Author Topic: Newbie Needing help  (Read 2107 times)

April 17, 2011, 12:27:14 PM
Read 2107 times

skweezer

Hi everyone, I just bought a WDTV. The only reason i bought this over other media players was becuase it seems to have really good community support.

I did some research and know that i want to install WDlxTV, And i want to have movie sheets and movie info and all that stuff.

The part im wanting help with is that there are few different softwares out which apparenlt do the same thing. Theres TViXiE, thumbGen. and a few others i think..

From what ive read, i think ThumbGen is the one to use. Although im not sure :S
And i have downloaded a template pack for it, but there are loads of different templates in it. STD, sheet, wall and stuff. So when im using this app. Do i generate all of these of just one ?

Please bear with me as im new to this, although im not a complete noob when it comes to computers and stuff. So shouldn't be to difficult to explain.

Thanks

April 17, 2011, 01:12:55 PM
Reply #1

AyDee

WDlxTV will just allow you to load apps and use dvd drives.To show movie sheets you'll need an app. Msheet is the preferred app and there are mods of it made to show sheets in different ways.

So first install WDlxTV then delete it from your thumb drive and place msheet or an msheet mod (like http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=5075.0) on the thumb drive and have it in the WDTV at boot. There are several msheet mods around and the original is good as well.

For sheets I like Thumbgen and which sheets you use depend on which msheet you use and how it's configured.

Here's a guide that explains some of the basics: http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=3697.0
It's a bit old now but still applies and gives a good idea how things work. Our community has really died down but there's plenty of good stuff here for the 1st-timer.

Hope that helps. If you have more questions ask here or in the appropriate thread.

April 17, 2011, 02:10:40 PM
Reply #2