Author Topic: Just bought a WDTV Live  (Read 3202 times)

October 13, 2009, 02:03:52 PM
Read 3202 times

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
Best Buy had it on their website for $119 which seemed like a really good price.  I'm excited to have DTS decoding, network (built in this time ;) ), and component outputs .  I haven't even read any reviews yet, but I'll be following this post up with a review as soon as it arrives.  I've got ext3-boot with agigabit ethernet card running on my WDTV but the setup is rather ungainly so I thought i'd give this a try.   

Expect a follow up review in a few days. 

October 14, 2009, 12:13:11 PM
Reply #1

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
Best Buy online was backordered so I called and changed it to in-store pickup since my local store had 1 left in stock.

Picked it up this morning and have spent just a little bit of time playing with it. 

some observations.

The unit and the remote are almost identical in form as the former model, with the exception being that the WDTV Live is a dark matte grey instead of the glossy piano black of the old unit, and the remote is a matte black instead of the glossy black. 

The menus seem snappier, it could be just me but seems more responsive. 

Relatively the same interface, with the exception of the video preview function. 

Right now the box only sees three of my network shares.   I have tried re-creating the shares and restarting both my computer and the box but it still refuses to see anything but the three shares. 

The networking on this thing is more cumbersome than the networking on the original box using a usb gigabit ethernet adapter and ext3-boot.   W/ ext3-boot here's how I went to a network video.
Home > Video > HD1 > list of all my shared folders. 

With the WDTV Live, here's roughly how it goes.
Home > Video > Down 1 to Network Shares > down down and over past the user name and password fields to the submit button (It can't just remember the creds and auto-submit?) and then it takes you to a list of your shares (or in my case, only three of the shares.)

Preview mode is nice, but I ended up going back to simple list mode. 

That's about as far as I've gotten it so far, will keep messing with things and report back as I find more worth talking about.

October 14, 2009, 12:26:35 PM
Reply #2

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
can you telnet or ssh into the thing
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

October 14, 2009, 01:31:54 PM
Reply #3

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
not sure, haven't tried it yet. 

I'm going backwards here instead of forwards on the networking front.  At first it would only show three of my shares but no more.   THen I went through and followed the windows 7 instructions to the LETTER, rebooted everything, and now when I press the button to take it into network shares, it just doesn't do anything.  Doesn't take me to a page saying "nothing found" or anything, just won't go in at all.   Almost frustrating enough to go back to using my old box which worked perfectly except for the DTS decoding which was the key feature I wanted this for. 

October 14, 2009, 01:41:12 PM
Reply #4

Fishbowls

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 371
perhaps revert the LIVE to its original state
and start again
is there a reset pinhole?
end-users wiki http://wdtv.wetpaint.com
Custom Firmware wiki http://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php
mediainfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net
start here http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1088.msg7613#ms
wdtv+ext3-boot-9.2+sabrent gbit adapter+
rss/weather+disco-webserver. this thing is cool eh.

October 14, 2009, 01:59:13 PM
Reply #5

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
Actually I restarted both the live and the PC sharing the content a couple of times and it all came together. 

They're all showing up now, not sure what my problem was. 

some more quick observations.   It seems like maybe MKV's fast forward and rewind smoother than they used to on the old box.  I need to test some more but it sure seemed to be less cumbersome in FF/RW.

And there is a place to let it auto-submit the network creds when you're going into the network shares.    So that's a good thing.  It still takes longer and is just a bit more cumbersome navigating than the old one because you still have to click down to network shares, then click the PC name, then wait while it connects.   Before i had them mapped right in.   

Have they published a list of compatible network dongles yet?  There are functions for setting up your favorite wifi networks in the settings area.   


October 14, 2009, 02:25:06 PM
Reply #6

Stinkpickle

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 30

Have they published a list of compatible network dongles yet?  There are functions for setting up your favorite wifi networks in the settings area.   



Quote from: ScottWD
Here are the USB Adapters that we've tested: Ralink based

Manufacturer Model # Device Name
Belkin F5D8055 N1 Wireless USB adapter
Belkin F5D8051 N1 Wireless USB adapter
Buffalo WLI-UC-G300HP Wireless N compact USB 2.0 Adapter
Buffalo WLI-UC-G300N Wireless N compact USB 2.0 Adapter
Buffalo WLI-UC-GN Mini
D-Link DWA-140 Rangebooster N USB Adapter
EnGenius EUB-9701 Wireless N adapter
Linksys WUSB100 Rangeplus wireless network usb adapter
Linksys WUSB600N Wireless-N USB network adapter with dual-band
Trendnet TEW-644UB Wireless N USB adapter
Trendnet TEW-645UB Wireless N USB adapter
Trendnet TEW-664UB 300Mbps Dual Band WirelessN USB Adapter
Sitecom WL-329 Wireless Dualband USB Adapter

October 14, 2009, 07:15:35 PM
Reply #7

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
NICE!

If it allows wireless N maybe I should finally upgrade to a wireless N router.   right now I'm using a WRT54G router and another WRT54G in bridge mode to plug into my wireless network.   I can play 720p files but 1080p get jumpy. 

October 14, 2009, 09:15:59 PM
Reply #8

matt314159

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 140
Actually I just bought two Netgear WNR834B's for less than $60 shipped.  These boxes are DD-WRT friendly so I'm going to set it up just like I have it now with my WRT54G's, but with the increased throuput that N will hopefully bring.  I liked having a network bridge in that corner of the room because our DVR also uses the internet, so I decided to just swap out my G DD-WRT Router/Bridge  combo for an "N" DD-WRT Router/Bridge combo.  Maybe with this setup I'll be able to stream 1080p. 

In this case my bottleneck will be the 100mbps ethernet jack on the router (not sure if the live is gigabit or 100mb), but from what I was reading, most N routers don't do more than 50-60mbps throughput anyway despite the advertised theoretical speeds of 300+mbps...