Author Topic: BUG v1.01.11 - HDMI->DVI stuck on 480p  (Read 16297 times)

February 21, 2010, 09:36:44 AM
Reply #45

FALK

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
No need. The EDID is from the TV/monitor, not the WDTV itself. It tells us what resolutions and refresh rates your display supports, so that we can figure out what's going wrong in the HDMI handshaking process.

Response from dmaosd with 1920x1200 16:10 monitor connected with a hdmi->dvi converter:
Code: [Select]
[hdmi_loop.c:352] [HDMI] EDID with 1 blocks parsed, supporting:
       DVI, RGB only, 24 bit color, no 3D.
       DTD 1920x1200p59.95 519:324 - Preferred <-- Only supported resolution reported by EDID

  HH  HH  HHHHH   HH   HH  HHHH      HHHH   HH   HH
  HH  HH  HH  HH  HHH HHH   HH      HH  HH  HHH  HH
  HHHHHH  HH  HH  HH H HH   HH      HH  HH  HH H HH
  HH  HH  HH  HH  HH   HH   HH      HH  HH  HH  HHH
  HH  HH  HHHHH   HH   HH  HHHH      HHHH   HH   HH

Display is DVI
[hdmi_edid.c:913]   [EDID VIDEO MODE SELECTION]  Matching 1920x1080i59, 16:9
[hdmi_edid.c:526] [HDMI] EDID: matching mode with v=60/1.001, w=1920, h=1080, i=1, x=16, y=9 <-- Trying to match EDID with 1920x1080
[hdmi_edid.c:312] Failed to get TVStandard from DTD, and use of TVFormat was not permitted! <-- No match found and not TVFormats reported
  No best mode, using VIC 3 (720x480p 59.94/60Hz (4:3)), HDMI_480p59, 4:3 <-- Fall back to 480p
As said before, I think the problem is the wd tv live matches against the highest common TVFormat resolution found in the EDID,
which on 16:10 displays fail or when EDID is not reported, is VIC 3 (720x480p 59.94/60Hz (4:3)). See above with comments.

When connected with the same cable to a 16:9 monitor it outputs 1080i/p correctly.

Could you somehow force the unit to output a, in settings, choosen resolution and let the display to try scale? I think the old
unit behaved this way, but I am not sure as I do not have it.

March 02, 2010, 10:42:08 AM
Reply #46

bod

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4

March 10, 2010, 01:38:50 PM
Reply #47

FALK

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 25
Bought a dell 16:9 monitor: 1080p works perfectly. Will post log later.

March 11, 2010, 08:29:43 AM
Reply #48

Hobster

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
Luckily I HAVE FOUND a fix for me to the problem of being stuck to 480p.  It might not fit you though but this is something you might want to check.  I was fiddling with my TV's video settings (5 ayer old LCD Sharp AQUOS 32") .  Interestingly there was a lot of options for the "PC" connector (DVI in reality).  It was originally set to "PC digital" which caused to default to 480p.  But I could also configure it to "AV Digital" and "AV Analog".  Setting it to "AV Digital" I could set the TV up to 1080i !!! (1080P is not supportd by the TV).  The image quality is just great now.

 
So if you are as as desperate as I was, go through all your TV's config options before throwing the towel.


March 25, 2010, 07:42:28 AM
Reply #49

silvereyes

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
any updates about possible fix? 
GuyWD have you heard anything?

March 27, 2010, 05:34:32 AM
Reply #50

gogetas

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
I tried fw prerelease 1.02.19, no changes  :-\

March 28, 2010, 11:33:13 PM
Reply #51

enko2974

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 3
the same problem here stuck at 720X480 resolution,whatever i do no change is stuck.I have wdtv live and hp monitor with 1920x1200 resolution,i'm using HDMI to DVI cable,when i was using DVI to DVI from my computer the resolution was changing.
Please help to fix this problem or i buy wdtv live for nothing.

March 31, 2010, 09:24:44 PM
Reply #52

silvereyes

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
New Release 1.02.21 firmware does NOT fix the problem!!!!!!!!!

April 09, 2010, 03:40:18 AM
Reply #53

gogetas

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
New Release 1.02.21 firmware does NOT fix the problem!!!!!!!!!

Me too  >:(

April 17, 2010, 06:52:21 AM
Reply #54

stromrickard

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 11
Sorry for the delay in posting the EDID earlier mentioned.

Here is what the EDID looks like in the TV (i copied edid.bin from the USB-drive and opened it in moninfo) and as earlier stated the EDID supports both 1280x720@50Hz and 1280x720@60Hz:
Monitor
  Model name............... DENON-AVAMP
  Manufacturer............. Denon
  Plug and Play ID......... DON0016
  Serial number............ n/a
  Manufacture date......... 2009, ISO week 0
  -------------------------
  EDID revision............ 1.3
  Input signal type........ Digital
  Color bit depth.......... Undefined
  Display type............. RGB color
  Screen size.............. 880 x 490 mm (39,7 in)
  Power management......... Standby, Suspend, Active off/sleep
  Extension blocs.......... 1 (CEA-EXT)
  -------------------------
  DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
  Default color space...... Non-sRGB
  Display gamma............ 2,07
  Red chromaticity......... Rx 0,625 - Ry 0,340
  Green chromaticity....... Gx 0,280 - Gy 0,595
  Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0,150 - By 0,063
  White point (default).... Wx 0,270 - Wy 0,270
  Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
  Range limits............. Not available
  GTF standard............. Not supported
  Additional descriptors... None
  Preferred timing......... Yes
  Native/preferred timing.. 1366x768p at 60Hz (16:9)
    Modeline............... "1366x768" 162,000 1366 1430 1622 2160 768 769 772 1250 +hsync +vsync
 Detailed timing #1....... 1280x720p at 50Hz (16:9)
    Modeline............... "1280x720" 61,900 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 726 744 -hsync +vsync

  Detailed timing #2....... 1024x768p at 60Hz (16:9)
    Modeline............... "1024x768" 65,000 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync +vsync

Standard timings supported
     720 x  400p at  70Hz - IBM VGA
     640 x  480p at  60Hz - IBM VGA
     640 x  480p at  67Hz - Apple Mac II
     640 x  480p at  72Hz - VESA
     640 x  480p at  75Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  56Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  60Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  72Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  75Hz - VESA
     832 x  624p at  75Hz - Apple Mac II
    1024 x  768p at  60Hz - VESA
    1024 x  768p at  70Hz - VESA
    1024 x  768p at  75Hz - VESA
     640 x  480p at  60Hz - VESA STD
     800 x  600p at  60Hz - VESA STD
    1024 x  768p at  60Hz - VESA STD
   1280 x  720p at  60Hz - VESA STD
    1280 x 1024p at  60Hz - VESA STD
    1600 x 1200p at  60Hz - VESA STD

EIA/CEA-861 Information
  Revision number.......... 3
  DTV underscan............ Not supported
  Basic audio.............. Supported
  YCbCr 4:4:4.............. Not supported
  YCbCr 4:2:2.............. Not supported
  Native formats........... 0

CE audio data (formats supported)
  LPCM    8-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
  DTS     6-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48/88/96 kHz
  AC-3    6-channel,  640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
  DTS-HD  8-channel, 16-bit              at 44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
  DD+     8-channel                      at 44/48 kHz
  DVD-A   6-channel                      at 44/48/88/96/176/192 kHz
  DVD-A   8-channel                      at 44/48/88/96 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
  Channel configuration.... 7.1
  Front left/right......... Yes
  Front LFE................ Yes
  Front center............. Yes
  Rear left/right.......... Yes
  Rear center.............. Yes
  Front left/right center.. No
  Rear left/right center... Yes
  Rear LFE................. No

CE vendor specific data (VSDB)
  IEEE registration number. 0x000C03
  CEC physical address..... 0.3.0.0
  Supports AI (ACP, ISRC).. Yes
  Supports 48bpp........... No
  Supports 36bpp........... No
  Supports 30bpp........... No
  Supports YCbCr 4:4:4..... No
  Supports dual-link DVI... No
  Maximum TMDS clock....... 165MHz

Report information
  Date generated........... 2010-04-17
  Software revision........ 2.30.0.797
  Operating system......... 6.1.7600.2

Raw data
  00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,11,EE,16,00,01,01,01,01,00,13,01,03,80,58,31,6B,EA,0D,90,A0,57,47,98,26,
  10,45,45,BF,EE,00,31,40,45,40,61,40,81,C0,81,80,A9,40,01,01,01,01,48,3F,56,1A,53,00,E2,31,40,C0,
  13,00,B9,88,21,00,00,1E,2E,18,00,80,51,D0,18,20,38,88,15,00,B9,88,21,00,00,1C,64,19,00,40,41,00,
  26,30,18,88,36,00,B9,88,21,00,00,1C,00,00,00,FC,00,44,45,4E,4F,4E,2D,41,56,41,4D,50,0A,20,01,8B,
  02,03,25,40,35,0F,7F,07,3D,1E,C0,15,07,50,5F,7E,01,57,06,00,65,7E,00,67,1E,00,83,5F,00,00,66,03,
  0C,00,30,00,80,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,9B

Edit: Highlighted relevant parts of supported resolutions.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2010, 12:53:10 PM by stromrickard »

April 17, 2010, 11:42:47 AM
Reply #55

silvereyes

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
This issue has been brought up by users like us for the longest time and has yet to be addressed by WD.  I love this little device, this is the only issue that I need fixed.  I'm surprised how much info we've provided WD and yet they don't care to fix this problem.  If you guys can get a hold of 1st gen wdtv, get it, it doesn't have this bug at all. 

May 03, 2010, 05:59:37 AM
Reply #56

silvereyes

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
maybe hope
There is discussion of this topic here:
http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=311
This is the modified fw forum. 
I suggest you voice your problem there, since WD will never address this problem.
That might be our only hope.

May 12, 2010, 05:50:17 PM
Reply #57

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45
Success ! Got it working now. Damn, this should have been a no-brainer but has costed me WAY more time than I had planned.

How to use: Boot from USB using the EXT3 from b-rad: http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewforum.php?f=10, unzip this file: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DNBSADAP , ftp to your WDTVLive and overwrite the original file in /lib. After you've overwritten it, it should reboot automatically and you'll be on 720p. Alternatively, you could add this to a FW image, so you can just flash it to the internal flash (and dont need USB anymore).

Tested it on my own DVI-D connector, works like a charm.

I suggest you voice your problem there, since WD will never address this problem.
That might be our only hope.

At your service,

TS
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 07:09:50 PM by thespecialist »

May 14, 2010, 08:31:59 AM
Reply #58

bod

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
Success ! Got it working now. Damn, this should have been a no-brainer but has costed me WAY more time than I had planned.

How to use: Boot from USB using the EXT3 from b-rad: http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewforum.php?f=10, unzip this file: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DNBSADAP , ftp to your WDTVLive and overwrite the original file in /lib. After you've overwritten it, it should reboot automatically and you'll be on 720p. Alternatively, you could add this to a FW image, so you can just flash it to the internal flash (and dont need USB anymore).

Tested it on my own DVI-D connector, works like a charm.

I suggest you voice your problem there, since WD will never address this problem.
That might be our only hope.

At your service,

TS


Does this mean we can get it to output 1080 as well?

May 14, 2010, 04:12:31 PM
Reply #59

thespecialist

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 45