Author Topic: wireless-mod-rt.app.bin v1.2  (Read 166021 times)

June 10, 2009, 09:03:54 PM
Reply #15

manman12

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
May be another solution as one of my collegue suggest is to partition the USB HDD into two partition, with first partition as FAT32 for boot related files, and 2nd partition NTFS for movie files.  I read some of the articles here in the forum that it seems WDTV support two partitions. I have not tried this and I would like to know if anyone has experience on this with WDTV?

June 11, 2009, 10:46:14 AM
Reply #16

mike2k8

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 100
May be another solution as one of my collegue suggest is to partition the USB HDD into two partition, with first partition as FAT32 for boot related files, and 2nd partition NTFS for movie files.  I read some of the articles here in the forum that it seems WDTV support two partitions. I have not tried this and I would like to know if anyone has experience on this with WDTV?
This is Off topic here, I think you would be better to open a specific post. That way you'll get more answers too.

That being said, I had that setup (now I'm migrating the NTFS partition to ext2). It worked fine but I had a little problem with the NTFS partition not being able to write from network. I solved that by doing this: http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=525.msg3904#msg3904

June 12, 2009, 08:44:50 AM
Reply #17

mx5gr

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
I have a Linksys WD600N USB adapter (supported pid) and tried everything step-by-step from the instructions.

I have been trying with many wireless packs, to no effect. This time the device was recognised, albeit it could not get an dynamic IP or a static one. The reason is, as per the log, that it cannot connect to the Access Point (msg attached below). However, the AP runs fine (I am using it right now to send this post) and the WPA2PSK key used in the .dat file is exactly the same as the one entered in the Access Point security tab.

Therefore, no IP is assigned and no network services are available.

Any ideas?

Code: [Select]
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: 0x1300 = 00064300
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: Waiting for AP association...
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:03 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:04 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:06 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:07 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:08 WDTV-da4ec daemon.info utelnetd[1060]: utelnetd (port: 23, ifname: any, login: /bin/login) startup succeeded
Dec 31 16:01:08 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:09 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:10 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:11 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.debug kernel: ir: Enable NEC decoder (0x00000000)
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.debug kernel: ir: Enable RC5 decoder (0x00000000)
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:14 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:15 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:16 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:17 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:18 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:19 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:20 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:22 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:23 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:24 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:25 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:26 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: net.agent:  Called for ra0
Dec 31 16:01:27 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: Testing static IP assignment...
Dec 31 16:01:37 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: program dmaosd is using a deprecated SCSI ioctl, please convert it to SG_IO
Dec 31 16:01:40 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: program dmaosd is using a deprecated SCSI ioctl, please convert it to SG_IO
Dec 31 16:01:42 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: Ping: 6 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
Dec 31 16:01:42 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: IP Assignment failed.  Trying DHCP

June 12, 2009, 08:54:30 AM
Reply #18

manman12

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 6
I would like to mention that the wireless-mod-rt.app.bin v1.0 work with Belkin 802.11N Wireless USB Adapter F5D8053 v3 (version 3) which use rt2870.  However Belkin 802.11N Wireless USB Adapter F5D8053 v5 (version 5) does not use rt2870 and it uses Realtek chip.  So be careful to look at the bottom of the box and buy the one with v3.... and not buy the one with v5....

June 12, 2009, 09:02:29 AM
Reply #19

mike2k8

  • Full Member

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 100
I'll have a look at the warning msgs, but note that I've compiled it with debug messages on so you'll get more log messages than with zoranders.

You can control the debug logging level by setting the Debug parameter in the dat file as follows:

Debug=[0-5]

where 0 = OFF, 1 = ERROR, 2 = WARN, 3 = TRACE (default), 4 = INFO, 5 = LOUD

Unfortunately, adding Debug=0 to the dat file doesn't do the trick. The warning messages keep flooding the messages.txt file.
Is there any chance that you compile your driver pack without the debug information?

On the other way, I have made a speed test in my rt73 (Linksys WUSB54GC) comparing Zorander's experimental drivers+wpa_supplicant (doing WPA2) versus your drivers (doing WPA2 without wpa_supplicant).

