WDTV Forum - WDTV Media Player

WDTV LIVE Groups => WDTV LIVE - General Discussion => Topic started by: voltagex on October 11, 2009, 04:07:03 AM

Title: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 11, 2009, 04:07:03 AM
Skycomp here in Australia just started selling the WDTV live, I got one so ask me anything.
A lot of you appear to be in different timezones to me so bear with me as I need sleep!

User guide is available: http://drop.io/wdtvlive (thanks tj32, discussion here (http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=2327.0))
LIST OF COMPATIBLE Wi-Fi Adaptors (802.11G/N) http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=2356.msg18751#msg18751

* Networking appears to be very locked down, although Samba works great, and the transfer speed is 9-10mb/s.

* The uPNP implementation is BROKEN, and can cause multiple videos to start playing at the same time.

* In the config menus, there is mention of wireless/wireless adaptors. I tried a TP-Link stick but it wasn't detected (rt2570 chipset)

* I'm not confident that we can modify this without an exploit of some kind, although I'm fairly sure WD will have to release some source code for it.

* WD won't allow you to use streaming audio, except from Live365, who they've obviously partnered with for a substantial amount of money >:( - nice move, jerks.

* You can stream from a Samba share

* You can start playing the file from the hard drive while it is still copying

* uPNP streaming *to* the device works, but is flaky.

* Youtube client, defaults to playing the HD version of the video if it's available.

* I'm pretty sure the zoom options are 2,4,8,16

* No NFS, it automatically shares any drive connected via SMB

* Both USB ports are USB2, have not tested hubs with them.

* 2x,4x,8x,16x fast forward options @ playback.

Just to clarify, my TV supports 50, 60 and 100hz, I will double check what the WDTVL is displaying when I get home.

If I've missed anything, feel free to ask.


Code: [Select]
Starting Nmap 5.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2009-10-09 19:37 AUS Eastern Daylight Time

Interesting ports on 10.1.1.4:
Not shown: 65525 closed ports

PORT      STATE SERVICE     VERSION
139/tcp   open  netbios-ssn Samba smbd 3.X (workgroup: WORKGROUP)
445/tcp   open  netbios-ssn Samba smbd 3.X (workgroup: WORKGROUP)
1357/tcp  open  pegboard?
3689/tcp  open  http        mt-daapd httpd 0.2.4.2
|_ html-title: 401 Unauthorized
|  http-auth: HTTP Service requires authentication
|    Auth type: Basic, realm = webserver
|_   HTTP server may accept admin:admin combination for Basic authentication

10245/tcp open  unknown
10247/tcp open  unknown
52410/tcp open  tcpwrapped
52979/tcp open  tcpwrapped
57014/tcp open  tcpwrapped
57991/tcp open  tcpwrapped

Device type: general purpose
Running: Linux 2.6.X
OS details: Linux 2.6.9 - 2.6.28
Network Distance: 1 hop

Host script results:

|_ nbstat: NetBIOS name: WDTVLIVE, NetBIOS user: , NetBIOS MAC:
|  smb-os-discovery: Unix
|  LAN Manager: Samba 3.0.28a
|  Name: WORKGROUP\Unknown
|_ System time: 2000-01-01 12:10:42 UTC+0

edit: added additional information from my other post. This is starting to get a bit long!
PS. That is a *lot* of views on this post!
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: mrg on October 11, 2009, 04:14:42 AM
Congratulations on your purchase.  ;D So no NFS support?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Drd on October 11, 2009, 04:36:48 AM
Hey gratz for your new piece of kit, too bad they almost abandoned the original WD TV. Where on our own now with modded firmware and such  :P
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Feedhorn on October 11, 2009, 10:05:45 AM
Question:

Can your access and update the drives connected to the WDTV via the LAN connection?

My goal is to have wireless access to the WDTV drives so I can watch movies stored there on my portable laptop display.

Also: Does the WDTV Live support USB hubs with multiple drives?

FH

Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: timeey on October 11, 2009, 11:19:23 AM
What about 23.976/24Hz mode? In the youtube interface-video of the wdtv live (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQdSLOhrVMc) there is no setting for resolution/frequency. So what happened if you start a file with 24fps (you have a tv with 24p support?)? Is the playback at 24hz judderfree?

