Author Topic: OSD mod : simple (1.03.01) ***V3 FINAL  (Read 359253 times)

July 22, 2009, 11:39:24 AM
Reply #165

bahoiz

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 26
phatoshwest please check your pm.
Thanks

July 22, 2009, 11:55:26 AM
Reply #166

hahaha

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
Hi lilibabe.
Thanks for your app. After I copied the home.xml to both wdlxtv.bin and LaurentG.app.bin everything is working very good now. Thank you.
I'm using LaurentG's app.bin. Can you share more details on how to make it work with lilibabe's app?  How do you copy the home.xml to bin file? ???

Lets start.

Go to the /tmp directory

Code: [Select]
cd /tmp
Create 2 folders. One for LaurentG.app.bin and the other is for lilibabe.osd.bin. The folder names does not matter.

Code: [Select]
mkdir appp1
mkdir appp2

Lets mount the LaurentG.app.bin to the appp1 and lilibabe.osd.bin to the appp2.

This is for WDLXTV
Code: [Select]
mount -o loop /boot/mnt/LaurentG.app.bin appp1/
mount -o loop /boot/mnt/lilibabe.osd.bin appp2/

This is for ext3-boot
Code: [Select]
mount -o loop /boot/LaurentG.app.bin appp1/
mount -o loop /boot/lilibabe.osd.bin appp2/

Lets copy the home.xml from lilibabe.osd.bin to LaurentG.app.bin

Code: [Select]
cp appp2/home.xml appp1/osd/home.xml
If you get no errors it means everything is ok. Now unmount the apps.

Code: [Select]
umount appp1/
umount appp2/

Lets remove the folders we created.

Code: [Select]
rmdir appp*
Reboot and welcome to the new world.

Code: [Select]
reboot

Thanks. I'll try.

July 22, 2009, 04:26:48 PM
Reply #167

Monkeyface66

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 58
6. Translation error : will change it in the next update ; other translations are ok ?


Can you please replace the German WD TV language file with the updated German language file of WDLXTV 0.5.5?
Western Digital really screwed the original translation!

The extracted version of Brad's firmware is on elmar_weber's site:
http://wdtv.elmarweber.org/temp/1.02.10_B-RAD.CC_WDLXTV-0.5.5.root.tar.gz


Thanks.

------

About the icons...
I personally think that the icons in the SETTINGS sub-menu look all the same  ;D
It's somehow hard to identify the audio-video/video/audio/photo icons by just looking at the icons because they all look so similar!  :D


Therefore I prefer BMD_Online's new audio-video icon and I also would like to see the photo-icon with a different motive in it.

I've redrawn Audio/Video Settings icon.
What do you think about it ?




BESIDES THAT, your OSDmod is beautiful, lilibabe!!!  :o
It feels and looks great!  :)

I hope you are going to modify the OSD menu of the XTREAMER next  ;D ;D
(The Xtreamer's OSD icons are all 16bit .BMP images)

July 22, 2009, 09:39:43 PM
Reply #168

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
@Monkeyface66 : I'll take into account the file for German language at a future update, I'm not change every time a version just for a detail  ;)

For the icons, maybe my view is better than yours and I see very well the differences !  ;)

You know, I can't please everyone... the best is that everyone changes the fw according to his taste. I don't know anything in linux and yet I managed to do things...
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 22, 2009, 10:04:16 PM
Reply #169

hahaha

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
I've got no success running commands:
mount -o loop /boot/mnt/LaurentG.app.bin appp1/
mount -o loop /boot/mnt/lilibabe.osd.bin appp2/

Also tried:
mount -o loop /root/mnt/LaurentG.app.bin appp1/
mount -o loop /root/mnt/lilibabe.osd.bin appp2/
 :(

July 23, 2009, 03:17:39 AM
Reply #170

phatoshwest

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 105
Are there any error messages?
WDTV <- USB1 <- 500GB HDD (EXT2)
WDTV <- USB2 <- Powered HUB <- Airties WUS-201 Wifi <- Internet
WDTV <- USB2 <- Powered HUB <- 2GB Boot Flash-disk

July 23, 2009, 03:18:49 AM
Reply #171

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
Future "improvments" that will appear in the next update :

- replacement of the German language file
- correction of the loading screen (Chargement...)

