Author Topic: Tried to flash my WDTV with WDLXTV-0.4.2 & now locked up  (Read 38524 times)

May 03, 2009, 05:13:10 PM
Reply #60

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
Hi ,

I was updating firmware with WDTVX and came into the wellknown WD logo freeze situation. No USB activity.

Opened the box (arg..) and connected a serial/TTL cable on CN4.
Pressing '1' during bootprocess I came into the YAMON ROM Monitor.
And yes I managed to make things worse. I probably wrote something wrong at the wrong location of the flasheprom and now it only boots untill it says:

Scanning ROMFS image 0x8c060000 (0x48060000) not found.
And linux is right because eprom locations 0x8c060000 .... are all FF FF .
It should start with -rom1fs- PRIMARY-SYSTEM

#  Is there someone willing to dump the contents of these ROMFS image?

#  Has someone a memorymap of the WDTV?


Thanks,Piet        Only a fool breaks his own box.

:o lol  ;)

mtdblock0 is the entire NAND, so i've not included it

http://rapidshare.com/files/228886047/bootloader
mtdblock1

http://rapidshare.com/files/228887960/kernel
mtdblock2

mtdblock3 is the firmware

mtdblock4 & mtdblock5 are mirrored config

kernel is at offset 0x60000 of the NAND flash

bootloader is loaded in main memory at 0x0000000

kernel is loaded in main memory at 0xC060000

kernel starts with the string you're looking for.

good luck and post your results. I'm not brave enough to venture into yamon on wdtv.

May 11, 2009, 09:52:35 PM
Reply #61

pietstoek

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 8
Hi b-rad.cc and others

B-rad thanks for your help.
The lost data is back in flash again. 
So I'm back to the froozen WDTV logo situation.


# connected serial/TTL to console
# pressed '1'  during boot until YAMON prompt.
# loaded the kernel hex to RAM with a selfmade Windows programm. (sorry!)
# <YAMON> fill -32 0xB0000000 4  0xDDCCBBAA   (4 bytes read from kernel hex file) the bytes are just an example!
# <YAMON> fill -32 0xB0000004 4  0x04030201    (next 4 bytes )
# <YAMON> fill -32 0xB0000008 4  0x08070605    (next 4 bytes )
# repeat until all lost bytes are in 0xB0000000.  ( I've tried other RAM locations but they seem to change sometimes ! )
# This takes 15 minutes at 115200 Baud for 0x20000 bytes.
# Write flash from RAM
# <YAMON> pflash write 0x60000 0xB0000000 0x20000

Now I think that I've got to load the MTDBLOCK3 firmware at a certain RAM / FLASH location.

Do you know where it starts?

The patient is better but still not feeling well. ;D


May 12, 2009, 06:10:38 PM
Reply #62

pietstoek

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 8
Problem with froozen WDTV logo and not loading firmware from USB stick kan be solved!

It is caused by a bad firmware (damaged) in mtd3block.
We can overwrite 4 bytes in RAM and copy these to flash with the YAMON programm.

# You need a serial TTL/RS232 cable.
# During boot press continuesly on '1' to get into YAMON.
# On this RAM location is the ascii string 'okok'. This is a sign that the firmware on flash is ok. ( but it isn't )
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffc 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffd 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffe 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbffff 1 0
# Write it to flash
   YAMON> pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff wille be erased
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff will be written
    Erasing ...
    Writing ...
    Completed.
#  Put stick with WDTV.BIN in USB port.
#  Switch OFF/ON the power.
#  During boot a new firmware is written to flash.


Maybe b-rad can make something that do this automatically when you press the reset button during boot??

