Author Topic: OSD mod : simple (1.03.01) ***V3 FINAL  (Read 357848 times)

July 17, 2009, 03:16:58 AM
Reply #60

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
324x432 px, as specified in the first post  ;)
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 17, 2009, 03:42:29 AM
Reply #61

BelSky

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 9

July 17, 2009, 10:41:33 AM
Reply #62

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
No other opinions ? Should I start this new project or not ? It does not seem to excite the crowds !  ;)
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 17, 2009, 11:28:53 AM
Reply #63

Frosty_CRO

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 194
 ;D ;D ;D

You got my vote, for sure!
Too much free time on my hands...

July 17, 2009, 12:18:55 PM
Reply #64

AK47

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 5
New edition available for my OSD mod : as requested, bigger thumbnails in video mode (twice the others), 1 row, 3 cols.

Thank you very much. Your’s OSDMod is fine! But thumbs 324x432 px looks like crap on my plasma TV because of jpeg compression artifacts.

July 17, 2009, 12:37:51 PM
Reply #65

pupiponis

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 26
No other opinions ? Should I start this new project or not ? It does not seem to excite the crowds !  ;)

Yes, please! genius!  8)

July 17, 2009, 03:07:00 PM
Reply #66

bubba004

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 19
Please lilibabe, do continue with your project. I came on here tonight almost expecting to see another upload from you. I am awaiting this new osd from you. That new look you have in your screenshot looks very nice! I want to make it my defaul osd for my media player. PLEASE continue!

A note to all the other modders out there, the service you guys do for us is invaluable! I no longer check the forum at avsforum for info on the media player. THIS is the place to be! And that's because of the few who are investing their time to give us something fresh and new. Western Digital should be appreciative too.
Keep up the great work!

July 17, 2009, 03:10:00 PM
Reply #67

bubba004

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 19
New edition available for my OSD mod : as requested, bigger thumbnails in video mode (twice the others), 1 row, 3 cols.

Thank you very much. Your’s OSDMod is fine! But thumbs 324x432 px looks like crap on my plasma TV because of jpeg compression artifacts.

I believe I read somewhere that we should use 162x230 for our thumbs. Anything else just pixelates them.

July 17, 2009, 09:34:14 PM
Reply #68

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
New edition available for my OSD mod : as requested, bigger thumbnails in video mode (twice the others), 1 row, 3 cols.

Thank you very much. Your’s OSDMod is fine! But thumbs 324x432 px looks like crap on my plasma TV because of jpeg compression artifacts.

I don't use this mod as thumbnails make me think of something childish ! But if you use it, try to put folder.jpg adapted to this size.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 17, 2009, 09:45:10 PM
Reply #69

rezmus

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 418
it won;t help coz osd automaticly scale thumbs to 120 x 180 regardles of image item size definied in xml. solution i know might be script that symlinks back your folder.jpg files in /tmp/cache directory (either recursive on drive mount or using event-osd on directory enter). i had something like this long time ago, but i can;t find it anymore (old tests lowres and hires).

July 17, 2009, 11:47:37 PM
Reply #70

BMD_Online

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 135
it won;t help coz osd automaticly scale thumbs to 120 x 180 regardles of image item size definied in xml. solution i know might be script that symlinks back your folder.jpg files in /tmp/cache directory (either recursive on drive mount or using event-osd on directory enter). i had something like this long time ago, but i can;t find it anymore (old tests lowres and hires).

You can try my addon.
It browse the entire disk and copy all folder.jpg into cache directly, without resizing them.

http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1403.0

July 18, 2009, 05:02:24 AM
Reply #71

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
So, with your encouragement, I decided to get into the design of a second mod...

For now, I have already almost completed the home menu.

I have good and bad news :

- the good : this mod will used much less memory than the other (each icon in the main menu is less than 1Ko, because it's just composed of dots), navigation seems to be faster

- the bad : it looks maybe too grey, the background (diagonal lines) appears uniform, icons are too small and too dark (but there's the text label above with the description), it's harder to design than my previous skin (so be patient !). Depending on your tv, the "lcd" dots aren't well upscaled (tested on a hd ready tv).

Does anyone is interested in testing the very beginning and tell me what he thinks ? (should I continue or not ?)

It's just to test the main menu (icons, colors), the rest is not usable as is.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 18, 2009, 05:18:09 AM
Reply #72

BMD_Online

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 135
In French. Sorry I can't translate this sentence :
Est-ce que ça ne risque pas d'avoir un effet de scintillement, de moiré à l'écran avec des écrans CRT ?


I think using CRT screen may blink or have moiré effect (approximative translation). :(

July 18, 2009, 05:25:02 AM
Reply #73

lilibabe

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1462
    • http://wdtv.free.fr/
In French. Sorry I can't translate this sentence :
Est-ce que ça ne risque pas d'avoir un effet de scintillement, de moiré à l'écran avec des écrans CRT ?


I think using CRT screen may blink or have moiré effect (approximative translation). :(

Peut-être pas à ce point mais ça ne doit pas être super effectivement... je vais essayer de tester sur ma tv en règlant le wdtv dans une autre résolution.
If you appreciate my work and want to contribute, feel free to donate at http://wdtv.free.fr/

July 18, 2009, 05:43:57 AM
Reply #74

BMD_Online

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 135
In French. Sorry I can't translate this sentence :
Est-ce que ça ne risque pas d'avoir un effet de scintillement, de moiré à l'écran avec des écrans CRT ?


I think using CRT screen may blink or have moiré effect (approximative translation). :(

Peut-être pas à ce point mais ça ne doit pas être super effectivement... je vais essayer de tester sur ma tv en règlant le wdtv dans une autre résolution.

Send me your background, I will try on my TV (CRT).