Poll

What is the best way to revive it?

use a USB with firmware
3 (20%)
Call WD for support
12 (80%)

Total Members Voted: 15

Voting closed: December 19, 2009, 10:40:33 PM

Author Topic: 1.01.12 Firmware BRICKING WD TV Live CAUTION  (Read 46536 times)

December 03, 2009, 09:16:05 PM
Reply #15

jsdoyle

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
I'm one of the few that actually was able to update without bricking my WDTV Live.

I powered it up tonight, it detected the update was available and I allowed it to do the update.  While it was in the process I saw on another forum that the systems were being bricked.  I thought for sure mine was going to crap out too. 

When it restarted I had to reconfigure my wireless settings and reset my router.  No other problems.

What a screw up for WD!

December 03, 2009, 10:45:55 PM
Reply #16

morris_the_cat

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
I noticed this too late - I already did the upgrade.  But...  Nothing seems wrong for me.  It rebooted fine, and plays mkv movies fine & youtube as well.  I'm afraid to turn it off now!


December 04, 2009, 12:06:01 AM
Reply #17

dmk11

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
I upgraded without issues - don't see any reason for upgrade either though..

December 04, 2009, 12:37:03 AM
Reply #18

dkjazz

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Yeah, mine too, worked fine last night after the upgrade, I hope it will stay the same  :-\

December 04, 2009, 01:10:59 AM
Reply #19

Suggestologist

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 69
I upgraded without issue.

There does seem to be a difference in the way USB1 and USB2 are presented now. They are not in a menu but in an Up/Down thing after you click "local drives". USB Hubs still not supported.

December 04, 2009, 02:03:17 AM
Reply #20

loomic

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
Yeah, someone posted a picture they had taken of the screen they get.

That's scary.

Now I'm thankful nothing bad happened here - but do i dare update in the future??

I wonder why it worked for some, but not for all... Different file server mirrors? Its corrupt in on place? Pal/Ntsc difference? Oh well.




Same here, updated via inet, and a lot of people reporting the same problem ...
Very good work WD, brick after firmware upgrade. I`m very dissapointed, cause the firmware is still online ...

loomic






December 04, 2009, 02:09:53 AM
Reply #21

jjptbrooks

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Yep, you guessed it...Another Bricked WD TV Live in the wall"
 

**bleep**!


WD, there are lots of new options out there right now.  This is a bad time to have a major QA breakdown.  There is a reason why we in the IT world freeze dev during the Holidays.


I did my update through a wired connection and had my external HD connected and powered on.  The update indicated it had complete and then hung up on the WD splash screen for over an hour.  When I recycled power, I got the "new" WD screen of death.

December 04, 2009, 02:17:46 AM
Reply #22

pioldie

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Yesterday when i power up the WDTV2, there was a message about the new firmware. I ok'd it. The firmware download was completed and it restarted by itself. After about 20 mins it has not come back up and all I can see is the WD logo. I tried to power it down but it did not do anything. So I unplug the power and plug it back. When it came back it says I need to plug a USB drive with firmware and install it manually. I downloaded the new firmware and plug it to the USB port, nothing happened. Looks like it is dead, I can't ower it down. The only way is pulling the power plug. What is the best way to resolve this I need help, thanks.

December 04, 2009, 02:38:57 AM
Reply #23

pege63

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Connect you USB HDD to you PC
Download your FW to your HDD root
Coonect it back to your WDTV LIVE
BOOT, now you should get life in your WD TV
uppgrade as usual
Done this sevral time my self both on my WDTV and also on LIVE version so it works

December 04, 2009, 02:58:33 AM
Reply #24

Sparxxx

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Yeah, someone posted a picture they had taken of the screen they get.

That's scary.

Now I'm thankful nothing bad happened here - but do i dare update in the future??

I wonder why it worked for some, but not for all... Different file server mirrors? Its corrupt in on place? Pal/Ntsc difference? Oh well.



Updated and got the same error... what the f... am I supposed to do now?
I already inserted a USB stick with the firmware but nothing happens...

December 04, 2009, 03:22:42 AM
Reply #25

Sparxxx

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Bricked mine too...
Just updated to 1.0.12 and it's bricked now.
thank you very much WD!
Btw... I attached a usb stick with the firmware on it but nothing happens.
Does anybody have a solution yet?

December 04, 2009, 03:31:41 AM
Reply #26

mrbill

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 128
Mine did OK. Has anyone with bricked tried to revert to old firmware?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2009, 03:41:32 AM by mrbill »
Running Win 7 Ultimate 64 and no problems anywhere.

December 04, 2009, 03:43:04 AM
Reply #27

Sparxxx

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Mine did OK. Did any of you try to revert to old firmware?
give me a download link for 1.01.11 and I will try... but I'm sure it won't work.

December 04, 2009, 03:51:40 AM
Reply #28

KSTNOS

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
mine is also bricked after the update :'(

December 04, 2009, 03:51:51 AM
Reply #29

mrbill

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 128
Mine did OK. Did any of you try to revert to old firmware?
give me a download link for 1.01.11 and I will try... but I'm sure it won't work.

I always save the latest ver to my hd. Then it's easy to find.

Not at home now, Googled and came up with:

http://drivers.softpedia.com/progDownload/Western-Digital-WD-TV-Live-Firmware-10111-Download-87316.html

Don't forget to changes ver to higher #.

Good luck.
Running Win 7 Ultimate 64 and no problems anywhere.