Author Topic: Help! What version of WD TV do I have?  (Read 22620 times)

November 17, 2009, 11:15:39 AM
Reply #15

jayallan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1175
    • Jay Allan Photo
So it will have said this for WDTV gen 1

- AAC/Dolby Digital decodes in 2 channel output only.

I thought this was a gen 2 feature as gen 1 did no decoding only output to a decoder.

You are incorrect ;)

First Gen decodes DD and AAC
WDTV LIVE with current official FW > HDMI > DVDO > Sony CRT Projector 150" 16/9 screen.  Toslink audio to Yamaha DTS receiver. No Network set up yet.

November 17, 2009, 12:07:34 PM
Reply #16

mike2k8

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 100
This box could be perfectly the same old WDTV (1st gen) with an updated firmware. That would be great for the current users as it has some of the most requested updates, and it would be great fot WD too, as the users would trust in them for the future.

It seems however that it is a new hardware, which I consider it's a major mistake from WD.

WD has used the user input (about improving the wdtv firmware) to develop new products. I think that a lot of people will feel cheated, and won't buy WD again. The worse thing is to name a new product like the existing one, ¿to pretend they have improved the old product?
I hope they backport at the very least the file management menus.

HDMI 1.2 can downmix DTS, as other media devices based on the same chipset have proved.
HDMI 1.3 is needed for DTS HD, which is not advertised in the box.

November 17, 2009, 11:52:48 PM
Reply #17

monkey13

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
Thanks for clearing that up jayallen. For some reason I'd got it into my head that there was no decoding in a standard WDTV only the live.

November 18, 2009, 09:04:45 AM
Reply #18

B5Fan

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 182
Dolby Digital and DTS are 2 different things.  That's probably where your confusion is.  Also, decoding just means being able to read the digital information and playing it back.  The same is true for video.  What you are thinking of is downmixing.  This is where it converts a multi-channel audio signal into a 2-channel stereo signal that can be played through a standard 2 speaker setup.  The Gen1 can decode the DTS signal, but since it cannot downmix, it only reads and extracts the multi-channel signal.  That's how it is able to use the optical port.  If it couldn't decode the signal, it wouldn't make it to the port.

November 18, 2009, 10:53:47 AM
Reply #19

mike2k8

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 100
Dolby Digital and DTS are 2 different things.  That's probably where your confusion is.  Also, decoding just means being able to read the digital information and playing it back.  The same is true for video.  What you are thinking of is downmixing.  This is where it converts a multi-channel audio signal into a 2-channel stereo signal that can be played through a standard 2 speaker setup.  The Gen1 can decode the DTS signal, but since it cannot downmix, it only reads and extracts the multi-channel signal.  That's how it is able to use the optical port.  If it couldn't decode the signal, it wouldn't make it to the port.

WDTV 1st Gen. cannot decode DTS and cannot downmix DTS (speaking of the software, as the hardware is capable). What it can do is bypass DTS (through the optical port) to a external decoder (an AV Receiver for example) so that it can decode the signal.

November 18, 2009, 03:51:10 PM
Reply #20

B5Fan

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 182
I meant decode as in being able to extract the audio out of a movie file.  After all, what does a stereo know about MKV, AVI, etc...

The stereo then does its own "decoding" to convert the digital signal to an analog signal.  I really wouldn't call this decoding as it is just splitting the channels and doing a digital to analog conversion.  It;s just semantics I guess.

November 19, 2009, 01:44:11 AM
Reply #21

Mr Lazy

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 408
    • Mr Lazy
The details on the WD website have now been updated to reflect the updated model:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=734
Gen1, ext3-boot, Belkin AX88178 Gigabit adapter, Synology DS109 NAS

How-to setup WD TV with NFS shares

November 19, 2009, 05:38:34 AM
Reply #22

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
any word from scott or guy if the gen2 firmware 1.01.75 (11/18/09)
will work on GEN1
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

November 19, 2009, 07:51:32 AM
Reply #23

piecutter

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 62
It's different hardware, so the firmware is also different. Sorry to bash your dreams.

November 19, 2009, 08:19:46 AM
Reply #24

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

November 27, 2009, 07:52:41 PM
Reply #25

Dr. No

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
I'm guessing that this model hasn't been out long enough to answer this question, but does anyone know if it can pass through Dolby TrueHD and/or DTS-HD?

November 29, 2009, 07:43:41 AM
Reply #26

Scot2009

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
I think that a lot of people will feel cheated, and won't buy WD again. 


I'm one of those early adopters who feels cheated and won't be buying another WD product. 

At the very least, WD should have supported wireless networking for their old product.


January 03, 2010, 04:48:17 PM
Reply #27

dreecnai

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
I'm guessing that this model hasn't been out long enough to answer this question, but does anyone know if it can pass through Dolby TrueHD and/or DTS-HD?

as far as what I know it doesnt. only the core, means DD or DTS