There appears to be a slight performance improvement in your driver (not sure if it's a significant one, and keep in mind that I have only done one test).
I have done the following to a file in my laptop, wireless connected through a wifi router, to the wifi enabled wdtv. (The file being in a NFS shared folder). The test has been made under ext3-boot-0.9.2 (1.02.07) firmware.

# time cat ./video.avi > /dev/null

the results are (following the wiki howto):
Zorander's wireless-mod.app.bin: 12.41 Mbps
smartP's wireless-mod-rt.app.bin: 12.89 Mbps

June 12, 2009, 11:54:07 AM
Reply #20

nme

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 13
works very nice with my DLink DWA-140!!

streams 720p movies perfectly!

June 12, 2009, 07:15:35 PM
Reply #21

smartP

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 91
Just uploaded v1.1 with the following changes:

1. Removed debug msgs from driver rt73.ko
2. Added new driver rt3070sta.ko

The list of supported vid/pid for rt3070sta.ko are:

Code: [Select]
       {USB_DEVICE(0x148F,0x3070)}, /* Ralink 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x148F,0x3071)}, /* Ralink 3071 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x148F,0x3072)}, /* Ralink 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0DB0,0x3820)}, /* Ralink 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0DF6,0x003E)}, /* Sitecom 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0DF6,0x0042)}, /* Sitecom 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x14B2,0x3C12)}, /* AL 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x18C5,0x0012)}, /* Corega 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x083A,0x7511)}, /* Arcadyan 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1740,0x9703)}, /* EnGenius 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1740,0x9705)}, /* EnGenius 3071 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1740,0x9706)}, /* EnGenius 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x13D3,0x3273)}, /* AzureWave 3070*/
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1044,0x800D)}, /* Gigabyte GN-WB32L 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2019,0xAB25)}, /* Planex Communications, Inc. RT3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07B8,0x3070)}, /* AboCom 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07B8,0x3071)}, /* AboCom 3071 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07B8,0x3072)}, /* Abocom 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392,0x7711)}, /* Edimax 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1A32,0x0304)}, /* Quanta 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1EDA,0x2310)}, /* AirTies 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07D1,0x3C0A)}, /* D-Link 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07D1,0x3C0D)}, /* D-Link 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07D1,0x3C0E)}, /* D-Link 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x07D1,0x3C0F)}, /* D-Link 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1D4D,0x000C)}, /* Pegatron Corporation 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x1D4D,0x000E)}, /* Pegatron Corporation 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x5A57,0x5257)}, /* Zinwell 3070 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x5A57,0x0283)}, /* Zinwell 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x04BB,0x0945)}, /* I-O DATA 3072 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x203D,0x1480)}, /* Encore 3070 */
« Last Edit: June 12, 2009, 07:25:58 PM by smartP »

June 12, 2009, 08:35:41 PM
Reply #22

psxzombie

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 2
Success with Airlink 101 Model AWLL6070 wireless N.  ;D
For those with a local Microcenter, it's $19.99

I've been testing with various wireless usb adapters, and finally smartP comes along with the RT2870 module.

Now to figure out how to get the NAS and other stuff working.   ???


June 12, 2009, 10:56:27 PM
Reply #23

nfshp253

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 42
    • My neglected website
Thanks for supporting rt3070! I am a noobie, so please help me with my .dat configuration. I use WEP-Open, so is this correct:
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEP

Where do I put the passkey for the WEP?
"Religion is a fabrication of the human mind" -anonymous
"Promises are made to be broken" - Me!

June 13, 2009, 01:19:42 AM
Reply #24

nfshp253

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 42
    • My neglected website
I've just tried out the mod but it didn't work apparently. Did I make any mistakes?  Where do I put the WEP passkey?



net.config:

#
# Network configuration file

#You can override the hostname here:

HOST=wdtv

# if you do not set a hostname,a random one is assigned.

# attempt to set jumbo frames
MTU=1452

#
# Dynamic IP Configuration:

DHCP=yes

#
# Static IP Configuration:  (only if not DHCP)

#DHCP=no
#IP=192.168.0.10
#GW=192.168.0.1
#NM=255.255.255.0
#DNS1=192.168.0.1
#DNS2=205.171.3.65

#
# Optional: 

#specify time server host
#NTP=pool.ntp.org

#specify timezone
#TZ=PST8EDT

#one of rt61sta.dat, rt73sta.dat, RT2400.dat, RT2500STA.dat, RT2570STA.dat, RT2870STA.dat (used by rt3070 as well)
WLAN_CFG=RT2870STA.dat
#one of rt61.ko, rt73.ko, rt2400.ko, rt2500.ko, rt2570.ko, rt2870sta.ko, rt3070sta.ko
WLAN_LOAD=rt3070sta.ko
#need to bring up device?
WLAN_UP=yes
#time to sleep while waiting for wireless association
WLAN_SLEEP=1






RT2870STA.dat:

#The word of "Default" must not be removed
Default
CountryRegion=0
CountryRegionABand=7
SSID=2WIRE464NetworkType=Infra
WirelessMode=5
Channel=0
TxPower=100
BGProtection=0
TxPreamble=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
TxBurst=1
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEPWPAPSK=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
PSMode=CAM
FastRoaming=0
RoamThreshold=70
HT_HTC=0
HT_RDG=1
HT_OpMode=0
HT_BW=1
HT_BADecline=0
HT_AutoBA=1
HT_GI=1
HT_MCS=33
HT_MpduDensity=0



"Religion is a fabrication of the human mind" -anonymous
"Promises are made to be broken" - Me!

June 13, 2009, 01:47:13 AM
Reply #25

smartP

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 91
I've just tried out the mod but it didn't work apparently. Did I make any mistakes?  Where do I put the WEP passkey?

RT2870STA.dat:
<..snip..>
SSID=2WIRE464NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEPWPAPSK=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
<..snip..>

Replace these lines with:

SSID=2WIRE464
NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEP

If key is numbers

DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=<insert key here in hex>

or if key is text

DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=1
Key1Str=<insert key here in ascii>

Quote from: README_STA
> Key1Type=value
   Key2Type=value
   Key3Type=value
   Key4Type=value
    value
      0   hexadecimal type
      1   ascii type

> Key1Str=value
   Key2Str=value
   Key3Str=value
   Key4Str=value
    value
      10 or 26 characters hex (KeyType=0)
      5 or 13 characters ascii (KeyType=1)


June 13, 2009, 05:21:23 AM
Reply #26

nfshp253

  • Newbie

  • Offline
  • *

  • 42
    • My neglected website
I've just tried out the mod but it didn't work apparently. Did I make any mistakes?  Where do I put the WEP passkey?

RT2870STA.dat:
<..snip..>
SSID=2WIRE464NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEPWPAPSK=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
<..snip..>

Replace these lines with:

SSID=2WIRE464
NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEP

If key is numbers

DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=<insert key here in hex>

or if key is text

DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=1
Key1Str=<insert key here in ascii>

Quote from: README_STA
> Key1Type=value
   Key2Type=value
   Key3Type=value
   Key4Type=value
    value
      0   hexadecimal type
      1   ascii type

> Key1Str=value
   Key2Str=value
   Key3Str=value
   Key4Str=value
    value
      10 or 26 characters hex (KeyType=0)
      5 or 13 characters ascii (KeyType=1)




What about:

WirelessMode=5
Channel=0
TxPower=100
BGProtection=0
TxPreamble=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
TxBurst=1
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0

Are there line breaks in between the command and value? Should it be
SSID=2WIRE464
NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEP

or

SSID=2WIRE464NetworkType=InfraAuthMode=OPENEncrypType=WEP
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 05:26:34 AM by nfshp253 »
"Religion is a fabrication of the human mind" -anonymous
"Promises are made to be broken" - Me!

June 13, 2009, 03:29:54 PM
Reply #27

smartP

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 91
What about:
WirelessMode=5
Channel=0
TxPower=100
BGProtection=0
TxPreamble=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
TxBurst=1
WmmCapable=0
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0

keep these.

Are there line breaks in between the command and value? Should it be
SSID=2WIRE464
NetworkType=Infra
AuthMode=OPEN
EncrypType=WEP

use these.