What zoom-options do you have at movie-playback? Again 2x,4x,... like the old wdtv or 1.1x,1.2x and something like that?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 11, 2009, 12:04:49 PM
* No NFS, it automatically shares any drive connected via SMB
* Both USB ports are USB2, have not tested hubs with them.
* No idea about 24hz, my TV detects it as 60hz (PAL).

* 2x,4x,8x,16x fast forward options @ playback.

too bad they almost abandoned the original WD TV.

There's nothing on the website about the new WDTV either :P
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: timeey on October 11, 2009, 01:01:45 PM
PAL is 50Hz. ;)

And i meant the zoom, not fast forward/rewind. You can find zoom in the options-menu by pressing the option-button.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: mrg on October 11, 2009, 02:24:24 PM
Is the network connection only for uploading data to a HD attached to the WDTV, or can you stream from a network shared (samba) drive?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: timeey on October 11, 2009, 04:20:18 PM
Sure it is also for streaming. Copy files is just a nice addon, but the main point of the network is streaming.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 11, 2009, 07:14:48 PM
* You can stream from a Samba share
* You can start playing the file from the hard drive while it is still copying
* uPNP streaming *to* the device works, but is flaky.
* Youtube client, defaults to playing the HD version of the video if it's available.
* I'm pretty sure the zoom options are 2,4,8,16

Just to clarify, my TV supports 50, 60 and 100hz, I will double check what the WDTVL is displaying when I get home.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Demo on October 11, 2009, 11:20:55 PM
In the manual I can see that the live has an online registration function. Is this online registration mandatory or can it be skipped?

I wonder if WDTV contacts any Western Digital servers (or any other servers) without the knowledge and permission of the user. To upload usage statistics for example. I would really hate to have a device that phones home and violates my privacy.
voltagex, can you see any suspicious online activities of the WDTV live?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: JustMarioBros on October 12, 2009, 01:11:13 AM
This is basically the questions that will determine whether I buy a WD or a Popcorn Hour...

1) Does the WDTVL play 1080p with DTS audio through HDMI? Or does it still require the Optical audio cable to be plugged in?

2) Does it support Thumbnail pictures for labeling the movies?

3) Does it play ISO files? And BluRay rips?

Other question I would just like to know;

Will it be customizable like Popcorn Hour products? I know they have some skins that replace the ugly UI.

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: 3dxr on October 12, 2009, 01:45:49 AM
In the manual I can see that the live has an online registration function. Is this online registration mandatory or can it be skipped?

I wonder if WDTV contacts any Western Digital servers (or any other servers) without the knowledge and permission of the user. To upload usage statistics for example. I would really hate to have a device that phones home and violates my privacy.
voltagex, can you see any suspicious online activities of the WDTV live?

only best way is have legal content or network player on separate VLAN all products are refering to home
like a GOOGLE /adsense or gmaps or other COOL/F..ck Google products but they have really easy to use products
for example Xstreamer is providing has own subdomain under xstreamer. domain where user can share some stuff or manage player
cool reverse channel into LAN :D

hidden stat posting is more dangerous for residental privacy  like mandatory registration on Live365 or Pandora or youtube also Google F,,,g project if you want rate or save own playlist.

Thats my oppinion on privacy in MNT segment - this is not only for WDTV this is in general
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: timeey on October 12, 2009, 02:08:50 AM
This is basically the questions that will determine whether I buy a WD or a Popcorn Hour...

1) Does the WDTVL play 1080p with DTS audio through HDMI? Or does it still require the Optical audio cable to be plugged in?

2) Does it support Thumbnail pictures for labeling the movies?

3) Does it play ISO files? And BluRay rips?

Other question I would just like to know;

Will it be customizable like Popcorn Hour products? I know they have some skins that replace the ugly UI.

Thanks in advance.

Easy to answer without a wdtv live

1) DTS-passthrough worked over HDMI with the old wdtv, too. So that's not a new feature. DTS Downmix is also supported for people without a receiver.

2) Like WDTV1. New is the VideoPreview-Listmode. Here you can see a walkthrough of the wdtv live interface: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQdSLOhrVMc

3) Like WDTV1. Yes, but without menu (at the moment).

4) Dont think so. Maybe just with a modified firmware like for the wdtv1.

