Author Topic: MeGUI  (Read 7459 times)

April 08, 2009, 06:32:49 AM
Read 7459 times

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
I'm a noob to MeGUI and have recently been trying to rencode some mkvs to play on the WDTV but am having several errors with some files. I have successfully completed one movie but now I cannot get any others to work without errors. Can someone please make a tutorial for setting up MeGUI and encoding or link me to a good one I can follow?

Reason I am doing this is some of the MKVs are not playing well on the WDTV. I figure the best way to do it is to just rencode the video and be done with it but it's frustrating when I get an error after several hours into the encoding process. :(

tia

April 08, 2009, 07:32:48 AM
Reply #1

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
Did you try Avidemux or MediaCoder programs I know its not MEgui but this should be less painfull way reencove and mux movie to MKV format

April 08, 2009, 08:06:09 AM
Reply #2

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
Did you try Avidemux or MediaCoder programs I know its not MEgui but this should be less painfull way reencove and mux movie to MKV format


no, i haven't tried those. i assume these are easier to use? do i just need one or the other or both? I'll try it out tonight. megui is driving me up the wall since i've been messing with it for that last week.


please feel free to shoot me any other suggestions. i'll tyr anything at this point.
thanks,

April 08, 2009, 11:06:46 AM
Reply #3

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
Avidemux - is standalone application like many others using same backend like mencoder+gui=MeGui
you need only install Avidemux from http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/download.html

If you preffere simple tools try "Handbrake" also freeware tool using x264 encoder

-----------------------------------

for avidemux you only need set Audio codec x264 or xvid for example
single pass quantitizer 18 = good quality or higher value 22=still good,23,24,25,26=less quality
or average bitrate from 900-1800kbit depends on your preferencies
for plazma or bigger TV devices use bigger bittrates for SD CRT or PC LCD is mostly enought 900-1200kbit good


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
mediacoder(mediacoder.sourceforge.net/) is little bit complicated for newbies many tabs but is also only frontend
for command lines encoders (ffpmeg or mencoder or others) this package is also installing all what you need

April 08, 2009, 11:14:20 AM
Reply #4

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
Avidemux - is standalone application like many others using same backend like mencoder+gui=MeGui
you need only install Avidemux from http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/download.html

If you preffere simple tools try "Handbrake" also freeware tool using x264 encoder

-----------------------------------

for avidemux you only need set Audio codec x264 or xvid for example
single pass quantitizer 18 = good quality or higher value 22=still good,23,24,25,26=less quality
or average bitrate from 900-1800kbit depends on your preferencies
for plazma or bigger TV devices use bigger bittrates for SD CRT or PC LCD is mostly enought 900-1200kbit good


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
mediacoder(mediacoder.sourceforge.net/) is little bit complicated for newbies many tabs but is also only frontend
for command lines encoders (ffpmeg or mencoder or others) this package is also installing all what you need

Thanks i think avidemux sounds like it would work for me. i'm hooked up to a 52" lcd. what settings do you recommend. movies are 1080p and i'm trying to obtain best quality possible.

April 08, 2009, 01:32:07 PM
Reply #5

jayallan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1175
    • Jay Allan Photo
Where people run into trouble with MeGUI is in the x264 configuration dialog box where you set up the profile.  Use the 4.1 High profile.

Make sure you do not use too many referencing frames.

Here is a guide to the max ref frames allowed by size.  This was compiled by Shizzzon.

x-2048:Y-1024@3rf
x-1920:Y-800-832@6rf\848-992@5rf\1008-1080@4rf
x-1440:Y-800-832@8rf\848-944@7rf\960-1080@7rf
x-1280:Y-576or lower@16rf\592-608@15rf\624-640@14rf\656-704@13rf\720-736@12rf

If you exceed the max number of ref frames you will get stuttering and lock ups.   
This is most likely your problem.  Especially if you are doing 1080p conversions.
WDTV LIVE with current official FW > HDMI > DVDO > Sony CRT Projector 150" 16/9 screen.  Toslink audio to Yamaha DTS receiver. No Network set up yet.

April 08, 2009, 03:27:18 PM
Reply #6

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
heres an example of a movie i was working with. the picture is all pixalated and does not play well on the wdtv. for some reason i cannot even obtain the avs script due to an error that shuts down megui. can you please advise on a setting for this?