Better still do this:

1. Download this file -> http://svn.openfoundry.org/usert2500/2870/RT2870STA.dat
2. Change:
Code: [Select]
SSID=11n-AP -> SSID=2WIRE464   (assuming your wireless id is 2WIRE464)
EncrypType=NONE -> EncrypType=WEP

3a. If your WEP key is numbers, eg. 12345abcde
then change:
Code: [Select]
Key1Str= -> Key1Str=12345abcde

3b. If your WEP key is text, eg. MY_WEP_KEY
then change:
Code: [Select]
Key1Type=0 -> Key1Type=1
Key1Str= -> Key1Str=MY_WEP_KEY

June 13, 2009, 05:22:59 PM
Reply #28

smartP

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 91
I have a Linksys WD600N USB adapter (supported pid) and tried everything step-by-step from the instructions.

I have been trying with many wireless packs, to no effect. This time the device was recognised, albeit it could not get an dynamic IP or a static one. The reason is, as per the log, that it cannot connect to the Access Point (msg attached below). However, the AP runs fine (I am using it right now to send this post) and the WPA2PSK key used in the .dat file is exactly the same as the one entered in the Access Point security tab.

Therefore, no IP is assigned and no network services are available.

Any ideas?

Can you look at the AP to see if there the USB adapter is showing up? Is your AP configured to accept new connections?

I just tried my setup with static IP and it worked fine. This is the config I used:

Code: [Select]
DHCP=no
IP=192.168.2.105
GW=192.168.2.1
NM=255.255.255.0
DNS1=192.168.2.1

June 13, 2009, 05:29:31 PM
Reply #29

videomilk

  • Jr. Member

  • Offline
  • **

  • 74
I have a Linksys WD600N USB adapter (supported pid) and tried everything step-by-step from the instructions.

I have been trying with many wireless packs, to no effect. This time the device was recognised, albeit it could not get an dynamic IP or a static one. The reason is, as per the log, that it cannot connect to the Access Point (msg attached below). However, the AP runs fine (I am using it right now to send this post) and the WPA2PSK key used in the .dat file is exactly the same as the one entered in the Access Point security tab.

Therefore, no IP is assigned and no network services are available.

Any ideas?

Code: [Select]
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: 0x1300 = 00064300
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: Waiting for AP association...
Dec 31 16:01:02 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:03 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:04 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:06 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:07 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:08 WDTV-da4ec daemon.info utelnetd[1060]: utelnetd (port: 23, ifname: any, login: /bin/login) startup succeeded
Dec 31 16:01:08 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:09 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:10 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:11 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.debug kernel: ir: Enable NEC decoder (0x00000000)
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.debug kernel: ir: Enable RC5 decoder (0x00000000)
Dec 31 16:01:12 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:14 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:15 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:16 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:17 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:18 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:19 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:20 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:22 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:23 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:24 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:25 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: wireless-mod-rt: AP not associated ... sleeping for 1 sec
Dec 31 16:01:26 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: net.agent:  Called for ra0
Dec 31 16:01:27 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: Testing static IP assignment...
Dec 31 16:01:37 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: program dmaosd is using a deprecated SCSI ioctl, please convert it to SG_IO
Dec 31 16:01:40 WDTV-da4ec user.warn kernel: program dmaosd is using a deprecated SCSI ioctl, please convert it to SG_IO
Dec 31 16:01:42 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: Ping: 6 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
Dec 31 16:01:42 WDTV-da4ec user.notice root: IP Assignment failed.  Trying DHCP

I was getting this same problem at the start.    Best to start off with an open network and get that working if it isn't already.  Also make sure your correct type of network is set in your .dat file.  Mine had to be changed to 9 as below.

@> WirelessMode=value
   value   
      0: legacy 11b/g mixed
      1: legacy 11B only
      2: legacy 11A only         //Not support in RfIcType=1(id=RFIC_5225) and RfIcType=2(id=RFIC_5325)
      3: legacy 11a/b/g mixed     //Not support in RfIcType=1(id=RFIC_5225) and RfIcType=2(id=RFIC_5325)
      4: legacy 11G only
      5: 11ABGN mixed
      6: 11N only
      7: 11GN mixed
      8: 11AN mixed
      9: 11BGN mixed
      10: 11AGN mixed