June 20, 2009, 06:25:32 AM
Reply #63

ichalex

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 20
ok. i got the same problem. i had b-rads firmware on it, then wanted to try out ext3-boot and after reboot it got stuck at the Logo... i tried a fat16 formatted 2gb stick with fresh original, the ext3-boot, original wit emergency.app and with the log save app... but nothing happened. i plugged the stick in to my pc an nothing changed, no log file, nothing. so i formatted the stick again, put ext3-boot 0.9.2, powered up the WD TV and pluged the stick in. now i am waiting, 3 minutes maybe. the usb stick LED sometimes flashed, and i hoped something happens, but nothing. still the old blue logo.... and im waiting. oh, now it seems the WD TV is doing something (or dying^^) because the Videosignal is gone and the USB stic LED flashes some more..... HELL YES^^ it worked...WOOOHOOO ^^

My advice: BE PATIENT  ;) been at least 5minutes (although my whole noon was ruined with this issue, but its all good at last)


edit: somehow the WD TV crashed, as i scrolled the menu of the ext3-boot, so i am exactly there where i began one hour ago :-D
« Last Edit: June 20, 2009, 07:23:28 AM by ichalex »

June 20, 2009, 08:45:39 AM
Reply #64

ichalex

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 20
so its hours ago that i was able to install the ext3-boot, but then it crashed, and here i am. the LED of the USB Stick flashes once in a while, but still nothing happens althou an hour passed by

June 21, 2009, 03:43:00 AM
Reply #65

ichalex

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 20
still nothing

edit: done! simply used my pentax digital camera with 1GB SD card in it and loaded it with official firmware (note: the camera was one time connected to the WD TV before, so it had the .wd tv folder on the SD card) loaded the firmware instantly and all is fine now
« Last Edit: June 21, 2009, 05:21:20 AM by ichalex »

July 15, 2009, 05:12:36 AM
Reply #66

LaurentG

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 175
Ok, I can be added to people who are frozen on the WD logo. I tried to upgrade to a personalized firmware >:(

Does everybody finally find a solution to flash again a valid firmware ?

Problem with froozen WDTV logo and not loading firmware from USB stick kan be solved!

It is caused by a bad firmware (damaged) in mtd3block.
We can overwrite 4 bytes in RAM and copy these to flash with the YAMON programm.

# You need a serial TTL/RS232 cable.
# During boot press continuesly on '1' to get into YAMON.
# On this RAM location is the ascii string 'okok'. This is a sign that the firmware on flash is ok. ( but it isn't )
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffc 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffd 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffe 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbffff 1 0
# Write it to flash
   YAMON> pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff wille be erased
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff will be written
    Erasing ...
    Writing ...
    Completed.
#  Put stick with WDTV.BIN in USB port.
#  Switch OFF/ON the power.
#  During boot a new firmware is written to flash.


Maybe b-rad can make something that do this automatically when you press the reset button during boot??


Is it the only solution ?
Nothing is possible without a serial cable ?

I am just trying the mergency-flash but not sure that it can help. I will wait at least one hour but nothing seems to happen.
I am probably in the same case as you ("okok" is found in flash memory) but my firmware is corrupted and stop before handling the emergency firmware.

July 15, 2009, 09:33:05 PM
Reply #67

pietstoek

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 8
LaurentG

I asked b-rad some months ago for help. He was interested if I found a solution.
My solution works, but maybe he knows another way the delete the 'okok' bytes in flash.
You can borrow my serial adapter if you live in the Netherlands.

July 16, 2009, 01:02:08 AM
Reply #68

LaurentG

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 175
LaurentG

I asked b-rad some months ago for help. He was interested if I found a solution.
My solution works, but maybe he knows another way the delete the 'okok' bytes in flash.
You can borrow my serial adapter if you live in the Netherlands.


First I am going to return the box to my retailler (warranty). Of course, I will avoid to mention details leading to the current situation :)

August 11, 2009, 08:30:12 AM
Reply #69

TwanB

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
I've got a freeze as well. Tried to install the B-RAD FW now it gets stuck on the WD-logo and after about 30 seconds the screen goes black.
I tried every tip in this thread, nothing worked.. Any more ideas to fix this (except for bringing the machine back to the store)?

October 05, 2009, 09:55:24 PM
Reply #70

veryfrustrated!

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
AVOID SanDisk with U3 installed on it.

Hello Everybody

Today is a good day. After flashing my drive I came up to the dreaded Stuck WD logo screen. I scoured the forums and did most of the recommendations minus hooking up a serial connector to the unit. Finally after a week, I came back to the site and found and post relating to the SanDisk UBS drives. This is what worked for me.

