Author Topic: USB3 internal enabled?  (Read 53238 times)

April 07, 2009, 02:27:15 AM
Read 53238 times

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
Hi,
is possible enable this connector?



Is a good idea for internal USB-HUB!!!

Regards,
Elia
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 12:32:18 PM by jayallan »

April 07, 2009, 02:57:23 AM
Reply #1

3dxr

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 411
Hard to say need to be checked if pins are really live if is not only generic PCB and USB3 was not activated

Would be nice have more USB ports 2 are really minimum today.
Internal connector is usefull for small usb key and load custom firmware from it
external usb2 ports wear USBnet and storage media.(HDD/DVD/USBkeys).

April 10, 2009, 04:01:01 PM
Reply #2

b-rad.cc

  • Hero Member

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 833
  • Personal Text
    FW Hacker
    • B-RAD
5V going across pin 1 & 4 according to my fluke. The wdtv states only 2 ports internally during boot though, so doubtful it would be as easy as sautering in a socket.

I'm not really feeling so adventurous as to sauter one in myself, plus my gun is mia, but maybe some day.

April 18, 2009, 09:31:38 AM
Reply #3

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
i find USB3, and USB wired netword adapters UE-2
ASIX AX88172 work fine.

search for USB4 ......




USB3 Pin1  +5V   
USB3 Pin2  DATA-      ----> R36
USB3 Pin3  DATA+     ----> R40
USB3 Pin4 GND

USB2 Pin1  +5V   
USB2 Pin2  DATA-      ----> R34
USB2 Pin3  DATA+     ----> R35
USB2 Pin4 GND









« Last Edit: April 18, 2009, 10:28:58 AM by bv4jw »

April 21, 2009, 05:21:41 AM
Reply #4

Flat Eric

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 4
That's pretty interesting! I can not figure out yet what I could do with it, but it's nice to see what's possible.

April 21, 2009, 06:52:17 AM
Reply #5

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
i find USB3, and USB wired netword adapters UE-2
ASIX AX88172 work fine.

search for USB4 ......
You are GREAT!!!

p.s. I can't see the first image "usb31800.jpg"

April 22, 2009, 01:21:11 AM
Reply #6

Nisei

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 117
If R36 and R40 are 0 ohm I assume you can just short the solder points to get USB3 working?
etx3-boot 0.9.2
Arkview Gigabit ethernet adapter
Qnap TS-119 NAS with NFS share

April 22, 2009, 06:45:18 AM
Reply #7

bv4jw

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
Yes, I short the R36 and R40 for test

use SMD 0402 0 ohm resistors is better 





« Last Edit: April 22, 2009, 10:40:39 AM by bv4jw »

April 22, 2009, 11:59:47 AM
Reply #8

Nisei

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 117
Thanks for all the info! This is really great because now you can use an internal flash drive and sstill have a free USB port on the outside.
etx3-boot 0.9.2
Arkview Gigabit ethernet adapter
Qnap TS-119 NAS with NFS share

April 22, 2009, 02:13:15 PM
Reply #9

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101
and is possible connect usb->ethernet adapter internally

April 22, 2009, 11:18:05 PM
Reply #10

Nisei

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 117
Yes that's also a possibility. But the adapter I have is getting pretty warm so I 'm not sure if it would be a good idea to put that inside the WDTV. I think the WDTV is already getting pretty warm (even in stand-by mode) so it could get too hot with a USB-LAN adapter inside.
etx3-boot 0.9.2
Arkview Gigabit ethernet adapter
Qnap TS-119 NAS with NFS share

April 23, 2009, 01:09:11 AM
Reply #11

eliafino

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 101

April 23, 2009, 01:39:39 AM
Reply #12

Nisei

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 117
Yeah but then it starts making noise and I like to keep it quiet :)
I'm not really bothered by having the lan adapter outside the box but an internal flash drive would be nice to use with WDLXTV.
etx3-boot 0.9.2
Arkview Gigabit ethernet adapter
Qnap TS-119 NAS with NFS share

April 23, 2009, 06:01:21 AM
Reply #13

royalty

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 11
    • deutscher WDTV Blog
yeah, and use somethink like this inside

kleines deutsches WDTV Projekt http://home.arcor.de/wdtv <- Mitstreiter gesucht!

April 23, 2009, 06:18:46 AM
Reply #14

goett

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
so i have to connect the points on R40 and R36 and put a cable with usb to the 4 pins below USB2 and then it works?
don't want to break my WD, but want 3rd USB.

can i put a part like this to my WD: USB-Einbaubuchse, A, gew., 3-Port, Printmontage


or just this one:

???

@royalty nearly every usb-stick is really small when you put it apart and take the cover off;-)

greets goett
« Last Edit: April 23, 2009, 07:03:18 AM by goett »