Author Topic: Help/Explaination required - share from wdtv to laptop via nfs/explain apps  (Read 3626 times)

August 12, 2009, 11:48:52 PM
Read 3626 times

tilerone

Hi all,
I'm new to WDTV and the forum, so first off..... great site thanks.
I've been reading up on here and the other WDTV forums plus b-rad.cc blogg etc etc.
I only bought this to play about with as I was sick of users asking me about the WDTV unit on a movie site I'm admin at, but now I've found a use for it by letting the mrs use it and keeping her off my main media network. BONUS :D

I'm a linux and WDTV n00b.This is what I've done so far:

*Installed WDLXTV firmware  V0.5.6.1
*Addon's installed:
samba
 nfs
pureftp
wireless mod
event-osd
Optware
webserver
webserver addons
eiri.app
*Added 4 port USB hub.
*Networked using Dlinks D140 wireless usb adapter :D

320G passport drive attached to WDTV USB 1
Wireless adapter and 4G usb flash drive attached to USB 2 via USB hub
Passport drive is mapped on my laptop running windows 7.
I can access the files on my WDTV unit either through FTP or through windows explorer.

Apologies if the answers to my questions are already on the forum somewhere, but here goes.....

1) OK so I've heard NFS is a faster way to stream files. What I'm after is to mount (I think the word is) the passport drive which is contected to the WDTV  using NFS, so my mrs laptop which is running windows 7 can stream music files to itunes installed on it. I've read how to get wdtv to see nfs shares on windows but i want it the other way windows 7 to see the nfs shares on the passport drive attached to the WDTV unit. HELP.
I'm after an idiot guide please to do the above, as using samba is freezing up the connection when i try to import the LARGE music lib intro itunes (200G). (think I'll have to import it bit by bit anyway as itunes sucks when ready large lib's)