Author Topic: USB3 internal enabled?  (Read 53191 times)

April 23, 2009, 07:38:48 AM
Reply #15

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
if want take the cover off, the warranty is over
careful and discreet


See Elia's Photo (PCB)

You have no choice
use 2port USB socket 90 degree



update : fixed picture / 3dxr
« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 08:18:16 AM by 3dxr »

April 23, 2009, 07:46:51 AM
Reply #16

goett

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
i know my warranty is over now, but have actually 3 of these devices (are really great)
actually connected a self-built external slim usb-dvd-rom and  now really am in need of a third usb.
will there be any problems with the power so that external usb-dvd will not get enough mA if i connect the hub at this place?

gonna buy a couple of these USBs

i have to put smd 0402s zero ohms to R36 and R40?

greetz

April 23, 2009, 08:20:49 AM
Reply #17

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
my test is not complete

i open the cover find USB3 because my WDTV have a problem

WDTV freezed on WD logo after flashing
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1139368


who know how to use console CN4 flashing F/W
or JTAG ?


when i use USBx3(USB1,USB2,USB3), but have one USB port can't action
if only use USB3 alone, i can see the USB3's LED is flash

because my WDTV is freezed, so i can't see TV screen

maybe b-rad and Zorander can fix the USB3 bug ?!
I sure the WDTV hardwave layout is OK


http://pastebin.com/f5c87eb4c

http://pastebin.com/f95a7097




sorry! my english is poor


« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 08:36:50 AM by bv4jw »

April 23, 2009, 08:27:03 AM
Reply #18

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
yeah, and use somethink like this inside



I have something similiar :)


more information
also exist cheaper on ebay same size black one plugged to side  port is invisible :)

April 23, 2009, 08:34:09 AM
Reply #19

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
my test is not complete

i open the cover find USB3 because my WDTV have a problem

WDTV freezed on WD logo after flashing
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1139368


who know how to use console CN4 flashing F/W
or JTAG ?


when i use USBx3(USB1,USB2,USB3), but have one USB port can't action
if only use USB3 alone, i can see the USB3's LED is flash

because my WDTV is freezed, so i can't see TV screen

maybe b-rad and Zorander can fix the USB3 bug ?!


http://pastebin.com/f5c87eb4c

http://pastebin.com/f95a7097




sorry! my english is poor





I saw somewhere on WD or main thread on AVSforum.com but in far past howto reflash device with other way

check date around xmas there was bad release which not support 500g disks and many users had problem flash new firmware
when they try from HDD  there was something like format USB key and not sure delete wdtv.ver leave only wdtv.bin
and something for me is always working side port

when I have usb key there my WDTv is freezziing during boot then isnt there fw but flasing fine then is presented

April 23, 2009, 01:04:16 PM
Reply #20

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
I have connect usb->ethernet adapter to USB3, but work only if USB1 is free.

If I connect HUB-USB at USB2 and adapter to USB3, all ok...
... if I connect something at USB1, nothing work.

In messages.txt:

Code: [Select]
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub foun
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: d
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.warn kernel: TangoX USB was initialized.

only 2 ports? And...

Code: [Select]
Jan  1 00:00:25 wdtv user.notice root:  [0b95:1780] 1-1( 2.00,480m) AX178/050909
Jan  1 00:00:25 wdtv user.notice root:  [05e3:0608] 1-2( 2.00,480m) USB2.0 Hub
Jan  1 00:00:26 wdtv user.notice root:  [0781:5406] 1-2.1( 2.00,480m) U3 Cruzer Micro/0000162152758EDC
Jan  1 00:00:26 wdtv user.notice root:  [1058:1001] 1-2.2( 2.00,480m) External HDD    /574341553434323439363633

My adapter is 0b95:1780 connect internally at USB3, but i see 0b95:1780 1-1 and not 1-3...

USB3 is USB1?!?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 10:02:48 PM by eliafino »

April 24, 2009, 12:07:46 AM
Reply #21

Nisei

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 117
my test is not complete

who know how to use console CN4 flashing F/W
or JTAG ?

when i use USBx3(USB1,USB2,USB3), but have one USB port can't action
if only use USB3 alone, i can see the USB3's LED is flash

because my WDTV is freezed, so i can't see TV screen

maybe b-rad and Zorander can fix the USB3 bug ?!
I sure the WDTV hardwave layout is OK

bv4wj, I would contact Zorander or B-rad if I were you.
You're doing some great research here to help us all. I'm sure they appreciate it too and I hope they can help you.
etx3-boot 0.9.2
Arkview Gigabit ethernet adapter
Qnap TS-119 NAS with NFS share

April 24, 2009, 01:35:25 PM
Reply #22

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
my test is not complete

who know how to use console CN4 flashing F/W
or JTAG ?

when i use USBx3(USB1,USB2,USB3), but have one USB port can't action
if only use USB3 alone, i can see the USB3's LED is flash

because my WDTV is freezed, so i can't see TV screen

maybe b-rad and Zorander can fix the USB3 bug ?!
I sure the WDTV hardwave layout is OK

bv4wj, I would contact Zorander or B-rad if I were you.
You're doing some great research here to help us all. I'm sure they appreciate it too and I hope they can help you.

thanks Nisei

I try create RMA to Agents
they found the WDTV have Injuries
must return to WD
Agents say  wait Determine need 3~4weeks