@voltagex
It seems, that wd has integrated more zoom-options and 1.1x and 1.2x are included. Got this info from http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=17338581&postcount=441.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: savant on October 12, 2009, 10:41:51 AM
Is the firmware included on the CD that came with the box? Really interested in taking a look at the file.

savant
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Syntax Error on October 12, 2009, 11:04:15 AM
I just got myself a WD TV Live from Best Buy today, the first thing I noticed was that the interface seemed snappier than the old one, which is always a plus. Didn't really have much more time to tinker with it so I'll be messing with it more this evening.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 12, 2009, 11:38:13 AM
Seems like the WDTV phones home.
Code: [Select]
1611    475.268541    10.1.1.4    129.253.170.35    TCP    37367 > http [SYN] Seq=0 Win=5840 Len=0 MSS=1460 TSV=381304 TSER=0 WS=5

1620    480.686936    10.1.1.4    72.32.8.40    TCP    34806 > http [SYN] Seq=0 Win=5840 Len=0 MSS=1460 TSV=381846 TSER=0 WS=5

Is sent when the system starts up (as well as the typical DHCP requests, Samba & UPNP announces etc)
These IP addresses are also hit when you check for updates from the System menu on the WDTV Live.
129.253.170.35 does not appear to be set up yet, or is not supposed to be accessed from a browser (Directory Listing Denied). I'm guessing this will be the firmware update server.
However, 72.32.8.40 is the Western Digital homepage. No data is sent or received, the box only does a SYN.

Savant, no firmware is included, screwdrivers will be required.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: reaverxai on October 12, 2009, 12:03:01 PM
Are you a redditor?

EDIT: Reading through the manual, couple of interesting things I found:

-iPod support, renames the files temporarily so you can watch them with proper names.
-Media Info Support
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: hnadov2k9 on October 12, 2009, 12:06:03 PM
I'd like to know if you can press next button on the remote control to advance to next chapter while playing mkv file that has chapters ?
TIA
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 12, 2009, 12:28:38 PM
Are you a redditor?

I've been found out! *hides*

I'd like to know if you can press next button on the remote control to advance to next chapter while playing mkv file that has chapters ?
TIA

I don't think I have any files with chapters, will check when I get home from work.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: reaverxai on October 12, 2009, 12:52:29 PM
Are you a redditor?

I've been found out! *hides*

Something about your title kind of gave it away :P
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: videomilk on October 12, 2009, 04:14:13 PM
Can you tell me if the thumbnails now load quicker or ideally instantly.  Also does it have a scraper which will download cover art etc.  Also if you copy across a file through the network does it then display it in thumbnail mode with the image or do you need to refresh the system.

Thanks
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Live on October 12, 2009, 04:33:15 PM
The manual says an attached drive can act as a network drive. Do you know if you can set ALL attached drives as network shares?

How fast is copying from the WDTV Live to a laptop (all over ethernet via a router)? I hope its as fast as it should be  :-\

Think I might get one this week. But I am really hoping it can be modded so streaming from other websites can be done.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: mrbill on October 12, 2009, 04:37:44 PM
I'd like to know if you can press next button on the remote control to advance to next chapter while playing mkv file that has chapters ?
TIA

Mine went to the next movie.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: mrbill on October 12, 2009, 04:40:08 PM
The manual says an attached drive can act as a network drive. Do you know if you can set ALL attached drives as network shares?

How fast is copying from the WDTV Live to a laptop (all over ethernet via a router)? I hope its as fast as it should be  :-\

Think I might get one this week. But I am really hoping it can be modded so streaming from other websites can be done.

Some people are saying they are watching Hulu.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 12, 2009, 10:28:49 PM
Can you tell me if the thumbnails now load quicker or ideally instantly. 

The files that have thumbnails display quickly

Also does it have a scraper which will download cover art etc.

WD didn't pay for one, so no.

Also if you copy across a file through the network does it then display it in thumbnail mode with the image or do you need to refresh the system.

You need to refresh if you are already viewing the same directory as the file you just copied.
Thanks
[/quote]
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: partake on October 13, 2009, 06:20:58 AM
Since WD Live only supports Samba and not NFS shares, it seems streaming HD over the network is not possible.

I don't see a compelling reason to replace my WDTV1 with this thing.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: 3dxr on October 13, 2009, 10:28:06 AM
Are you sure :) ?
WDTV is one year model with not native SMB support WDTV live is new model and providing more features by default
thats mean more effective  you should upgrade people who want have native lan without hacking and workarounding
WDTV1 disadvantages have option upgrade  HD is working over network there is alsoi DLNA ;) and more improved then added SMB:)
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: Syntax Error on October 13, 2009, 11:31:24 AM
Since WD Live only supports Samba and not NFS shares, it seems streaming HD over the network is not possible.

