Author Topic: OSD mod : simple (1.03.01) ***V3 FINAL  (Read 357715 times)

October 09, 2009, 10:08:29 AM
Reply #720

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
ok, im downloading ubuntu :)

so after i saved the xml file, what do i need to do? just plug it in my wdtv and it will update itself? Mr Lillibabe, how about changing the background option or not possible?


Mount, modify, recreate !

See here : http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=2144.0 (not exactly the same thing that you want be same principle.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 10, 2009, 04:31:42 AM
Reply #721

Cloud

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 34
i cant get my usb to work on ubuntu :( it doesnt find it, i read this walkthrough but no luck :(

http://productivelinux.com/2008/11/09/how-to-get-usb-working-in-virtual-box-on-ubuntu-intrepid-ibex/

any suggestion? and i will have to download some kind of virtual disc on ubuntu correct?

Thanks

October 10, 2009, 04:40:30 AM
Reply #722

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
i cant get my usb to work on ubuntu :( it doesnt find it, i read this walkthrough but no luck :(

http://productivelinux.com/2008/11/09/how-to-get-usb-working-in-virtual-box-on-ubuntu-intrepid-ibex/

any suggestion? and i will have to download some kind of virtual disc on ubuntu correct?

Thanks


I experienced the same problem... so i decided to share a folder between guest and host.

For xp, do that under virtualbox : machine>settings...>shared folders : add a folder in full access and name it.

Then, under ubuntu : sudo mount.vboxsf name_given_to_your_shared_folder /path_to_the_shared_folder/shared_folder

I don't know if you have to install vboxaddons for this.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 10, 2009, 08:31:11 AM
Reply #723

Cloud

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 34
ok, i give up. ive spent like 4hours trying to get the usb working, had to reinstall etc, finallly got it to work, but cant mount it. i read the other post. my usb is coming up, so i went into properties, and the location is called /media/WD and i tried sudo mount -t cramfs WDTV.bin /media/WD -o loop,offset=32
and its not mounting. il just stick to the thumbnails like they are :(

Thanks

Also how do you install another FW? ive installed yours..i searched google to differnt FW couldnt find

fount it :) and sorted
« Last Edit: October 10, 2009, 09:26:19 AM by Cloud »

October 11, 2009, 11:27:36 AM
Reply #724

VStrike

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 60
WDTV Live is released in some locations and preparing to release in others soon, will you be updating the this mod to work on the wdtv live with all the additional features?

October 11, 2009, 09:56:20 PM
Reply #725

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
Yes, of course ! ...........................if you buy me one  ;)

In fact, I'm pretty happy with my WDTV, I don't want to change it every 6 months... for the use I made, it suits me. In my case, the new functions of WDTV Live don't justify a new investment.

100+120 = 220 ; for this price, I can almost buy a nvidia ion platform with intel atom (zotac,...) : I could do more things with it and I will be less restricted.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 12, 2009, 12:39:54 PM
Reply #726

janez

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 12
Where I can get a language file - I would like to translate into my country language ?

This site wont open

http://wdtv.free.fr/dl/translations.zip

October 14, 2009, 06:09:54 AM
Reply #727

kwanbis

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 31
Update 03.10.2009 : version 2 updated
- Now based on fw 1.02.11 (only "international" version for now)
- Corrections made to the language files (.mo/.po) are to be done again ; Russian language incomplete
- Xml files relative to new WD hard drives (encrypted) skinned but not tested

- all wdtv.bin and osd.bin are available here : http://wdtv.free.fr/dl/
Hi lilibabe.

I would be trying your mod soon, mostly because of the rezmus font patch inclussion.

I assume your version 1.02.11 already has that?

Also, and sorry if it has been already asked, i have read you can change (most) subs to yellow by "edit /osd/subtitle.xml, line 3 - change textcolor=0xFFFF00", is that included on your patch?

And last, it would be great if either you can ZIP your releases, or provide MD5 crcs, as i'm afraid of any download corruption of the files.

Thanks.

EDIT: WOWWWWWWWWWWW

The mod is very slick!!!!!!!!!! Very nice.

Some comments:

1) I don't think anybody uses the smalles font size, can't you replace font size 24 for 46 or something? (maybe replace size 28 for 50).

2) Sometimes, when i turn it on, it says, unsuported video mode.

3) Where did you got the icons from? I would love to look for some SERIES/TV SHOWS, MOVIES, DOCUMENTARIES, ones that match.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 08:18:12 AM by kwanbis »

October 14, 2009, 09:12:52 AM
Reply #728

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
@kwanbis :

- there's not rezmus font patch in last version, i'm waiting for it...
- subtitles are default color (ie white) but you can change the color easily as mentioned
- if there's a corrupted file, no problem, you can still flash the fw
- sorry i can't replace the size of subtitles
- "unsupported video mode" : it sometimes happens, but i don't think it's my mod fault
- of what icons are you talking about ? the one provided in the my mod are my work
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 14, 2009, 10:12:06 AM
Reply #729

kwanbis

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 31
- there's not rezmus font patch in last version, i'm waiting for it...
I thought you know how to do it. So basically we are waiting for razmus to do it first.

- subtitles are default color (ie white) but you can change the color easily as mentioned
as far as i understand i have to mount the bin file under linux or something like that, correct?

- if there's a corrupted file, no problem, you can still flash the fw
What i meant is that if you zip the files before uploading them, they get protected inside the ZIP.

If i download a .bin, and somehow it gets corrupted, it could end up bricking the WDTV, couldn't it?

- "unsupported video mode" : it sometimes happens, but i don't think it's my mod fault
I asked because it never happened before. Ever. And it happened twice after the upgrade. Maybe it was bad timing.

- of what icons are you talking about ? the one provided in the my mod are my work
The mod icons.

I've been looking for some icons for my folders:

Series
Movies
Documentaries
Fitness
Music
Children
Others

to use as folder.jpg, and was wondering if you have some to share.

Thanks for the excellent work!

October 14, 2009, 10:27:19 AM
Reply #730

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
Yes, we are waiting for rezmus ! It's not a xml file to change, it's the file dmaosd to patch.

Yes, mounting the bin file and editing file 'subtitle.xml'.

Ok for zip file, maybe for next versions as i don't want to re-upload all files now ! But i think there's no chance to brick your wdtv this way, it happens to me many times and my wdtv is still alive !!

Yes, mod icons are from me. Few months ago, before making these mods, I already made series of thumbnails but in french and in size 120x180 (default for original WD fw) ; you can find them here : http://wdtv.free.fr/
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 14, 2009, 10:43:21 AM
Reply #731

kwanbis

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 31
WOW AGAIN! That looks very good!

You don't happen to have the orignal PSDs or whatever, mostly so i can change the texts, and do in bigger size.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 10:50:14 AM by kwanbis »

October 14, 2009, 08:57:10 PM
Reply #732

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
WOW AGAIN! That looks very good!

You don't happen to have the orignal PSDs or whatever, mostly so i can change the texts, and do in bigger size.

I think I kept my sources, but in 120x180, and i haven't kept the original (=bigger) pictures I took here and there on the internet...
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

October 15, 2009, 01:38:24 AM
Reply #733

microcens

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 17
hi lilibabe,i tried your mod and i think its a little bit "slow" i think.Its true or i have problem?

October 15, 2009, 02:35:38 AM
Reply #734

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
hi lilibabe,i tried your mod and i think its a little bit "slow" i think.Its true or i have problem?

I don't know if my mod can be described as fast or slow, but in any case gfx are lightweighted compared to original gfx from WD.

Sometimes scrolling is slow after flashing, but normally things return to normal after power off/power on.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/