admit, I'm completely new to WD TV Live and WDLXTV (I bought my device yesterday...).

So far: After more trial and error than I would normally like for a new device, I flashed it with WDLXTV 0.3.4.1 and managed to get my NFS share mounted at boot via "/tmp/conf/net.mounts"

One thing that is annoying is that the mount is done under "/tmp/media/usb/USB1/" which, from what I gather (pls correct me if I'm wrong) is the first USB slot. While I can acess via CLI that directory w/o problems, in the OSD that "local" drive appears only if a USB drive is plugged into that USB slot. After that is done, the "USB" icon is visible in the OSD and then I can access the NFS mounted share  alright and play media located there.

The question is: Can that be done w/o smth plugged into that slot ? Should I use the "cifs-interceptor" as described in the topic in this very forum ? Other suggestions ?  

Other questions:

- Wireless: I have a Dlink DWL-G122 (Rev C1) USB Wi-Fi adapter (RaLink rt73 chipset) which I would like to use instead of the current, wire-based connection (yes I know...). AFAICT the way to use that is via "wireless-mod.app.bin". However, the only instructions  I can find mention putting the supplied files ("wdtv.bin" and "wdtv.ver") and the config file ("net.config") in the root of a pen drive.
   Does it work w/o an USB drive ? Is it enough placing them under "/tmp" ? In this case, what's the proper location for the "net.config" file, is it "/tmp/conf" ? Other suggestions ?

- Minor annoyances. Again, I've only toyed with the device for a couple of hours, so sorry if I'm missing smth obvious. TIA for understanding

a) Built-in player: I but so far I didn't managed to:
   - Control the audio volume