So, nothing special but if I forgot something thank you to telling me.

I also removed references to files in the osd directory (and his subdirectories) in the file "md5sum.txt". In this way it will be easier for you and for me to change some things... I tested it, it works 100%.

Now, I will anticipate the next update of wd and work on 2 new screens : the file manager and the new video browser mode.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 23, 2009, 10:19:11 AM
Reply #172

hahaha

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
Are there any error messages?

I don't remember the exact message. But after I mounted the app1/ and app2/ folder, I checked on both. They were all empty folder. Plus I got error message trying to copy the home.xml too, since the file was simply not there. In addition, I could not find LaurantG.app.bin in /root/mnt/

July 23, 2009, 10:33:54 AM
Reply #173

phatoshwest

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 105
 ??? ???
Which firmware do you use?

Type
Code: [Select]
find /* | grep LaurentG.app.bin
or
Code: [Select]
find /* | grep lilibabe.osd.bin

You will get the path of the list of the files in the / folder (the whole file system) whose name is LaurentG.app.bin
So you will learn where the LaurentG.app.bin to mount.
WDTV <- USB1 <- 500GB HDD (EXT2)
WDTV <- USB2 <- Powered HUB <- Airties WUS-201 Wifi <- Internet
WDTV <- USB2 <- Powered HUB <- 2GB Boot Flash-disk

July 23, 2009, 01:49:33 PM
Reply #174

hahaha

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
I'm using WDLXTV 0.55 and LaurentG Version 1.3.2

July 23, 2009, 11:38:21 PM
Reply #175

jjwerrett

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 14
is there anyway i can set the box or that, so when i turn it on instead the menu system coming up to pick what you like to do.

is there a way i can just turn the box on and it starts straight in the video folder instead since dont use pictures or music.

obviously if i was to press the home button it would return to the default menu of choosing music,vid,music,settings etc etc

July 24, 2009, 12:14:12 AM
Reply #176

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
I don't know if it's possible. When you say "video folder" you mean the menu with video thumbnails ?

If so, maybe you can try to delete the file 'home.xml' and rename the file 'basic_thumb_video_browse.xml' (I didn't remember the exact name) in 'home.xml'. But I really don't know if it'll work... But if it works, then you will not be able to have the main menu !

Is it so difficult to hit 2 buttons to get to the video menu ?  ;)

Otherwise, you can certainly tweak you something with event-osd...
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 24, 2009, 03:45:07 AM
Reply #177

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
Well, I progressed a little bit on new future functions that would be available in the next update (I hope...) of the wdtv.

If you wanna see a preview, see my first post, "screenshots" section.

It's not all finished, but I took the advance to be more responsive on the next firmware  ;)
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 24, 2009, 04:32:50 AM
Reply #178

BelSky

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9
lilibabe you are surprising

File management is fantastic feature. I thought about it in my dreams :) Colud you think about possibility to copy all information from one USB device to another? It can be very useful for fotografers. Sometimes, when I travel I have to take laptop for storing all my photo's. But why can't I use WD TV with HDD for this task? All I need is copy all files from flash card to the HDD in folder with autogenerated name. Next I can format card in my Olympus SLR and shoot again. Dreams, dreams, dreams :)))

July 24, 2009, 04:45:59 AM
Reply #179

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
lilibabe you are surprising

File management is fantastic feature. I thought about it in my dreams :) Colud you think about possibility to copy all information from one USB device to another? It can be very useful for fotografers. Sometimes, when I travel I have to take laptop for storing all my photo's. But why can't I use WD TV with HDD for this task? All I need is copy all files from flash card to the HDD in folder with autogenerated name. Next I can format card in my Olympus SLR and shoot again. Dreams, dreams, dreams :)))

It's not I who will implement this feature, so I can not answer ! These are functions announced by wd for next update... Look here : http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1170.0

Apparently, it'll be really a very simple file manager and not very practical... Wait and see !
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/