Author Topic: WDTV Live vs Patriot Box Office: My Review  (Read 22466 times)

December 15, 2009, 11:49:19 AM
Read 22466 times

duckmanx

WDTV Live vs Patriot Box Office:  My Review

One month ago, I decided to abandon my XBMC ubuntu box (I was getting lazy, and learning the language got harder and harder) and went researching about a Network Media Player.  A friend of mine picked up an Asus O!Play, so I’ve had several hours of testing there.  When I was looking up specs for the O!Play (AOP), I noticed the chipset/board was the same as the Patriot but the Patriot Box Office (PBO).  My technical knowledge is high, as my occupation is in technology, but my Linux is poor, to very poor. So the idea of “Working right out of the box” was very appealing to me.

http://www.patriotmem.com/products/detailp.jsp?prodline=6&catid=69&prodgroupid=159&id=895&type=20

I was amazed at how simple it was, and that it worked, right out of the box.  Played almost everything I threw at it since the beta firmware. I loved it so much, that rather than watching all my media in one room, I physically took the PBO around the house with me (I have Ethernet ports throughout).  The umbilical cord created by the PBO has to stop, so I went to my local store (which has an exchange/refund policy) and wanted to try the WDTV Live (WDL), or return it after 7 days for a second PBO.  

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=735

After MUCH pain and suffering, I couldn’t get this to network connect properly, dropped connections/slow data rates, and it only happened at my home.  This WDL worked everywhere else, so finally I deciphered it was a Vista Service Pack issue and now I can do an honest review of both.

So here is my review, primarily a WDTV Live vs Patriot, with splashes of Asus O!Play and XBMC, categorized by what I found important…

WDTV Live = WDL
Patriot Box Office = PBO
XBox Media Center 3ghz/1gb/intel Q35 hdmi w/spdif = xbmc
Asus O!Play = AOP

Picture Quality: