Author Topic: Bug: 1.03.01 Audio and Subtitles issues  (Read 3672 times)

November 27, 2009, 03:27:07 AM
Read 3672 times

Ruca

Hello everybody,

I'm a newbie to WD TV forum.
I don't know if I'm placing this topic on the right place, but here it goes…
I've acquired a new WD TV 3 months ago, and everything was working fine until I’ve try to read some MKV files. Some of these MKV files work fine but others don’t have any kind of audio support.
On the setup, I’ve the audio configuration set to digital, but no sound when playing the file. This situation is identically to some MP4 files which also don’t have any sound at all.
There’s also an issue which happens with subtitles with the extension .sub. No subtitles appear at all. But working fine with .srt subtitles.
I’ve the latest version of the firmware installed (1.03.01).
The most funny thing about this is that, yesterday I’ve tested the same files with a brand new O!Play from ASUStek, just coming out of the box, no firmware update, the same television, and guess what…
Everything worked perfectly without even to update the firmware to the newest version.
My question is, if the people from WD are planning to release a new version of the firmware which can help me to solve some of this issues?

Thank you once again.

Best regards,

PS – I’m very happy with WD TV functionalities and I’m sure that people from WD will cover these issues in a blink of an eye.

November 27, 2009, 04:47:32 AM
Reply #1

Ron[NL]

• WDTV Movie Sheet Generator
Regarding the sound issue : have you checked the files that play no sound (through your TV ??) with mediainfo ? http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en
If not, please do so. If the audio stream of the files is a DTS stream, please search the forum. Topic is covered dozens of time.

Regarding the subtitle issue: are you using internal *.sub or external ? Please try both. I don't use *.sub so never experienced your problem.

According to :