OMG!!



b-rad  have Strengthen recovery, GOOD JOB


0.5.1
* emergency flash upgrade/freeze recovery now added
***** requires a full firmware image called emergency-wdtv.bin and
********a file called emergency-flash on the root of a device at boot









April 24, 2009, 02:46:00 PM
Reply #23

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
my test is not complete

i open the cover find USB3 because my WDTV have a problem

WDTV freezed on WD logo after flashing
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1139368


who know how to use console CN4 flashing F/W
or JTAG ?


when i use USBx3(USB1,USB2,USB3), but have one USB port can't action
if only use USB3 alone, i can see the USB3's LED is flash

because my WDTV is freezed, so i can't see TV screen

maybe b-rad and Zorander can fix the USB3 bug ?!


http://pastebin.com/f5c87eb4c

http://pastebin.com/f95a7097




sorry! my english is poor





I saw somewhere on WD or main thread on AVSforum.com but in far past howto reflash device with other way

check date around xmas there was bad release which not support 500g disks and many users had problem flash new firmware
when they try from HDD  there was something like format USB key and not sure delete wdtv.ver leave only wdtv.bin
and something for me is always working side port

when I have usb key there my WDTv is freezziing during boot then isnt there fw but flasing fine then is presented


thanks 3dxr


my WDTV can't boot  from usb device

but it can connect form telent protool by usb ethernet adapter 

and I have no idea how to repaid my WDTV by telnet protocol.

now my WDTV is retuen to RMA , so I can't try other ways


April 26, 2009, 11:18:55 PM
Reply #24

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
No way to connect all three USB?
USB1 USB2 and USB3?

May 03, 2009, 12:10:50 AM
Reply #25

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
I have connect usb->ethernet adapter to USB3, but work only if USB1 is free.

If I connect HUB-USB at USB2 and adapter to USB3, all ok...
... if I connect something at USB1, nothing work.

In messages.txt:

Code: [Select]
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub foun
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: d
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.info kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
Jan  1 00:00:24 wdtv user.warn kernel: TangoX USB was initialized.

only 2 ports? And...

Code: [Select]
Jan  1 00:00:25 wdtv user.notice root:  [0b95:1780] 1-1( 2.00,480m) AX178/050909
Jan  1 00:00:25 wdtv user.notice root:  [05e3:0608] 1-2( 2.00,480m) USB2.0 Hub
Jan  1 00:00:26 wdtv user.notice root:  [0781:5406] 1-2.1( 2.00,480m) U3 Cruzer Micro/0000162152758EDC
Jan  1 00:00:26 wdtv user.notice root:  [1058:1001] 1-2.2( 2.00,480m) External HDD    /574341553434323439363633

My adapter is 0b95:1780 connect internally at USB3, but i see 0b95:1780 1-1 and not 1-3...

USB3 is USB1?!?



elia, you can help me do same test

see the photo

1. TEST USB3 pin2  --> USB1 pin 2   is short ?
2. TEST USB3 pin3  --> USB1 pin 3   is short ?

if both is short , the USB3 is USB1
if both is not short, the USB3 not USB1



My WDTV is RMA, so can't do test, sorry!



http://pastebin.com/f5c87eb4c
line 278 start

driver tangox-ehci-hcd, 10 Dec 2004
 
TangoX USB initializing...
 
tangox-ehci-hcd tangox-ehci-hcd: TangoX USB 2.0
 
tangox-ehci-hcd tangox-ehci-hcd: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
 
tangox-ehci-hcd tangox-ehci-hcd: irq 48, io mem 0xa0021500
 
tangox-ehci-hcd tangox-ehci-hcd: USB 0.0 started, EHCI 1.00, driver 10 Dec 2004
 
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
 
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

 
TangoX USB was initialized.
 
Initializing TangoX USB OHCI Controller Membase=0xa0021500, irq=47
 
tangox-ohci-hcd tangox-ohci-hcd: USB Host Controller
 
tangox-ohci-hcd tangox-ohci-hcd: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
 
tangox-ohci-hcd tangox-ohci-hcd: irq 47, io mem 0xa0021500
 
hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
 
hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

 
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using tangox-ehci-hcd and address 2
 
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
 
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
 
usb-storage: device found at 2
 
usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
 
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
 
USB Mass Storage support registered.








May 03, 2009, 01:21:39 AM
Reply #26

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
elia, you can help me do same test
Ok, now reopen my WDTV and test with multimeter (continuity beeper)  ;)

May 03, 2009, 01:48:04 AM
Reply #27

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
1. TEST USB3 pin2  --> USB1 pin 2   is short ?
2. TEST USB3 pin3  --> USB1 pin 3   is short ?

if both is short , the USB3 is USB1
Argh... USB3 = USB1
pin2 and pin3 in USB3 is the same pin2 and pin3 in USB1.

Only 2 ports? If I understand you, WDTV have 2 ports but 2 hub, total of 4 ports?

May 05, 2009, 09:43:13 AM
Reply #28

compostbak

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 22
Does that mean i can take out the back usb connector and applie a  "2port USB socket 90 degree s" as the picture above on the side of the unit, so that i can use the space in the back to put a network connector?

May 05, 2009, 10:20:57 PM
Reply #29

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
If you mount 2 ports USB socket and connect USB3, you can't use USB1.

USB3 = USB1

where is sigma datasheet?