I don't see a compelling reason to replace my WDTV1 with this thing.
I can stream HD 720p and 1080p BluRay rips just fine over SMB shares on my WD TV Live. Sure, it might not be enough for uncompressed BluRay or BluRay rips with extraordinary bitrate, but as far as streaming is concerned, I think it's perfectly adequate. I didn't notice 1 stutter in watching the entirety of a 1080p copy of the Dark Knight, and that's what usually crapped up my first WD TV over NFS sharing, as a matter of fact.  ???

What's the word on the Pandora application? That's the part I'm the most interested in. Is it any good? How's the interface?

I tinkered around with it a little and it seems fairly straightforward. Just log in with your account and it'll pull your already pre-existing music preferences. :)
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 13, 2009, 12:23:18 PM
I can stream HD 720p and 1080p BluRay rips just fine over SMB shares on my WD TV Live.

Same here. Lots of complaining already in this thread.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: robin of the greenwood on October 13, 2009, 01:35:53 PM
Thanks for making yourself available to answer questions.  The biggest question for me (after the DTS downmix question which appears to be answered) is if the WDTV Live decodes color properly.  The current WDTV does not decode color properly on ripped HD files unless properly flagged (which is uncommon).  See the great post started by Hokeysmoke here:

http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=683.0

Hopefully, the new WDTV Live will have this major error addressed.

Thanks again  :)
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: ownZero on October 13, 2009, 07:52:45 PM
Curious if any mac users have the new WDTV. I currently do the sneakernet once a week or so to add content to usb drive. Would simply love to mount the attached drive on my mac over the network and just drop files where I want.

Has anyone done this? How does the attached USB drives show up on the LAN?

Thanks.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 13, 2009, 09:30:08 PM
Thanks for making yourself available to answer questions.  The biggest question for me (after the DTS downmix question which appears to be answered) is if the WDTV Live decodes color properly.  The current WDTV does not decode color properly on ripped HD files unless properly flagged (which is uncommon).  See the great post started by Hokeysmoke here:

http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=683.0

Hopefully, the new WDTV Live will have this major error addressed.

Thanks again  :)

Just confirming again that DTS downmix to stereo works.

If you or someone else can provide a colour test file, I will test on my PC and on the WDTV (connected via HDMI

Curious if any mac users have the new WDTV. I currently do the sneakernet once a week or so to add content to usb drive. Would simply love to mount the attached drive on my mac over the network and just drop files where I want.
Has anyone done this? How does the attached USB drives show up on the LAN?

Thanks.

OS X has nearly always been able to mount samba shares. OS X itself should automatically detect the WDTV. The only delay will be if you change USB drive - it takes a few minutes for the Samba shares to be recreated.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 13, 2009, 09:35:28 PM
The manual says an attached drive can act as a network drive. Do you know if you can set ALL attached drives as network shares?

How fast is copying from the WDTV Live to a laptop (all over ethernet via a router)? I hope its as fast as it should be  :-\

Think I might get one this week. But I am really hoping it can be modded so streaming from other websites can be done.

I only have one drive, but it creates Samba shares automatically when plugging in drives (I use a hotswap caddy) so should be no problem.
Modding will happen when I can dump the firmware. I hope I can plug a TTL (serial) cable in to this. I will wait til a second person dumps the firmware so I can check that my dump is ok.

Copies happen at 8-9mb/s, so yes, that's about as quick as you can expect.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 13, 2009, 09:37:07 PM
To anyone else with a Live, now is the time to start modding. Disassembly is the same as the WDTV. I need firmware and checksums!
Edit: http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=1003&lang=en Nothing up on the downloads page yet.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: robin of the greenwood on October 14, 2009, 03:02:11 AM


If you or someone else can provide a colour test file, I will test on my PC and on the WDTV (connected via HDMI



An excellent test file can be found here:

http://www.cypheros.de/dvb_e.html

Just copy this link:

http://www.cypheros.de/files/Testbild_colour_description_alternating_120sec.ts

This two-minute test file shows a static image and alternates between flagged HD and unflagged HD.  If the device being tested defaults into the HD colour space when given an unflagged HD file the image should appear completely unchanged throughout the test.  If however the device receives an unflagged HD file and defaults into the SD colour space you will notice an obvious colour change back and forth every two seconds throughout the test.  The original WDTV incorrectly defaults into the SD colour space when given an unflagged HD file, and as expected, cycles between these two different colour spaces. 

