Author Topic: wireless-mod-rt.app.bin v1.2  (Read 165680 times)

March 06, 2010, 11:15:28 PM
Reply #240

classicaldude

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 29
I tried to connect wireless with d-link dwl-g122 (rt73) C1 3.00 firmware version. I

installed wdlxtv 5.8.1.
It didn't work, wdtv would halt during the boot without ever coming to menu. For one time it

worked, i don't know why because later was gone again.
Act light on stick never blinked.
Then I tried ext3-boot and still no go. It worked without DHCP only and veeery slow. I tried

to change all the settings in files. I also tried both wireless app.bin ( Zorander and

Smartp ).

I downgraded to 5.3.2. firmware and it started to work. However I would like to use it with

5.8.1.
One thing I realised with 5.8.1. is that when I put encription to WPA2 finnaly I got my usb

wireless stick to blink act light. Then in log file I see it connected to wireless but

didn't get IP with or without DHCP. With NONE or WEP it gets stuck before. In log it halts

at: Dec 31 16:00:55 WDTV-405d0 user.warn kernel: => usb_rtusb_open

If any of you can help I would appreciate that.

See http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=5111.0

And try different versions of the SmartP app.bin - more updated.

@kamesh99 - you are missing several "sleep" commands in net.config. See mine:
Code: [Select]
#
# Network configuration file

#You can override the hostname here:
HOST=wdtv

# if you do not set a hostname,a random one is assigned.

# attempt to set jumbo frames
MTU=1492
sleep=7
DHCP=no
#DHCP=yes
sleep=5

IP=10.0.0.20
GW=10.0.0.138
NM=255.255.255.0
DNS1=10.0.0.138
sleep=5

#NTP=pool.ntp.org - ntpclient causes memory leaks with rt73
SUPPRESS_OTHERS="yes"

WLAN_CFG=rt73sta.dat
WLAN_LOAD=rt73.ko

WLAN_UP=yes
WLAN_SLEEP=1
[code]
[/code]

March 07, 2010, 07:25:34 AM
Reply #241

Ron[NL]

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 425
    • WDTV Movie Sheet Generator
Sorry if this is something very obvious for you linux people, but I am a real noob at linux.

Question : I have a netgear WG111 wireless adapter lying around. It's identified in messages.txt as USBID 0846:4240 under detected USB devices. (via log-saver.app.bin on my USB stick)

I found this via google :

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ndiswrapper/index.php?title=Netgear_WG111

Is there a way to get this to work with the WDTV or is that ndiswrapper a show-stopper ?
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 01:06:35 PM by Ron[NL] »
WDLXTV 0.5.8.1 + Showcase v2 OSD Mod

Philips 40PFL8605H, Sitecom WL-351

Trust HU-5440 USB Hub
WDTV MSG 1.7.0,  TheTvDBv3.0 TVSheetGenerator - rev 5.4.1

May 03, 2010, 09:01:27 PM
Reply #242

snowskate

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Hey,

I'm having a hard time getting this to work with a d-link dwl-g122 and saw the first reply confirmed it working.  I know I must be doing something wrong and I would appreciate any help.

This is my current config:

WEP 128

net.config:
#
# Network configuration file

#one of rt61sta.dat, rt73sta.dat, RT2400.dat, RT2500STA.dat, RT2570STA.dat, RT2870STA.dat (used by rt3070 as well)
WLAN_CFG=rt73sta.dat
#one of rt61.ko, rt73.ko, rt2400.ko, rt2500.ko, rt2570.ko, rt2870sta.ko, rt3070sta.ko
WLAN_LOAD=rt73.ko
#need to bring up device?
WLAN_UP=yes
#time to sleep while waiting for wireless association
WLAN_SLEEP=1

#You can override the hostname here:
HOST=wdtv

# if you do not set a hostname,a random one is assigned.

# attempt to set jumbo frames
MTU=9000

#
# Dynamic IP Configuration:
DHCP=yes

#
# Static IP Configuration: (only if not DHCP)
#DHCP=no
#IP=192.168.0.10
#GW=192.168.0.1
#NM=255.255.255.0
#DNS1=192.168.0.1
#DNS2=205.171.3.65

