Author Topic: Root.bins of WDTV FW 1.03.x  (Read 66387 times)

October 27, 2009, 11:43:11 PM
Reply #15

NASfan

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 15
Well done dexter!

Just an idea: A new link in the first post of this thread  http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=964.0 seems to be fine  8)

October 28, 2009, 11:20:51 AM
Reply #16

mike2k8

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 100
Well done dexter!

Just an idea: A new link in the first post of this thread  http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=964.0 seems to be fine  8)
I think that the topic of that thread is unrelated. Those root.bins are not ext3-boot updated to the latest official firmwares, like this one. Those are root.bin replacements intended to test official firmwares or wdlxtv firmwares in a ext3-boot enviroment.

That being said, I miss a pinned thread for the ext3-boot root.bin updates, like the one for wdlxtv releases.

October 28, 2009, 11:31:37 AM
Reply #17

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
Totally agree.
jay?   hay jay ;)
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

October 28, 2009, 12:53:05 PM
Reply #18

dexter

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
I have made an automated update of new builds on my machine, so it will be much easier to migrate to new updates, if these patches do not needs updates.

anyways i will try and keep this updated, as much as possible..
Was wondering to look into the wdtvlive builds, but im waiting for the patched cramfsck to open the firmware.. i looked at the cramfsck code, but didnt find a solution yet.


October 28, 2009, 11:30:04 PM
Reply #19

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
I have noticed that list view enhancements of original ext3-boot (wider list showing more characters in a line), as well as artwork, are not included in this release. (It looks like the original WD firmware)

Thanks, i have made an update to it now. with your changes..
except the "cp browser_list_btn.long.png /osd/image"  couldnt locate that i ext3-boot?
 
Please, see this thread
It seems that in the latest ext3-boot by zorander (1.02.07), that image was missing. It was in 1.02.08 updated root.bin by Rezmus, you can also pick one of the two versions posted in that thread.

The image is to highlight the selection in the list view. Since the list is now wider than in the official firmware, the highlight needs to be bigger to cover all the line. If the image is missing, it's difficult to see what it's selected (only the font is a bit higher bigger).

Thanks again for updating this :)

its missing because all of these osd enhancements were made for wdlxtv and it was missed when copied.

October 29, 2009, 02:22:12 AM
Reply #20

mywdtvisgreat

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
Maybe a bit off topic but I tried the WDTVLX, like it but have some problem. My hub is not supported even with the 07 version of this firmware.
Now I would like to know if it is possible with this dexter version of zoranders ext-3 to have the addons like appletrailers on my NTFS formated HDD. Because if this would e working, which is not for WDTVLX, I would not need the usb hub.


October 29, 2009, 03:13:40 PM
Reply #21

dexter

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
i use the latest appletrailerfs beta and it works. but as its a beta, it seems to have problems showing the "skin" with full screen pictures when entering it.
but movies are still playing fine, but it seems the fullscreen menu+skin is only enabled at first startup.

OsdMod does not support latest 1.03.10 skins seems WDTV changed a little in this. maybe reason for appletrainer to fail on second startup?

Webserver addon works, but seems to disable .iso playback functions.

so yes, in general addons and mods should work fine, if made for the WDTV update.

November 01, 2009, 04:41:37 AM
Reply #22

acomp917

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 173
Ext3-boot, 1.03.10fix, TU2-ET100, DNS-323nas-NFS is DISABLED, CIFS only for now. Webserver addon 0.2
Ubuntu/Win, WIFI-Laptop (Ubuntu theme on everything)

November 01, 2009, 06:25:09 AM
Reply #23

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

November 01, 2009, 10:21:42 PM
Reply #24

andy1911

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 31
Thanks for the work on this but could you make a root bin from version 1.02.11 as i need this to stop the MKV sync issues which are back in this release.

November 10, 2009, 09:47:51 AM
Reply #25

delf

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 76
some explanation to install this the proper way over the ext.9.2 root

November 10, 2009, 11:04:21 AM
Reply #26

dexter

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
some explanation to install this the proper way over the ext.9.2 root
it cannot be easier?

remove root.bin from usb stick.
copy this update 1.03.01 root.bin to the usb stick, and you're all set to run the new version.

November 10, 2009, 11:17:43 AM
Reply #27

delf

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 76
some explanation to install this the proper way over the ext.9.2 root
it cannot be easier?

remove root.bin from usb stick.
copy this update 1.03.01 root.bin to the usb stick, and you're all set to run the new version.

i ask becuase all my settings i back themup like netmounts and stuff but when i go to put them back after i do like u say i dont see my mounts cant telnet nor nothing ???

November 10, 2009, 01:34:37 PM
Reply #28

dexter

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
i ask becuase all my settings i back themup like netmounts and stuff but when i go to put them back after i do like u say i dont see my mounts cant telnet nor nothing ???
ive only tested it with a wireless dwl-140 and a ethernet-usb adapter, and i have backed up net.mounts net.config and all works just like expected. only root.bin is replaced.

is your usbstick working fine, any errors detected in fs on windows?
you cannot ping the box ip you expect it to get?
you dont see and USB0 in movie folders?
can you see that your ethernet or wlan is activated?

November 10, 2009, 01:52:25 PM
Reply #29

delf

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 76
i ask becuase all my settings i back themup like netmounts and stuff but when i go to put them back after i do like u say i dont see my mounts cant telnet nor nothing ???
ive only tested it with a wireless dwl-140 and a ethernet-usb adapter, and i have backed up net.mounts net.config and all works just like expected. only root.bin is replaced.

is your usbstick working fine, any errors detected in fs on windows?
you cannot ping the box ip you expect it to get?
you dont see and USB0 in movie folders?
can you see that your ethernet or wlan is activated?

i will do all this but i use a usb lan trendnet i will let u know tomrow thanx for ur help