Format                           : Matroska
File size                        : 12.3 GiB
Duration                         : 2h 23mn
Overall bit rate                 : 12.3 Mbps
Movie name                       : Transformers (2007)
Encoded date                     : UTC 2008-09-18 20:25:36
Writing application              : mkvmerge v2.0.2 ('You're My Flame') built on Feb 21 2007 23:40:55
Writing library                  : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.1
Cover                            : Yes / Yes / Yes

Video
ID                               : 1
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames        : 12 frames
Muxing mode                      : Container profile=Unknown@5.1
Codec ID                         : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration                         : 2h 23mn
Bit rate                         : 10.2 Mbps
Nominal bit rate                 : 10.7 Mbps
Width                            : 1 920 pixels
Height                           : 800 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 2.400
Frame rate                       : 23.976 fps
Resolution                       : 24 bits
Colorimetry                      : 4:2:0
Scan type                        : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.277
Writing library                  : x264 core 60 r877M c74a8e2
Encoding settings                : cabac=1 / ref=12 / deblock=1:-3:-3 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / me-prepass=0 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=50 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=2 / deadzone=8,8 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=6 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / fgo=9 / bframes=16 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=10721 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=1.00 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.16 / aq=2:0.80
Language                         : English

April 08, 2009, 03:29:06 PM
Reply #7

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
Where people run into trouble with MeGUI is in the x264 configuration dialog box where you set up the profile.  Use the 4.1 High profile.

Make sure you do not use too many referencing frames.

Here is a guide to the max ref frames allowed by size.  This was compiled by Shizzzon.

x-2048:Y-1024@3rf
x-1920:Y-800-832@6rf\848-992@5rf\1008-1080@4rf
x-1440:Y-800-832@8rf\848-944@7rf\960-1080@7rf
x-1280:Y-576or lower@16rf\592-608@15rf\624-640@14rf\656-704@13rf\720-736@12rf

If you exceed the max number of ref frames you will get stuttering and lock ups.   
This is most likely your problem.  Especially if you are doing 1080p conversions.


btw i saw your thread in this forum and aplied the same settings 4.1 etc but still am getting an error can you please post all settings you would use? thanks alot!

April 09, 2009, 01:37:17 PM
Reply #8

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
Format profile                   : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames        : 12 frames


use profile 4.1 or 4.0 set ascpect ratio as source
set no crop or no resize (size like source)

use maximum reframes 4-6
B-frames -3 max

encode only piece of movie try high motion scenes 1-2minutes
and check when is ok try whole movie

April 10, 2009, 06:28:07 AM
Reply #9

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
thanks for the help guys, but i went back and uninstalled megui and all backend apps and then installed them again. no problems so far and Ive done three movies so far that have turned out great.

i am not sure what the hiccup was but it seems to be cured now. this usually works everytime for me with most apps that start acting up.

April 22, 2009, 08:41:01 AM
Reply #10

frequency

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
new issue:

almost everytime i reencode a movie it crops out the black bars of the 16:9 aspect and this skews the picture strecthing it. I choose clever anamorphic and resize to mod16 for the avisynth script and do not crop. can someone let me know why this is happening?

April 29, 2009, 11:31:18 AM
Reply #11

jayallan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1175
    • Jay Allan Photo
I don't have a good answer for you on that. Never had any problems with aspect ratio.  Have you had any further luck?
WDTV LIVE with current official FW > HDMI > DVDO > Sony CRT Projector 150" 16/9 screen.  Toslink audio to Yamaha DTS receiver. No Network set up yet.

April 29, 2009, 12:08:41 PM
Reply #12

buzzqw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 21
    • Mpeg4U
new issue:

almost everytime i reencode a movie it crops out the black bars of the 16:9 aspect and this skews the picture strecthing it. I choose clever anamorphic and resize to mod16 for the avisynth script and do not crop. can someone let me know why this is happening?

you can always use the preview of avs to see what happen..

BHH
HDConvertToX, AutoMKV, AutoMen developer
Source: PS3 , HTPC, WDTV
HTPC> Case: Antec Fusion Remote Black , Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H (Nvidia mGPU 9400), Cpu: e8400@3ghz , Scythe Ninja Mini, Ram: 2*2gb@800mhz, Gpu: NVIDIA 9500GT, HD: WD 640gb, OS: Vista 32bit
Ampli: Yamaha 663 , Plasma: TX-P46G10

May 05, 2009, 04:38:47 PM
Reply #13

TerrorByte

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 29
new issue:

almost everytime i reencode a movie it crops out the black bars of the 16:9 aspect and this skews the picture strecthing it. I choose clever anamorphic and resize to mod16 for the avisynth script and do not crop. can someone let me know why this is happening?

What I do is, use the selections in "Crop & Resize" panel, not the "Input" panel. If you are resizing it, resize to 1280x720 with nothing checked, then check "crop", then the "auto crop" button then check "Apply auto Preview". It should give you a message about the original window blah, blah, blah, click the "Re-open original video player" button, then check "Suggest Resolution (mod16). I don't use the "Clever (TM) anamorphic encoding". my "guru" suggested not to.


And here is the MediaInfo for the original...

Code: [Select]
Width                        : 1920 pixels
Height                       : 1080 pixels
Display Aspect ratio         : 16/9
Frame rate                   : 23.976 fps

And the finshed sample encode....

Code: [Select]
Width                        : 1280 pixels
Height                       : 544 pixels
Display Aspect ratio         : 2.35
Frame rate                   : 23.976 fps
« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 04:51:36 PM by TerrorByte »