#
# Optional:

#specify time server host
#NTP=pool.ntp.org

#specify timezone (example=pacific North America)
#TZ=PST8PDT

#do not load any network drivers (saves memory)
#SUPPRESS_OTHERS=yes

rt73sta.dat:

[Default]
CountryRegion=0
CountryRegionABand=7
WirelessMode=0
SSID=*myssid*
NetworkType=Infra
Channel=0
AuthMode=WEPAUTO
EncrypType=WEP
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1=*my WEP hex*
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
WPAPSK=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
TxBurst=0
PktAggregate=0
TurboRate=0
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0
BGProtection=0
IEEE80211H=0
TxRate=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
PSMode=CAM
TxPreamble=0
AdhocOfdm=0
FastRoaming=0
RoamThreshold=70

I am using wireless-mod-rt.app.bin and the above config and dat files on a fat32 flash drive. 

about:
wdtv fw version: 1.03.01.WDLXTV-0.5.8.1
WDTV-58ea4 : no IP

Thanks for looking
« Last Edit: May 04, 2010, 07:37:59 AM by snowskate »

May 04, 2010, 02:51:27 PM
Reply #243

cardean

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 3
I also have the same USB stick (DWL-G122). I've made a lot of trials with no success. Any help will be welcome!

Thanks in advance for your help!

May 21, 2010, 09:15:26 AM
Reply #244

bitspyer

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
To view the PARAM list one needs a login for an external site  :-\

May 31, 2010, 11:35:38 PM
Reply #245

ditzah

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
I must be stupid or something, but I can't get this bloody thing to work...
I have a WD TV LIVE, a D-LINK DWL-122G and an Asus router.
I setup WPA2&TKIP on the router, everything's working smoothly on my PCs.
On the WD though, I can only get one LED on the D-LINK to blink, but no wireless access. I tried with various versions of... well, everything, still no go.
I see a lot of people posting info from some messages.txt file, but I don't find this file (I put the .app.bin file on the USB drive).
Can anyone guide me? How do I start to debug this thing?
I googled a lot, I searched this forum all over, but with no luck.

 ???

June 01, 2010, 07:08:09 AM
Reply #246

Ron[NL]

  • Sr. Member

  • Offline
  • ****

  • 425
    • WDTV Movie Sheet Generator
@ ditsaz,

you are posting in the WDTV gen1 part of the forum, while I read you have a Live box....
Better try in the WDTV Live forum.

Regardng the messages.txt ; this requires an app.bin called : log-saver.app.bin
B-rad made it afaik. Search the forum, there must be a link to it somewhere.
WDLXTV 0.5.8.1 + Showcase v2 OSD Mod

Philips 40PFL8605H, Sitecom WL-351

Trust HU-5440 USB Hub
WDTV MSG 1.7.0,  TheTvDBv3.0 TVSheetGenerator - rev 5.4.1

June 11, 2010, 10:05:14 AM
Reply #247

pluto69

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 18
Please is there someone who can help me solving the problem I have with my DWA-140 D1G FW 1.20 and WDTV 1G: there's no way of making my router a Dlink DIR-615 assign a IP address (dynamic or Static it's same!!!) to my wireless usb adapter connected to WDTV.
This is my configuration: 1.03.01_B-RAD.CC_WDLXTV-0.5.8.1 / boot usb attached in the wdtv usb2 / hub usb with DWA-140 attached in wdtv usb1.

Files in boot usb:
net.config
RT2870.DAT
NFS.mount
wireless-mod-rt.app.bin-1.2.4
S00-options
and the files for Cylent's REEL2 OSD MOD


net.config
Code: [Select]
#
# Network configuration file

ifconfig $MDEV up
iwconfig $MDEV essid my_home_network key "s:x1x1x1xx10x1x@"   (my password 14 letters,numbers and a @)


#one of rt61sta.dat, rt73sta.dat, RT2400.dat, RT2500STA.dat, RT2570STA.dat, RT2870STA.dat (used by rt3070 as well)
WLAN_CFG=RT2870STA.dat
#one of rt61.ko, rt73.ko, rt2400.ko, rt2500.ko, rt2570.ko, rt2870sta.ko, rt3070sta.ko
WLAN_LOAD=rt2870sta.ko
#need to bring up device?
WLAN_UP=yes
#time to sleep while waiting for wireless association
WLAN_SLEEP=10

