Author Topic: WDTV and MythTV  (Read 15179 times)

August 10, 2009, 08:17:33 PM
Read 15179 times

qyo001

Is there any way to stream a ipTV via hacked WDTV? I have a subscription to some number of channels , so I can use my MythTV in my linux box. How to make something like that on WDTV
if its possible at all...

August 11, 2009, 02:58:26 AM
Reply #1

ichalex

Just wanted to ask the same, but for T-Home Entertain. A German IPTV Service, the most Networks are DRM Coded, but the Public Stations are free. So one can watch them with VLC, with an Playlist like that:

#EXTINF:0,239.35.10.2 ZDF HD
rtp://@239.35.10.2:10000

Possible with WDTV?

August 11, 2009, 04:00:59 AM
Reply #2

3dxr

• Global Moderator

currently not this is also missing for me ....

there are some problems -
1) some IPTV streams are coded/protected decoding required
2) some IPTV streams are encoded with unssuported codecs for example my provider using MP42/WMV1/WMV2/WMV3+WMA 9.1pro
3) WDTV doesnt support reading from streams RTMP/RTP/UDP/HTTP :( only some shoutcast audio is working with fuse module

May be WDTV2 with native network support will has more features.

October 16, 2009, 03:42:37 AM
Reply #3

a-bra-ka-da-bra

I've made a prototype code that plays IPTV streams on WD TV. It is based on the same approach used for YouTube application, that is, TV channels are represented as video files using FUSE. There are several issues with IPTV though:

1. At least my IPTV provider is using multicast UDP streams for video transport, and as there is no multi-cast support compiled in the kernel that runs on WDTV I had to use AF_PACKET level sockets instead. This in turn may leave the video stream flowing should the code crash as kernel will not transmit leave group IGMP packet. I also have to do some experiments to find out what happens if you switch the box off without stopping the player first.