Author Topic: what's compatible or not?  (Read 1532 times)

November 21, 2009, 05:32:15 AM
Read 1532 times

alexade

Hello all,

I have recently got a WD TVHD - and finally after a lot of messing around find that my Buffalo Linkstation Live is not compatible via USB. I have to say that given all the info about it, there is NOTHING on the WD page for the product that says you need to find a compatible hard drive.. in fact is says work " play content from most popular USB dives " - i think that is misrepresentation as there are only 5 non WD drives listed! Anyhow rant over!

Thanks to another thread I fund I could use rad's custom firmware to network share - but I am not technically efficient enough to be able to attempt this

SO 

Could anyone tell me if my next suggested combination is likely to work - or am I just going to have to send everything back and buy a  WD TC Live AND a WD drive? (I bought the Linkstation coz it has a bit torrent client built in apart from anything else) -

WD TV Live
Buffalo Linkstation Live (LS CH 1TL)
A 5 port ethernet switch (brand OLITECH   !)

I have read all the posts about networking problems - hope all THOSE get sorted out with the next firmware update - this thing should be easy to use not be baffling people who build networks for a living!!

Thanks in advance - i really hope it will all work as if it does it should be the best solution around at the moment...

Alex

November 23, 2009, 04:18:43 AM
Reply #1

mrbill

Hello all,

I have recently got a WD TVHD - and finally after a lot of messing around find that my Buffalo Linkstation Live is not compatible via USB. I have to say that given all the info about it, there is NOTHING on the WD page for the product that says you need to find a compatible hard drive.. in fact is says work " play content from most popular USB dives " - i think that is misrepresentation as there are only 5 non WD drives listed! Anyhow rant over!