#You can override the hostname here:
HOST=wdtv

# if you do not set a hostname,a random one is assigned.

# attempt to set jumbo frames
#MTU=9000

#
# Dynamic IP Configuration:
DHCP=yes

#
# Static IP Configuration: (only if not DHCP)
#DHCP=no
#IP=192.168.0.110
#GW=192.168.0.1
#NM=255.255.255.0
#DNS1=192.168.0.1
#DNS2=205.171.3.65

#
# Optional:

#specify time server host
#NTP=pool.ntp.org

#specify timezone (example=pacific North America)
TZ=CET

#do not load any network drivers (saves memory)
SUPPRESS_OTHERS=yes

RT2870STA.DAT
Code: [Select]
#The word of "Default" must not be removed

Default
CountryRegion=5
CountryRegionABand=7
CountryCode=IT
ChannelGeography=1
SSID=my_home_network
NetworkType=Infra
WirelessMode=6
Channel=0
BeaconPeriod=100
TxPower=100
BGProtection=0
TxPreamble=0
RTSThreshold=2346
FragThreshold=2346
TxBurst=1
PktAggregate=0
WmmCapable=1
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0
AuthMode=WPA
EncrypType=AES
WPAPSK=x1x1x1xx10x1x@  (14 letters number and @)
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
PSMode=CAM
AutoRoaming=0
RoamThreshold=70
PSDCapable=0
APSDAC=0;0;0;0
HT_RDG=1
HT_EXTCHA=0
HT_OpMode=1
HT_MpduDensity=4
HT_BW=1
HT_BADecline=0
HT_AutoBA=1
HT_BADecline=0
HT_AMSDU=0
HT_BAWinSize=64
HT_GI=1
HT_MCS=33
HT_MIMOPSMode=3
HT_DisallowTKIP=1
IEEE80211H=0
TGnWifiTest=0
WirelessEvent=0
CarrierDetect=0
AntDiversity=0
BeaconLostTime=4

What I'm doing wrong? I managed to make my wireless adapter to associate with my router but absolutely NO IP. The status of my router confirms that no ip  has been assigned to the adapter!
Thanks in advance for the help I know you all will try to give me!!

here my log files:

September 13, 2010, 11:35:14 PM
Reply #248

iiiao

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 1
Hello all

I have a very strange problem.

Firmare 0.5.8.1, wireless-mod-rt.app.bin v1.2.4, Dlink DWA-125

Network is working very good, but when I start any movie even from flash drive - I'm not able to use any buttons ( stop, pause and etc. ),
only Home and Back buttons work.
From the very beginning of movie the box with time bar is invisible.

When I'm removing wireless-mod-rt.app.bin this functionality works fine.

Any ideas? What additional information I need to privide? This is a known problem?

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: September 14, 2010, 12:18:06 AM by iiiao »

September 17, 2010, 09:18:19 PM
Reply #249

wandrey

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 5
I need help, i want a compiled driver for wdtv, for RTL8192U. Any body can help me? please? TKs

October 26, 2010, 06:03:38 PM
Reply #250

halfling85

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
Quote
I have a very strange problem.

Firmare 0.5.8.1, wireless-mod-rt.app.bin v1.2.4, Dlink DWA-125

Network is working very good, but when I start any movie even from flash drive - I'm not able to use any buttons ( stop, pause and etc. ),
only Home and Back buttons work.
From the very beginning of movie the box with time bar is invisible.

When I'm removing wireless-mod-rt.app.bin this functionality works fine.

Any ideas? What additional information I need to privide? This is a known problem?

I believe that is a known problem... here is the fix (that has worked for some)... Take a look at your S00custom-options file (highly recommend you use a program called notepad++ to do all of your editing, it is free, just google it)... Anyhow, open that file with a text editor and scroll down... In mine it is line 92... it reads like this...


