Author Topic: a few newbie questions  (Read 5128 times)

October 30, 2009, 09:41:58 AM
Read 5128 times

s3verian

Hi all,

I've just loaded up B-Rad's .7 WDLXTV-Live firmware and successfully setup NFS to my Win7 box via Hanewin.  I'm new to WDTV, however, and was wondering about a few missing features from the official release.

1) DVD menu support for ISO files. 
From searching the forums, this appears to have been an oft-requested feature, but it appears it's not going to happen due to licensing.  Are there any plans to implement this for WDLXTV-Live or associated programs?  Could VLC, mplayer, etc be leveraged as in XBMC?

2) IMDB support for downloading movie art, summaries, etc. 
This is a great feature in XBMC, but seems to be missing from the older WD TV.  What would be required to implement it in WD TV Live?

3) Additional codec support (WMA HD, etc). 
What's required to add a codec?

Thanks!
Anthony

October 30, 2009, 01:43:26 PM
Reply #1

hackman2007

I can answer the 3rd question, which is no. It's hard to add additional codecs if they aren't already built in.

Regarding number one, I think b-rad said he is slowly working on menu's, but don't count on it, probably extremely tough to do.

October 30, 2009, 02:00:20 PM
Reply #2

b-rad.cc

• Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
From searching the forums, this appears to have been an oft-requested feature, but it appears it's not going to happen due to licensing.  Are there any plans to implement this for WDLXTV-Live or associated programs?  Could VLC, mplayer, etc be leveraged as in XBMC?

as hackman says I am slowly working on this actually. I'm not sure how long it will take as it is a bit complicated and therefore motivation and pace goes slowly. I don't really have any iso's of dvds and don't real plan on going that route either so unfortunately its hard to get off the backburner. Theres too many other things that should be worked on that have higher interest to me. It'll happen sooner or later.