Author Topic: Subtitles out of sync  (Read 18668 times)

November 13, 2009, 08:40:01 AM
Reply #15

autoken

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1

As for me, I use the online "SRT Time shifter" found at http://www.effe-elle.it/srt/srtshifter.aspx

This online tool open the SRT file, shift the timing, then you can copy and paste the new timing to re-save the SRT file.

Works for me :)

November 19, 2009, 06:09:45 AM
Reply #16

AGA

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
Could be pls be more specific how you did it.
Presume you download "Subtitle Workshop 4 BETA 4" but how you proceed further.

It's really annoying to have some many ripped BR to mkv w/out being able to syncho the subtitles.
Waiting your news.

Thanks.

December 28, 2009, 07:40:02 AM
Reply #17

Pangadaywalker

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 349
I work with Subtitle Workshop 2.5 actually. I think it is better then Beta 4.

Like I said, if the entire movie is out 5 seconds. Select all subtitle using Ctrl-A and then use Ctrl-Shift-N or H to move backwards or fowards.

This will synch as a bulk.

If the entire movie goes unsynch more and more, then you have a different FPS in the movie and the SRT. For example. The movie is 23,97 and the srt is 25.

Then you need to go in the left corner where you have 2 boxes. Tell SW that you input a SRT with 25 and want to come out as 23,97. This will recalculate the entire subtitle.

Check the first speach to see if matches the SRT with the movie. And that is it.

Cheers.
My set:

January 05, 2010, 09:45:32 PM
Reply #18

mondiaal

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
But how do i find out about the fps of the srt file i downloaded when it's not mentioned at the site i got it from.

So the input part of this i mean.

January 06, 2010, 05:17:56 AM
Reply #19

Pangadaywalker

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 349
You only have 3.

23,97 or 25 or 29,97.

You will have to guess unfortunately.

I never seen SRT made for 720p and 1080p be different of 23,97.

So you can start from there.

Cheers.
My set:

January 06, 2010, 06:47:50 PM
Reply #20

mondiaal

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
thanks. I also tried mkvmerge but this doesn't automatically sync the subs. Am i correct or am i doing something wrong.

January 07, 2010, 03:18:31 AM
Reply #21

Pangadaywalker

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 349
Wrong. Sorry.  :-[

MKVMerge will only create a new container with the files you provide.

The SRT must be already synched.  ;D
My set:

January 08, 2010, 06:04:49 AM
Reply #22

mondiaal

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
So if the subs are already in sync why should i use this program(mkvmerge) then? My mediaplayer puts them together.So there's no need in using this program i would say.

January 08, 2010, 06:08:49 AM
Reply #23

Pangadaywalker

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 349
You can leave the srt either inside or outside the container.

I like to put inside. There is less files to be read by the WDTV.

Also there is a known issue with 1080p and outside SRT.

So each cases depends.

Cheers.
My set:

January 10, 2010, 03:27:30 AM
Reply #24

mondiaal

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6