Thanks,

Looking forward to your test.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: spanik on October 14, 2009, 06:08:58 AM
Code: [Select]
To anyone else with a Live, now is the time to start modding. Disassembly is the same as the WDTV. I need firmware and checksums!
Happy to help, but is there a way to do it without disassembly/soldering..... ? (ie booting up in a hidden/special menu and dumping it into a file
Just asking this, as I am new in the WD TV world (Have a Live but didn't have the non Live version before hand), and not aware of how if was done in the first place.

Cheers
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: chauncey on October 14, 2009, 08:56:56 AM

Easy to answer without a wdtv live

3) Like WDTV1. Yes, but without menu (at the moment).



@voltagex
It seems, that wd has integrated more zoom-options and 1.1x and 1.2x are included. Got this info from http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=17338581&postcount=441.

Voltagex - can you confirm the response to #3?  Is there full iso support but no menus?

Thanks.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: ElCapitano on October 14, 2009, 10:36:23 AM
Q: Movies on NAS streams via DLNA on the new device, but can you confirm the containers supported?

Thanx mate
Using Lacie 5Big and PS3. But the WDTV Live is a possible change
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 14, 2009, 05:41:58 PM
Q: Movies on NAS streams via DLNA on the new device, but can you confirm the containers supported?

Thanx mate
Using Lacie 5Big and PS3. But the WDTV Live is a possible change

Streaming to or from the Live via DLNA?

All containers that it supports are playable, but as I said before DLNA support on the Live itself is VERY buggy.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: ElCapitano on October 15, 2009, 12:20:32 AM
To the Live from NAS via DLNA...
Buggy DLNA: Thats sad.. :'(  How so?
Would you have any recommendations how to stream from NAS otherwise?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 15, 2009, 01:16:31 AM
Videos don't play via DLNA, only the audio plays. MP3s play but are not shown on the Now Playing screen.
NAS via Samba to the Live works well.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: marrvin on October 15, 2009, 02:33:58 AM
curious if any mac users have the new WDTV. ... Would simply love to mount the attached drive on my mac over the network and just drop files where I want.
Has anyone done this? How does the attached USB drives show up on the LAN?

Yes it works. I have an NTFS formatted 500gig WD Elite attached to the WDTV Life and its volume name shows up as
as a folder name on the server "WDTVLIVE" in the finder.

Copy files to this share works quite well.
Unfortunately the WDTV does'n accept iTunes as Media Server  but it connects to Twonky running on my QNap NAS.


Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: brajr on October 15, 2009, 05:19:34 AM
Just wondering I don't know if the hardware is the same as original WDTV is ,but can you use the updates from WDTV live on WDTV 1 ? or is their going to be a compatible issue.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: CrashX on October 15, 2009, 11:50:14 AM
How is the power consumption on this ?

Were you able to play Youtube HD videos ?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: redindian on October 15, 2009, 12:02:09 PM
Just tried playing an iso over the network. Took forever and then finally it started, but stopped right away. The WDTV had no problems with the same iso over the same network...

Going to try those test files now and see if the colors are ok on my device.
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: redindian on October 15, 2009, 12:33:06 PM
Hmm, seems to be a gerenic network problem at the moment. The 720p that played perfectly now won't play either. :-(
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: voltagex on October 15, 2009, 01:30:19 PM
I am now away from home for a while. When I get back I'll answer more questions but there seems to be enough people around who have these devices now
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: tech324 on October 15, 2009, 01:33:43 PM
Does anyone have a comparison on the hardware differences between the original WDTV and the new WDTV Live?
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: jayallan on October 15, 2009, 05:10:55 PM
Guys,

I am closing this thread.  IT is too vague and good answers may get lost in the mix here.  Start individual threads for each type of question.

Jay
Title: Re: I have a WDTV Live, ask me anything.
Post by: b-rad.cc on October 15, 2009, 05:56:59 PM
In the manual I can see that the live has an online registration function. Is this online registration mandatory or can it be skipped?

I wonder if WDTV contacts any Western Digital servers (or any other servers) without the knowledge and permission of the user. To upload usage statistics for example. I would really hate to have a device that phones home and violates my privacy.
voltagex, can you see any suspicious online activities of the WDTV live?

dunno if anyones pointed this out yet, but the WDTV Live definitely phones home to--at the least--check for firmware updates.