Author Topic: Experiences with 1.01.17-update  (Read 38777 times)

January 11, 2010, 10:53:04 AM
Read 38777 times

toadle

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 17
Hey guys,

my WD TV Live offers a new firmware-update named 1.01.17 for updating via the auto-update.
Is anybody else having this? Any experiences so far?

January 11, 2010, 11:00:27 AM
Reply #1

timeey

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 98
Just read the Release Notes. ;)

The update seems to be the fixed .12 (same changes) without the brick-issue.

January 11, 2010, 11:08:13 AM
Reply #2

GuyWD

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 88
The update seems to be the fixed .12 (same changes) without the brick-issue.

This is correct.

January 11, 2010, 11:11:49 AM
Reply #3

dex38

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 12
Just read the Release Notes. ;)

The update seems to be the fixed .12 (same changes) without the brick-issue.

where can we find the release note ?
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdfwdtv_live is still refering to 1.01.11.

thx

January 11, 2010, 11:24:03 AM
Reply #4

toadle

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 17
Just installed it - all went smoothly. Fixed some folger.jpg not correctly displaying for me so far.

January 11, 2010, 11:24:44 AM
Reply #5

timeey

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 98
@dex38
http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=1003&lang=de

@GuyWD
Hm... and what about the other bugs/feature requests?! Not really a big update. To be honest nothing since 1.01.11 (16. Nov). :(

January 11, 2010, 02:05:07 PM
Reply #6

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
The update seems to be the fixed .12 (same changes) without the brick-issue.

This is correct.

Hey guy, why does the WDC website offer firmware updates IN TWO LOCATIONS - shouldn't there just be one page?
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

January 11, 2010, 02:10:02 PM
Reply #7

Whoheart

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 756
If you think there is something wrong with your WD device contact them and then act upon that: Either wait or move on - don't whine here - this is not WD's board. If you have a problem, start a thread and ask - perhaps someone knows the answer.

January 11, 2010, 02:19:49 PM
Reply #8

samsung09

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Installed the *.17 update and it went smooth...OSD is more responsive. Not much else from playing with it.

January 11, 2010, 02:48:08 PM
Reply #9

ronald-petersen

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 13
Mine downloaded the update, rebooted and now it's stuck with the blue WD logo (since about 15 minutes). Don't really know what to do next. I'm afraid to pull the power plug as it might brick it... ffs :-[

Well that's just great! WD has done it again, my WD TV Live is bricked. I get the screen that says to insert a usb drive with the firmware. If you insert a usb drive with the firmware NOTHING happens. Way to go WD, way to go!
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 02:57:29 PM by ronald-petersen »

January 11, 2010, 03:15:41 PM
Reply #10

GuyWD

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 88
Mine downloaded the update, rebooted and now it's stuck with the blue WD logo (since about 15 minutes). Don't really know what to do next. I'm afraid to pull the power plug as it might brick it... ffs :-[

Well that's just great! WD has done it again, my WD TV Live is bricked. I get the screen that says to insert a usb drive with the firmware. If you insert a usb drive with the firmware NOTHING happens. Way to go WD, way to go!

Can you give me more details on what happened? What version were you updating from? Did you have any modded firmware installed? What firmware did you put on your USB drive to try to recover? Are you at the black screen with the red circles warning about firmware problems?

I would really appreciate your feedback about this.

January 11, 2010, 03:17:31 PM
Reply #11

FooFighter

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 53
no problems here with the update .12 -> .17 - interface seems to me more responsive
Regards,

Foo

________________________________________
WDTV Live - WUSB600N V2 - DIR655 - DNS-323

January 11, 2010, 03:20:36 PM
Reply #12

looking4cpus

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 3
Turned on unit; updated fine.

Still looks/runs about the same, Would like larger fonts, hooked up composite rca to an old 27"
tv for the kids to use (they can see it but I'm squinting).....

January 11, 2010, 03:52:56 PM
Reply #13

simate

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 5
I only got my unit today, impressed so far apart from the Youtube part of it. Mine updated fine but then Youtube wouldn't work anymore, I just had the blue spinning circle constantly, I tried a different option like top favourited etc but same thing, black boxes with blue spinning circle. So I did a factory reset now Youtube works even less! If I select Youtube all the options come up, press enter on the remote but nothing happens at all, it just stays on the menu as though I haven't selected anything.

EDIT: I just turned it off again and back on and now it works lol.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 03:58:18 PM by simate »

January 11, 2010, 05:37:11 PM
Reply #14

Wink Dinkerson

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
I was bricked by last "official" fw, so I was cautious with this update.
I am experiencing connection interruptions, since updating to latest fw.
Tried the reset and power off/on fixes, yet still having interruption problems.
We have three WD Live boxes, and other two boxes have no connection problems (fw 1.01.11).

This will be the last time we beta test for WD.  >:(

Now we are waiting for the latest boxes from the other vendors,
and we will relegate the WD Live boxes for the kid's bedrooms and cabana.

UPDATE: I am connected via wired ethernet.  
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 06:55:49 PM by Wink Dinkerson »