Using the original thumb drive drive that F'd up my WDTV. 2GB Sandisk Cruzer.
-(In Windows Vista)Launch the U3 smart drive and go to the settings section in the menu.
-Select remove U3 launch pad and format.
-Then reformat the drive as FAT.
-Put the wdtv.bin and wdtv.ver files(VERSION='1.02.11.WDLXTV-0.5.7'
LOCATION='wdtv.bin') at root.
-Unplug the WDTV, insert USB drive and power up and.....HELLO!. She came back to life.  ;D :D

Hope this can help someone.


October 17, 2009, 01:16:54 PM
Reply #71

acidice333

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
Update:  Nevermind all fixed :)  I ended up doing a "pflash erase 0xFA0000" and rebooted.. then it was awaiting new firmware ;)

pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
when I run that command, it says...
Error : No Match in TLB for mapped address : Address = 0x08dfa000

What is wrong??

Problem with froozen WDTV logo and not loading firmware from USB stick kan be solved!

It is caused by a bad firmware (damaged) in mtd3block.
We can overwrite 4 bytes in RAM and copy these to flash with the YAMON programm.

# You need a serial TTL/RS232 cable.
# During boot press continuesly on '1' to get into YAMON.
# On this RAM location is the ascii string 'okok'. This is a sign that the firmware on flash is ok. ( but it isn't )
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffc 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffd 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffe 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbffff 1 0
# Write it to flash
   YAMON> pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff wille be erased
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff will be written
    Erasing ...
    Writing ...
    Completed.
#  Put stick with WDTV.BIN in USB port.
#  Switch OFF/ON the power.
#  During boot a new firmware is written to flash.


Maybe b-rad can make something that do this automatically when you press the reset button during boot??

« Last Edit: October 17, 2009, 01:29:57 PM by acidice333 »

November 01, 2009, 07:12:54 AM
Reply #72

brobben2

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
i had same problem with locked up wdtv logo freeze.
i got the orginal fw 1.02.07 put it on a formated 128mb
usb flash nad connected to the back usb port and it worked...yes
no im going to try b-rads fw again and hopes it dont freeze like before.

bobben

May 27, 2010, 06:19:08 AM
Reply #73

PS2 User

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
 ??? Hi, Does anyone know how to do with WDTV Gen2?
Thanks.


Update:  Nevermind all fixed :)  I ended up doing a "pflash erase 0xFA0000" and rebooted.. then it was awaiting new firmware ;)

pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
when I run that command, it says...
Error : No Match in TLB for mapped address : Address = 0x08dfa000

What is wrong??

Problem with froozen WDTV logo and not loading firmware from USB stick kan be solved!

It is caused by a bad firmware (damaged) in mtd3block.
We can overwrite 4 bytes in RAM and copy these to flash with the YAMON programm.

# You need a serial TTL/RS232 cable.
# During boot press continuesly on '1' to get into YAMON.
# On this RAM location is the ascii string 'okok'. This is a sign that the firmware on flash is ok. ( but it isn't )
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffc 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffd 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbfffe 1 0
   YAMON> fill 0x8dfbffff 1 0
# Write it to flash
   YAMON> pflash write 0xFA0000 0x8DFA000 0x20000
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff wille be erased
    0x00fa0000 - 0x00fbffff will be written
    Erasing ...
    Writing ...
    Completed.
#  Put stick with WDTV.BIN in USB port.
#  Switch OFF/ON the power.
#  During boot a new firmware is written to flash.


Maybe b-rad can make something that do this automatically when you press the reset button during boot??


May 27, 2011, 05:18:16 AM
Reply #74

crynos

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
I have the same problem here. The device starts, show up the WD Blue Logo.. then reboot and enters in a loop.
I have no sucess connecting with my usb_to_ttl cable ( www.avitresearch.co.uk/usb_to_ttl.htm ) and using putty. Any help to conect by serial ?

Now i'm trying to use emergency-flash.app (the one with 5mb posted before) with the last official firmware 1.05.04. A now thing happens now. The device stop reboot. It enters on a Updating firmware Screen (thats good!!!) but freezes on it. What can i do ?