# SLUGGISH REMOTE / VIDEO CRASHING BUG FIXES:
# disable NTP (network time protocol)
config_tool -c NTP=OFF

See how the third line is uncommented (no # next to it)... that is how you need to make yours look and save it. Reboot your wdtv and see if that fixes it. There is a bug with getting the time from time servers for some reason with some drivers which causes the symptoms you noted above. I know this is like over a month ago, but I hope that helps. I am in the process of making a tutorial video on youtube for getting wireless setup on these players. I went through a lot of frustration getting mine to work. However, I am going to tell everyone to buy a $15 D-Link DWA-140 for my tutorial, it is wireless-N and you can pick them up used or refurbished for that price which is pretty cheap. I got mine this week, it has been working much much better than my older wireless-G adapter did (which used the rt73 driver, which I had trouble with...). I am working on putting together a database of easy to follow tutorials. Check it out at my blog. http://romanstechhelp.blogspot.com; the wireless tutorial is coming, then after that I plan on putting together a tutorial on Samba(CIF) shares and then FTP. After that a torrent tutorial using the wonderful TorrentTV program that was developed. I have it working on my box right now and it is quite nice.

September 23, 2011, 09:50:21 AM
Reply #251

malber4

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
Did anyone ever figure out snowskates problem below?  I am having problems getting my Belkin F5D9050 to work which also uses the rt73 chipset / rt783.ko driver.

Hey,

I'm having a hard time getting this to work with a d-link dwl-g122 and saw the first reply confirmed it working.  I know I must be doing something wrong and I would appreciate any help.

This is my current config:

WEP 128

net.config:
#
# Network configuration file

#one of rt61sta.dat, rt73sta.dat, RT2400.dat, RT2500STA.dat, RT2570STA.dat, RT2870STA.dat (used by rt3070 as well)
WLAN_CFG=rt73sta.dat
#one of rt61.ko, rt73.ko, rt2400.ko, rt2500.ko, rt2570.ko, rt2870sta.ko, rt3070sta.ko
WLAN_LOAD=rt73.ko
#need to bring up device?
WLAN_UP=yes
#time to sleep while waiting for wireless association
WLAN_SLEEP=1

#You can override the hostname here:
HOST=wdtv

# if you do not set a hostname,a random one is assigned.

# attempt to set jumbo frames
MTU=9000

#
# Dynamic IP Configuration:
DHCP=yes

#
# Static IP Configuration: (only if not DHCP)
#DHCP=no
#IP=192.168.0.10
#GW=192.168.0.1
#NM=255.255.255.0
#DNS1=192.168.0.1
#DNS2=205.171.3.65

#
# Optional:

#specify time server host
#NTP=pool.ntp.org

#specify timezone (example=pacific North America)
#TZ=PST8PDT

#do not load any network drivers (saves memory)
#SUPPRESS_OTHERS=yes

rt73sta.dat:

[Default]
CountryRegion=0
CountryRegionABand=7
WirelessMode=0
SSID=*myssid*
NetworkType=Infra
Channel=0
AuthMode=WEPAUTO
EncrypType=WEP
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1=*my WEP hex*
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
WPAPSK=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
TxBurst=0
PktAggregate=0
TurboRate=0
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0
BGProtection=0
IEEE80211H=0
TxRate=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
PSMode=CAM
TxPreamble=0
AdhocOfdm=0
FastRoaming=0
RoamThreshold=70

I am using wireless-mod-rt.app.bin and the above config and dat files on a fat32 flash drive. 

about:
wdtv fw version: 1.03.01.WDLXTV-0.5.8.1
WDTV-58ea4 : no IP

Thanks for looking

December 28, 2012, 01:19:02 AM
Reply #252

kaisersoze

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 30
    • WDTVC.com
Nice lifesaver, I have been trying different zydas1211b setups. None of them I was able to get a connection with WPA2. Then I found an old D-Link dwa-125 (rt3070) and tried your wireless-mod, have a working connection with WPA. Thanks man!

February 23, 2013, 02:42:57 AM
Reply #253

ssk

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 7
i use router d-link dir 600
wdtv gen 1
WDLXTV-0.5.8.1  from b-rad
dwl g 122 

i try whit all the metod from the forum.  i have no IP (DHCP, Static,  wireless-mod-rt.app , wireless-mod-wdlxtv.app.bin)
wep, OPEN, all metod.

the same result. - the usb wireless - blink one led, and NO IP.

i have a lot of files on my pc now,  but i have no IP on my wd tv gen 1.


i do not know what to do. i to tired to do something....